Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Why is the Red Wings game not in HD?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
25 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   StangGT909

StangGT909

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 172 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2007

Posted 18 April 2007 - 10:23 AM

So in summary,

Local fans got FSN-Detroit in SD
Canada (CBC) got it in HD in Canada
US National got it on VS via CBC but only in SD

So even though it said "black out" , no one in the US should have been about to watch it in HD since VS didn't carry it and DTV dropped the ball on updating the guide.


But what I don't get is if Fox is taping and broadcasting the game to Detroit, why did VS get the contract from CBC instead of Fox?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#22 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 18 April 2007 - 10:32 AM

There is no waste of space. It's the exact same feed, just different channel numbers.


No, not in this case. 95 was showing the VS "HD" upconverted SD 1080i feed...not the same as the SD feed on 608.

#23 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 18 April 2007 - 10:37 AM

No, I don't think it is the same thing. If they were mapping 608 to 95 the the picture would look the same on both channels. But, they don't. Channel 608 is in SD and fills the whole screen like all other SD channels. Channel 95 had the pillar boxes on the sides. For example, when I am watching a SD show on a MPEG4 local HD channel. It still used the higher bandwith on the MPEG4 HD channel than it does on the SD MPEG2 channel.

I could be wrong but that is my understanding. I know the people with more knowledge on this will correct me if I am wrong.


You are correct.

#24 OFFLINE   mhayes70

mhayes70

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,224 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2006

Posted 18 April 2007 - 12:05 PM

You are correct.


That's what I thought. Thank you for confirming that.

#25 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 18 April 2007 - 01:28 PM

No, not in this case. 95 was showing the VS "HD" upconverted SD 1080i feed...not the same as the SD feed on 608.


Ok, got it. Still, DirecTV was carrying the "HD" feed which is encouraging. They (and Dish) wanted to show it in HD. Versus just screwed us out of HD.

By the way the Fox Sports Detroit feed was not in HD because they (like most other RSNs) don't do away games in HD.

#26 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,704 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 18 April 2007 - 02:02 PM

The same "SD/HD" feed was on Comcast. It was a Versus mix up.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo




Protected By... spam firewall...And...