Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

No MPEG4 or Severe Pixelation on All MPEG4 Channels, but SD/MPEG2 is OK


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
83 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,063 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 22 April 2007 - 07:31 AM

Anyone else having these problems?

I can get to any SD channel or any HD MPEG2 channels, but when I try to go to any MPEG4 channel, I ether get a gray screen and no audio, or sever pixelation.

I'm in the NY DMA, so I don't know if this a regional issue or not.

I had these problems on and off yesterday afternoon, so this is Day 2 for me.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 22 April 2007 - 07:54 AM

What are you signals like on 99/103.

Have you tried a restart.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,063 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 22 April 2007 - 08:03 AM

Earl, My HR20 restarted on its own about 15 minutes before I opened this thread.

The signals on 99(B) are:

Tuner 1: 1=100, 2=100, 3=98, 4=100, 5=100, 6=100
Tuner 2: 1=100, 2=100, 3=97, 4=100, 5=99, 6=100

The signals on 103(a) are:

Tuner 1: 1=98, 2=80, 3=0, 4=99, 5=96, 6=83 and 17=0
Tuner 2: 1=98, 2=80, 3=0, 4=99, 5=95, 6=84 and 17=0

I'm not sure what these should be (whether the 0 is appropriate for my location), but I just got off the phone with Tech Support and she told me that looking at signal strength wouldn't tell her anything. She says the problem is most likely my dish, because MPEG4 comes from different sats, so I have a service call scheduled for Tuesday evening, between 1 and 5 PM.

Anything else I can look at?

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 April 2007 - 08:30 AM

Earl, My HR20 restarted on its own about 15 minutes before I opened this thread.

The signals on 99(B) are:

Tuner 1: 1=100, 2=100, 3=98, 4=100, 5=100, 6=100
Tuner 2: 1=100, 2=100, 3=97, 4=100, 5=99, 6=100

The signals on 103(a) are:

Tuner 1: 1=98, 2=80, 3=0, 4=99, 5=96, 6=83 and 17=0
Tuner 2: 1=98, 2=80, 3=0, 4=99, 5=95, 6=84 and 17=0

I'm not sure what these should be (whether the 0 is appropriate for my location), but I just got off the phone with Tech Support and she tole me that looking at signal strength wouldn't tell her anything. She says the problem is most likely my dish, because MPEG4 comes from different sats, so I have a service call scheduled for Tuesday evening, between 1 and 5 PM.

Anything else I can look at?

I'm not Earl [Duh] but those numbers are great. Your dish is "nailed" to the SATs.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,226 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 22 April 2007 - 08:39 AM

Earl, My HR20 restarted on its own about 15 minutes before I opened this thread.

The signals on 99(B) are:

Tuner 1: 1=100, 2=100, 3=98, 4=100, 5=100, 6=100
Tuner 2: 1=100, 2=100, 3=97, 4=100, 5=99, 6=100

The signals on 103(a) are:

Tuner 1: 1=98, 2=80, 3=0, 4=99, 5=96, 6=83 and 17=0
Tuner 2: 1=98, 2=80, 3=0, 4=99, 5=95, 6=84 and 17=0

I'm not sure what these should be (whether the 0 is appropriate for my location), but I just got off the phone with Tech Support and she tole me that looking at signal strength wouldn't tell her anything. She says the problem is most likely my dish, because MPEG4 comes from different sats, so I have a service call scheduled for Tuesday evening, between 1 and 5 PM.

Anything else I can look at?


Your MPEG-4 HD locals come from a couple of transponders on the 99 satellite. 103 has spotbeams for other cities, the signals you see are not for you so their strength is not relevant.
Your 99 signals are excellent so whatever is your problem it is not dish alignment or the LNBs.

#6 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,063 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 22 April 2007 - 08:43 AM

I remember being amazed at my signal strength after the new slimline dish was installed in March, because on the old 3-LNB dish, I had only a couple transponders in the 90's. This installer knew what he was doing; his aim is right on. :up:

This is why I'm so surprised I'm suddenly having a problem... We've even had rainstorms recently where I didn't lose signal.

The CSR asked if I had the BBCs installed, and I do, so what could be a likely problem here? What would a tech do when he shows up Tuesday?

#7 OFFLINE   Duffycoug

Duffycoug

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 220 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2007

Posted 22 April 2007 - 09:05 AM

I am in NJ (Monmouth County) and receive the NY locals....my MPEG-4 channels are fine with no problems at all........I thought my signal strenth was good at 95!!! Wow, you're really locked in!! Good luck finding the problem and let us know what it was.
AT9 -->WB68 --> HR 20-100S --> HDMI --> Sony 42" Plasma KDE-42XS955.
(4) SD Directv Tivo.

#8 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 22 April 2007 - 11:30 AM

The CSR asked if I had the BBCs installed, and I do, so what could be a likely problem here? What would a tech do when he shows up Tuesday?


Try taking the BBCs off and see if that helps. You may have some bad ones.

