Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20-700 vs 100


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
21 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mjd1969

mjd1969

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 11 May 2007 - 01:50 PM

New to the forum. Great resource- I'm glad I found it.

I just upgraded to DTV HD package. They sent out an installer and he did the hookup and setup my HR20-100 box. He rushed through the box demo because he was late to his next appointment. A half hour after he left I realized that one tuner on the box was dead. The inputs were fine, just the tuner was dead. I called DTV and after three days of customer service hell, they sent a technician out to check the box. Sure enough, the second tuner was dead. DTV wouldn't allow him to swap it with a box in his truck- they had to mail me a new one. When the new one arrived, it was an HR20-700 model not the -100 model I originally had. It was refurbished on top of that.

I was pretty upset that I paid $200 for a new box, it was broken when installed, and now I get an older refurbed unit. One of the techs had warned me that the older -700 model had a lot of issues. I called DTV and insisted they send a new (not refurbed) -100 model. They tired to tell me there was no difference between the units, but I persisted and they sent me a new unit.

I now have a refurbed -700 unit and new -100 unit at home. Which is actually the best model to keep? I want the one with the least problematic track record. Is there a general consencious on this?

Thanks for the help.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 11 May 2007 - 01:56 PM

so far 6 one way half dozen the other.. both are functionaly the same, right down to the same issues..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#3 OFFLINE   SFNSXguy

SFNSXguy

    EOE

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 515 posts
  • LocationNear San Francisco
Joined: Apr 17, 2006

Posted 11 May 2007 - 01:59 PM

I now have a refurbed -700 unit and new -100 unit at home. Which is actually the best model to keep? I want the one with the least problematic track record. Is there a general consencious on this?



I'd keep the 100. I like the way it vents, it runs cooler (the 700 seems to need an exteral fan), the outputs are in better positions too. Keep the 100 -- at least that would be MY preference.
HS
D* user since 11/94

#4 OFFLINE   skaeight

skaeight

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 516 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 11 May 2007 - 10:03 PM

Wow, I had to think for a second whether or not I actually wrote that post. I had the exact same experience. Rushed demo, about 2 hours after the install of the HR20-100 I realized one of the tuners was dead.

I got a refurbed HR20-700 that so far (knock on wood) is working great. I do wonder if there is something inheritantly wrong with the production process of the HR20-100 though, because I've seen some other reports of bad tuners.

The one huge benfit I've seen of the 700 over the 100 is that the RF remote works much much better. The 100 RF remote barely even worked, whereas the 700 is very strong.

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 May 2007 - 10:36 PM

I do wonder if there is something inheritantly wrong with the production process of the HR20-100 though, because I've seen some other reports of bad tuners.

There was a batch of -700s with the same bad #2 tuner, so the "process" may be the same between the two. FWIW
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   Agrajag

Agrajag

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 311 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2004

Posted 11 May 2007 - 11:24 PM

Wow, thanks for mentioning the RF remote problem on the 100. My mother got a 100 model (silver) and it was the first one I'd seen (I have a 700).

I turned on the RF for her and it was hideously bad. It was almost unusable. Went back to IR and now it's solid.

#7 OFFLINE   Radio Enginerd

Radio Enginerd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,879 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2006

Posted 11 May 2007 - 11:57 PM

Wow, thanks for mentioning the RF remote problem on the 100. My mother got a 100 model (silver) and it was the first one I'd seen (I have a 700).

I turned on the RF for her and it was hideously bad. It was almost unusable. Went back to IR and now it's solid.


Interesting results with the RF remote. You'd think it would be better with the 100 since you have an RF remote external antenna. I'll ask the dumb question... You did have an antenna connected to the RF remote antenna port on the back?

If you put your mind to it you can accomplish anything.
- Emmett "Doc" Brown

DirecTV since 2006


#8 OFFLINE   jmschnur

jmschnur

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 861 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2006

Posted 12 May 2007 - 06:34 AM

The 100 runs a bit cooler. Otherwise no apprent functional difference with the national firmware releases.

