Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Thecus N2050GX will it work?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   coondogg97

coondogg97

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2007

Posted 16 April 2007 - 01:50 PM

I ordered a Thecus N2050U last week from Zip Zoom Fly and it was out of stock. I was in a local computer store and saw another Thecus enclosure N2050GX. So I picked it up. The specs on each drive look the same. Anyone know anything about the N2050GX enclosure?

Thanks,

Brian

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   coondogg97

coondogg97

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2007

Posted 16 April 2007 - 04:44 PM

I ordered a Thecus N2050U last week from Zip Zoom Fly and it was out of stock. I was in a local computer store and saw another Thecus enclosure N2050GX. So I picked it up. The specs on each drive look the same. Anyone know anything about the N2050GX enclosure?

Thanks,

Brian


So I got home and gave it a try. Its working like a charm, I think. All of the shows I recorded and the series I set to record are gone. I have recorded 30 minutes of Discovery HD and still have 100% space available. But is there a way to see if I am getting a full 1.5TB out of the array? I checked the menus for a "total capacity" listing, but I didnt find one. I have been using Directv TiVos for years, so this box is all new to me :confused:

Brian

#3 OFFLINE   GollyGee

GollyGee

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2007

Posted 23 April 2007 - 08:27 AM

It sounds like it's working right.

The Thecus website only mentions the N2050. That box can do RAID mirroring or striping. If you chose mirroring, then you only get 750 GB. If you use striping, you get the full 1.5 TB.

I don't think there's a way to view total capacity. I think that's intentional, because recording time varies tremendously among MPEG-2, MPEG-4 and standard definition.

With 1.5 TB, you have roughly 180 hours of Hi-Def MPEG-2, and at least twice that much of Hi-Def MPEG-4. Thirty minutes of Discovery Channel is about a quarter of one percent of total storage; maybe less.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...