Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

720p or 1080i Signal?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   powerplay13

powerplay13

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2007

Posted 07 May 2007 - 05:49 AM

Hi,
I just installed my Pioneer Elite to my 622.
I'm not sure how to set the signal for HD TV and for SD.
When should it be set to 720p or 1080i?
Should it be set to 480i or 480p for SD?
What signal do the stations send programming?
Confused.........
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,262 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 07 May 2007 - 05:55 AM

Hi,
I just installed my Pioneer Elite to my 622.
I'm not sure how to set the signal for HD TV and for SD.
When should it be set to 720p or 1080i?
Should it be set to 480i or 480p for SD?
What signal do the stations send programming?
Confused.........
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks


Two Ways:

1) Set it to you tv's resolution and leave it all the time

2) Hit Menu-6-8 to change resolution for the channel you are on.

I personally change to 720p/1080i when on HD and 480i on SD as letting the box send 720p/1080i on SD to my tv makes the PQ worse.
65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#3 OFFLINE   ChuckA

ChuckA

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,010 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 07 May 2007 - 07:20 AM

Set it to whatever looks the best to you on your TV. Mine never gets changed from 1080i, but that's just me.
Receivers: ViP622 (dual mode), ViP722k (single mode), 311
Dish 1000
America's "Everything" Pack & HD
TV1: SONY 55" KDF-55WF655; HDMI & Components connections
OTA Antenna in attic
PocketDish AV700E

#4 OFFLINE   kstuart

kstuart

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2002

Posted 07 May 2007 - 11:01 AM

Hi,
I just installed my Pioneer Elite to my 622.
I'm not sure how to set the signal for HD TV and for SD.
When should it be set to 720p or 1080i?
Should it be set to 480i or 480p for SD?
What signal do the stations send programming?
Confused.........
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks


Here is what is going to work best for the 622 for most people:

Check the specifications for your TV and find the "native resolution". (In some cases, this might be simply called "Pixels".)

If that native resolution has the number "1080" in it, then set the 622 (Menu-6-8) to 1080i.

If the native resolution has the number "720" OR "768" in it, then set the 622 to 720p.

NOTE: The TV's native resolution is NOT the same as what resolution's it will accept or display.
Still using Dish 500 production unit #000001 (pictured prior to upgrade to DPPlusTwin)
Olevia 542i fed by ViP622 and 522

#5 OFFLINE   Amon37

Amon37

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2007

Posted 07 May 2007 - 02:59 PM

I hate the fact it's one or the other. it makes all the SD channels at 1080i creating a lot of artifacting and all the 720P channels studder at 1080i. My friends have cox cable and their HD-DVR has 4 settings it switches to depending on the channel 480i/480p/720p/1080i

#6 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,262 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 07 May 2007 - 03:06 PM

I hate the fact it's one or the other. it makes all the SD channels at 1080i creating a lot of artifacting and all the 720P channels studder at 1080i. My friends have cox cable and their HD-DVR has 4 settings it switches to depending on the channel 480i/480p/720p/1080i


I see the same things you do which is why I menu-6-8 once I settle on a show, plus I watch alot of OTA which is either true 720 or 1080 so I change the 622. People seem to think just leaving it is fine, but I think thats because most do not want to take the time to change it. If it was so unimportant it would not be the most requested feature via polls.
65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#7 OFFLINE   Mr.72

Mr.72

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 564 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2007

Posted 07 May 2007 - 04:02 PM

Here is what is going to work best for the 622 for most people:

Check the specifications for your TV and find the "native resolution". (In some cases, this might be simply called "Pixels".)

If that native resolution has the number "1080" in it, then set the 622 (Menu-6-8) to 1080i.

If the native resolution has the number "720" OR "768" in it, then set the 622 to 720p.



You know, I disagree with this on several points:

1. many displays do a better job scaling DOWN than they do at scaling UP. So you may be better driving a 1366x768 display with 1080i signal if sharpness of picture is what you are after.

2. IMHO progressive scan @ 60 Hz trumps display resolution if it's present in the source, so of course if you have a progressive-scan 60 Hz display, then you will be better off with 720p from the 622 in the event you are watching a program that has 60 Hz frame rate.

WE NEED NATIVE PASS THRU!

right now, you're forced either to endure a major compromise on at least some channels, or endure a big PITA to swap modes manually through the menus when you change channels.
Sling-enabled Hopper, Joey, RokuXD, coupla HDTVs, a real old DD5.1 receiver and a 1963 Fisher tube hifi




Protected By... spam firewall...And...