Did you have the RF antenna installed with the 100?
Joel
[FONT="Arial"][SIZE="1"][B]
ce 0x0431 HDMI 1080P Pioneer Kuro 60" plasma 151
{CE 0x0481 - HDMI 1080p - Sharp 32" 1080P LCD
2 HR20-100 DVRs
Integra DHC 80.2, HDMI throughout.
Home network mixed vista, windows 7
Slimeline 5; Vista,,7 ; wired and wireless; Verizon Fios internet, Netgear 3700 router, infinity/buffalo n ethernet converters
Integra DHC 80.2

#9 OFFLINE   skaeight

skaeight

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 516 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 12 May 2007 - 07:08 AM

Interesting results with the RF remote. You'd think it would be better with the 100 since you have an RF remote external antenna. I'll ask the dumb question... You did have an antenna connected to the RF remote antenna port on the back?


Yeah, I actually did have the antenna connected to the back of the 100. That is what I found so odd. The 700's antenna is internal and it works 100% better. I don't get it.

#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 May 2007 - 08:14 AM

Yeah, I actually did have the antenna connected to the back of the 100. That is what I found so odd. The 700's antenna is internal and it works 100% better. I don't get it.

Even dumber question: is it on the RF or the OTA connector?
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   skaeight

skaeight

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 516 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 12 May 2007 - 09:33 AM

Even dumber question: is it on the RF or the OTA connector?


It was on the RF connector. That question was really pretty insulting.

#12 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,662 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 12 May 2007 - 09:41 AM

It was on the RF connector. That question was really pretty insulting.

I didn't read it that way. If the connectors are the same size, it's something that could have inadvertently happened. Poster was only trying to be helpful. You Sox fans are so touchy! :lol: /s
/steve

#13 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 May 2007 - 09:42 AM

It was on the RF connector. That question was really pretty insulting.

Please, it was not meant to be.
I have made "dumb" mistakes, & sometimes the really dumb questions do help.
A.K.A VOS

#14 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,239 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 12 May 2007 - 12:46 PM

I have made "dumb" mistakes,


Just thinking back on some of mine makes me both smile and cringe. :lol:

Carl

#15 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 12 May 2007 - 12:46 PM

It was on the RF connector. That question was really pretty insulting.

Don't be insulted.

Good problem solving takes nothing for granted. You always start with the basics.

Following the Installation Tips could have save this from happening. Each of those steps, even the ones that sound dumb all came from something that happened to someone who came before you.

- Craig

#16 OFFLINE   HDTVsportsfan

HDTVsportsfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,746 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 12 May 2007 - 01:55 PM

Even dumber question: is it on the RF or the OTA connector?


It was on the RF connector. That question was really pretty insulting.



You must not be used to VOS's style. ;)
DBSTalk Chat Room Mod (I reserve the right to be wrong.)

AT9 to SWM16
LR: HR24-100 to Panasonic 50" w/ Sony HTIB/FR: HR20-700 to Samsung LN55B640
Office: HR34-700 to Panasonic 50" w/ HD-A2
Office: H21-200 to 36" SD TV/BR: HR21-200 to Samsung 32" LCD
My full setup in Visio: http://www.dbstalk.c...8&postcount=105

#17 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 May 2007 - 01:57 PM

You must not be used to VOS's style. ;)

I've never been accused of having any...:)
A.K.A VOS

#18 OFFLINE   jeffshoaf

jeffshoaf

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 633 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2006

Posted 12 May 2007 - 02:29 PM

It was on the RF connector. That question was really pretty insulting.


I didn't take it as being insulting, especially since some of the earlier postings about the HR20-100 mentioned installers connecting the RF antenna to the OTA connector - and some folks actually receiving OTA using it that way!:grin:

#19 OFFLINE   John in Georgia

John in Georgia

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 317 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 12 May 2007 - 04:41 PM

I've never been accused of having any...:)


Bull feathers.

#20 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 May 2007 - 04:55 PM

Bull feathers.

I imagine HDTVsportsfan got my humor. It does lose a bit when quoted out of context, but while I have been accused of having no style, I've never been accused of having some. YMMV :)
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...