Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Lease Second 622?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mraub

mraub

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2004

Posted 13 April 2007 - 08:18 AM

From reading prior threads here, I thought the rule was that after one year of leasing your first 622 you could lease a second one. My one year anniversary is coming up soon and I called Dish to see about leasing a second one. I was told that only one 622 could be leased and I'd have to buy the second one outright.

Has the rule changed or did I just get bad information?

Thanks,

MIKE

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   msalvail

msalvail

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2003

Posted 13 April 2007 - 08:27 AM

My one year anniversary is coming up soon and I called Dish to see about leasing a second one. I was told that only one 622 could be leased and I'd have to buy the second one outright.

Has the rule changed or did I just get bad information?

Thanks,

MIKE


It used to be that you had to buy a 2nd one but when I called about 3 or 4 weeks ago, they let me lease a 2nd one. Of course, I have been an *E customer a long time and use that credit card auto pay so maybe that made the difference.

Try calling back and ask the CSR to transfer you to a Specialist and see what they offer you. If you aren't on the credit card auto pay option, tell them you'll change to that if they lease you another 622.

Good Luck!
Mary
*E since '98: Dish 1000.2,VIP622, VIP722K
*D since 4/07 for MLB EI, HR-21

#3 OFFLINE   mraub

mraub

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2004

Posted 13 April 2007 - 12:29 PM

Thanks for the information, Mary. It looks like its time for a little CSR roulette--I wonder if this phrase has made it to Wikipedia yet?

#4 OFFLINE   Rob Glasser

Rob Glasser

    Hall Of Fame

  • Super Moderators
  • 3,053 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2005

Posted 13 April 2007 - 12:43 PM

If that doesn't work out for you, you can also try e-mailing ceo@echostar.com and see if they can make an exception. Dish tends to have different polices depending on how long you've been a customer and the type of equipment/programming you have. I'm not sure how this all maps out but when the new offers were announced I was told more than once, customers should call in to see what's available to them, indicating there were multiple offers depending on the customer.
Rob

DISH Hopper, Hopper w/Sling, & Joey User

#5 OFFLINE   rice0209

rice0209

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 142 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2005

Posted 13 April 2007 - 03:20 PM

I asked this question when i was turned down for a 2nd leased 622. The rule is Four (4) leased tuners total on one account. So you can have two 622's, leased, as long as any other units are purchased.

I had an active 622, and two (2) active 510's, and one (1) inactive 510, sitting in a box in my closet. I replaced one of the active 510's, sent the other active 510 back, and got another 622 and hooked up my inactive 510.

So now i have two 622's (4 tuners) and one purchased 510 (1 non leased tuner) and I am fine. The CSR suggested this route and it works for me.

Hope this all helps.

#6 OFFLINE   Ohioankev

Ohioankev

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 214 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2006

Posted 15 April 2007 - 09:56 PM

I asked this question when i was turned down for a 2nd leased 622. The rule is Four (4) leased tuners total on one account. So you can have two 622's, leased, as long as any other units are purchased.

I had an active 622, and two (2) active 510's, and one (1) inactive 510, sitting in a box in my closet. I replaced one of the active 510's, sent the other active 510 back, and got another 622 and hooked up my inactive 510.

So now i have two 622's (4 tuners) and one purchased 510 (1 non leased tuner) and I am fine. The CSR suggested this route and it works for me.

Hope this all helps.


I currently have a leased 625, should I have any problesm getting a leased 622 after my 18 month commitment is up? I'm interested in HD just for the fact that NBC Affiliate offers three HD channels over the air (NBC, FOX & MyNetworkTV) and upgrading can/could save me from paying $25/month to the cable company for just NBC and pay DISH $25 more for HD programming and a second DVR.

-- It makes more sense right? Especially that I plan on being a DISH customer til they go out of business through AT&T.

#7 OFFLINE   BNUMM

BNUMM

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,079 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2006

Posted 15 April 2007 - 10:02 PM

I currently have a leased 625, should I have any problesm getting a leased 622 after my 18 month commitment is up? I'm interested in HD just for the fact that NBC Affiliate offers three HD channels over the air (NBC, FOX & MyNetworkTV) and upgrading can/could save me from paying $25/month to the cable company for just NBC and pay DISH $25 more for HD programming and a second DVR.

-- It makes more sense right? Especially that I plan on being a DISH customer til they go out of business through AT&T.

Your NBC affiliate may offer 3 digital channels but you will probably find that only one is HD. The other two will be Standard Definition.

#8 OFFLINE   Ohioankev

Ohioankev

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 214 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2006

Posted 15 April 2007 - 10:19 PM

Your NBC affiliate may offer 3 digital channels but you will probably find that only one is HD. The other two will be Standard Definition.


Oh, sorry i'm a noob to high definition.

#9 OFFLINE   BNUMM

BNUMM

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,079 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2006

Posted 15 April 2007 - 10:28 PM

Oh, sorry i'm a noob to high definition.


That is why noob's come here, to learn. We were all new to this at some time.

#10 OFFLINE   rice0209

rice0209

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 142 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2005

Posted 16 April 2007 - 07:47 PM

Ohio,

If you only have one leased 625, than you are only leasing two tuners currently. That means you can have two more tuners leased for a total of four tuners. Each 622 counts as two tuners, as do all dual tuner dvr's.

The second part would be your eligibility to the Dish'n it up program. Call dish network and ask then about adding a 622 to your account through the upgrade program. they can check your eligibility and tell you if you meet their requirements.

As long as you only have the one 625 leased, and no other leased receivers, you should be fine as far as the tuner requirement goes.

At least this is the way i understood things after talking to a CSR.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...