Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Chat not available for Mac users?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jstaffin

jstaffin

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 23 April 2007 - 06:28 PM

I have been attempting to use the chat functionality of the DBSTalk.com site for a while now and it simply doesn't work on my Mac I have attached some screenshots showing what I get.

I have the latest version of Firefox installed, Mac OS X 10.4.9 with all the updates (java included)

Can you help me figure out what's wrong?

Attached Files


HR20-700 DVR
Hitachi 43UWX10B 43" rear project Component connections
Pioneer Home Theater; Optical audio and component switching
5 LNB Dish (Installed June 2006) - Zinwell 6X8

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jacksonm30354

jacksonm30354

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 615 posts
  • LocationAtlanta
Joined: Mar 29, 2007

Posted 23 April 2007 - 06:53 PM

I have been attempting to use the chat functionality of the DBSTalk.com site for a while now and it simply doesn't work on my Mac I have attached some screenshots showing what I get.

I have the latest version of Firefox installed, Mac OS X 10.4.9 with all the updates (java included)

Can you help me figure out what's wrong?



I have 10.4.9 too and used chat the other night without problems. I used Safari though.

#3 OFFLINE   Phil T

Phil T

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,184 posts
Joined: Mar 24, 2002

Posted 23 April 2007 - 06:55 PM

I have been using Safari for the chat with no issues.

#4 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,617 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 23 April 2007 - 09:12 PM

I use Firefox and have no issues other that it being slow on CE nights. Make sure you have Java enabled

#5 OFFLINE   jstaffin

jstaffin

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 24 April 2007 - 07:19 AM

I use Firefox and have no issues other that it being slow on CE nights. Make sure you have Java enabled


Java in included as part of the operating system, I am not aware of a way to disable it, also all other java applications work properly. If you notice I am attempting to use both Safari and Firefox and both give me the same problem look at the screenshots.
HR20-700 DVR
Hitachi 43UWX10B 43" rear project Component connections
Pioneer Home Theater; Optical audio and component switching
5 LNB Dish (Installed June 2006) - Zinwell 6X8

#6 OFFLINE   jstaffin

jstaffin

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 24 April 2007 - 07:20 AM

I have been using Safari for the chat with no issues.


The screenshots show that I have the same problems with safari as I do wtih Firefox
HR20-700 DVR
Hitachi 43UWX10B 43" rear project Component connections
Pioneer Home Theater; Optical audio and component switching
5 LNB Dish (Installed June 2006) - Zinwell 6X8

#7 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,617 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 24 April 2007 - 07:51 AM

Java in included as part of the operating system, I am not aware of a way to disable it, also all other java applications work properly. If you notice I am attempting to use both Safari and Firefox and both give me the same problem look at the screenshots.


under preferences/content

Attached Files

  • Attached File  java.jpg   151.64KB   75 downloads


#8 OFFLINE   jstaffin

jstaffin

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 25 April 2007 - 12:59 PM

under preferences/content


Yes Java is enabled, any other ideas?
HR20-700 DVR
Hitachi 43UWX10B 43" rear project Component connections
Pioneer Home Theater; Optical audio and component switching
5 LNB Dish (Installed June 2006) - Zinwell 6X8

#9 OFFLINE   jstaffin

jstaffin

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 17 June 2007 - 05:46 PM

It ended up being a problem with my computer, I had to delete a hidden file from my home directory that must've been storing some prefs for java.
HR20-700 DVR
Hitachi 43UWX10B 43" rear project Component connections
Pioneer Home Theater; Optical audio and component switching
5 LNB Dish (Installed June 2006) - Zinwell 6X8

#10 OFFLINE   AllieVi

AllieVi

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,530 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2002

Posted 17 June 2007 - 06:50 PM

It ended up being a problem with my computer, I had to delete a hidden file from my home directory that must've been storing some prefs for java.

I thought only Windows users had these sorts of problems...
AllieVi

For good reason, I never criticize someone until I've walked a mile in their shoes. If they don't like what I say, what're they gonna' do? I'm a mile away. And they have no shoes!

#11 OFFLINE   jstaffin

jstaffin

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 18 June 2007 - 08:06 AM

I thought only Windows users had these sorts of problems...


No kidding, I guess that's what you get for dealing with java, yippee it's cross-platform, oh wait, it sucks on all platforms!
HR20-700 DVR
Hitachi 43UWX10B 43" rear project Component connections
Pioneer Home Theater; Optical audio and component switching
5 LNB Dish (Installed June 2006) - Zinwell 6X8

#12 OFFLINE   leesweet

leesweet

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 463 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2003

Posted 17 May 2009 - 02:53 PM

In case someone comes across this thread via a search (as I did)...

I had the chat room not completely loading with OS X 10.5.6 but works fine with the new 10.5.7.

Beyond that, I have no idea. Don't know if it was actually a fix or 'phase of the moon' who knows sort of thing. As was stated, Java is part of the OS and was enabled.
-Lee
Want to see my setup?

#13 OFFLINE   leesweet

leesweet

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 463 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2003

Posted 12 June 2009 - 07:31 PM

Well, to correct myself, it's not working. I get the chat screen, the list of people in the room, but I never see any posts. This is with Firefox. I'll try Safari and see if that's better, but I can't see why Java seems to work but I get no traffic in the room.
(It's 9:20 on Friday night.. there are 25 people in the room, they must be saying something... :) )

And Safari works... hm.

I poked around in the Java advanced options in Firefox, and turned on the 'Let Javascript raise/lower windows' and now it works. No clue if that's really the answer or not. Let's see if works all night, because when I posted the previous post, it worked then, somehow, also. :)

Edited by leesweet, 12 June 2009 - 07:43 PM.

-Lee
Want to see my setup?

#14 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,600 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 12 June 2009 - 08:25 PM

I've tested the chat under Firefox on my Mac... I'm trying to remember, I did have a problem at first but can't remember what I did. I can't remember if it was a NoScript thing I needed to allow, or a Popup blocker I had to disable for this site... or a combination of both.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...