I have read some other threads about NBC in NY having some issues so perhaps it's not just you. But try removing the BBCs. If that solves the problem then get them replaced. They aren't needed now but will be when the new sats go up.

#9 OFFLINE   ronm

ronm

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2007

Posted 22 April 2007 - 12:45 PM

Anyone else having these problems?

I can get to any SD channel or any HD MPEG2 channels, but when I try to go to any MPEG4 channel, I ether get a gray screen and no audio, or sever pixelation.

I'm in the NY DMA, so I don't know if this a regional issue or not.

I had these problems on and off yesterday afternoon, so this is Day 2 for me.


Had the same problem with a HR20-700. Problem was with on of the two tuners. Problem only occurred on HD locals in MPEG4.

I received a new 100s this week

Ron M

#10 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,063 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 22 April 2007 - 06:26 PM

Well, I took the BBCs off early this afternoon and still had pixelation on the MPEG4 channels. I left for several hours, and as of now, with no BBCs on the lines, the MPEG4 channels are coming in fine.

Hopefully the installer will just have some spares on the truck, because it seems like a simple thing to replace them as a precaution.

#11 OFFLINE   timf

timf

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 254 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2002

Posted 23 April 2007 - 07:15 AM

I've been having the same problem with my HR20-700 since a few hours after the installer left 2 weeks ago. All my signal strengths look good (high 90s-100 on the old sats, low 90s on the transponders I get on 99/103). I haven't had the opportunity to have a service tech come out to look at it yet since I've been on vacation the past week. It looks like this may be a more widespread problem. Gonna try your fix when I get home today, but I'm interested to see what they do on your service call before I schedule one.

#12 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,063 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 23 April 2007 - 09:01 PM

I haven't seen any problems since I took off the BBCs, so I'll fill you in tomorrow after the technician checks everything else. The BBCs I had are less than two months old, but I guess anything can "break" without warning...

#13 OFFLINE   roconnell

roconnell

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2007

Posted 24 April 2007 - 10:13 AM

Okay. Some one please explain. I know the differance between HD and SD channels but whats this about MPEG4 and MPEG2. Don't understand it.

#14 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 April 2007 - 10:26 AM

Okay. Some one please explain. I know the difference between HD and SD channels but whats this about MPEG4 and MPEG2. Don't understand it.

MPEG is the encoding algorithm used to "digitize" the picture. MPEG-2 is an older version & MPEG-4 is the newer [which make the file size smaller than the older version].
A.K.A VOS

#15 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,063 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 24 April 2007 - 03:40 PM

The technician left a little while ago. It turned out to be the same guy who installed y Slimline dish and the HR20 in March, and he got a kick out of hearing that the DBSTalk posters liked his aim! :)

He said a lot of people had problems with HD channels 4 and 5 over the weekend, so he blamed DirecTV for playing with the signals, but I told him I also had problems on YES-HD, so he went ahead and fixed the BBCs anyway.

I had put my BBCs back on the HR20 this morning and everything has been good all day, so maybe it was a "fluke" that I had problems over the weekend.

The tech ended up changing the jumpers in each BBC and putting a new lead between each BBC and each SAT-IN connector on the back of the HR20. I didn't even know there were jumpers in the BBC, but he just flipped the top off and was done in 10 minutes total, including all of our chatting. Everything is running fine with the "fixed" BBCs on.

One thing I noticed is that one of the old leads from the BBC to the SAT input had exposed copper wire, right after the rubber closest to the BBC side. Who knows if this was causing the problem, but I'm just happy it's bacck to normal.

By the way, he's the same tech that in March told me DirecTV would be flipping all of the new HD channels on this September, and he's sticking to that. :)

#16 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,063 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 24 April 2007 - 04:25 PM

Guess what ... I have again lost all MPEG4 HD channels. It started at 6:16 PM Eastern with pixelation, and now is just gray screen on any MPEG4 HD channel.

:(

I'll be taking the BBCs off again to see if that makes any difference ...

#17 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,063 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 24 April 2007 - 04:31 PM

No joy without the BBCs either ... I don't want to call again!

#18 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 24 April 2007 - 04:35 PM

No joy without the BBCs either ... I don't want to call again!


Have you tried to by pass the multi-switch? Maybe the multi-switch went bad or is going bad.

#19 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 April 2007 - 04:41 PM

No joy without the BBCs either ... I don't want to call again!

What's 99 & 103 look like now?
A.K.A VOS

#20 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,063 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 24 April 2007 - 04:43 PM

OK, some progress ... I had been jumping around on all the MPEG4 HD channels, but obviously only one tuner was affected as I changed channels. I decided to record from two SD channels to force the tuners off an MPEG4 transponder, and then canceled the recordings. I went back to the HD MPEG4 channels, and they're both fine now. So... is this significant or just coincidence?

The next time I see the problems on the MPEG4 channels, I'll bypass the multiswitch and see if that helps. Thanks for the suggestion ...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...