Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

4.01+ change I don't like. Returns to currently recording show.


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kevin d

kevin d

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2005

Posted 17 April 2007 - 08:12 PM

This was brought up at one point, but I figure it needed to be more thoroughly addressed.

Prior to 4.01, say you were watching channel 150 and then started a recorded DVR event. When you were done, it would return to channel 150 as long as a tuner was available.

With 4.01+, if any tuner is recording, it will return to the top most, currently recording event's channel.

IE, I record OTA every prime time night and catch up on sat programming during this time. When I finish the recorded program, I am switched (automatically) to the currently recording OTA channel rather than one of the free sat channels. With skipping commercials, it usually winds up putting me right at the crucial third-act reveal that could (has) ruin(ed) some shows.

And of course, your initial reaction is to change the channel (up/down), which only brings up the "would you like to cancel the recording" (since the only thing around an OTA channel is other OTA channels).

I have no idea why it was changed, and can't think of a reason anyone would want it this way.

Kevin D.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   karspur

karspur

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 17 April 2007 - 09:33 PM

I've noticed this too. I have just got in the habit of hitting the swap button right away when it's something I do not want to see. Kind of a pain but it works!

#3 OFFLINE   Rob Glasser

Rob Glasser

    Hall Of Fame

  • Super Moderators
  • 3,053 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2005

Posted 17 April 2007 - 09:36 PM

Another trick to do is not hit stop on the previous program when done, just hit DVR twice to bring up the list of shows and pick the next one and start it. This way you never go back to a live tuner. If you show is about to run out you can hit pause first.
Rob

DISH Hopper, Hopper w/Sling, & Joey User

#4 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,898 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 17 April 2007 - 10:02 PM

I reported this as a bug to Dish when the L4.01 first rolled out.

As you said, it only happens when a tuner is recording... when it is not recording, then the receiver behaves the way it used to.

Not sure if they intended this as a feature or if it was a bug, but I reported it to them as a bug since it was unexpected behavior.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...