Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DTV Slimline Mount


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Tebbens

Tebbens

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2004

Posted 12 May 2007 - 05:23 PM

Could someone post the exact OD size of the Slimline dish mount ?
I think its aprox 2" ??

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,377 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 12 May 2007 - 05:29 PM

Could someone post the exact OD size of the Slimline dish mount ?
I think its aprox 2" ??


The OD of the pipe is exactly 2"
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#3 OFFLINE   SledDog

SledDog

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 676 posts
Joined: May 05, 2007

Posted 12 May 2007 - 07:35 PM

Just had a slimline installed today. I had a 2" pole mounted to the house. The installer told me the mounting pipe needs to be 2.5 I find that strange. He fabbed a sleeve with a galvanized pole and installed it over the pole mounted to the house.

It could be the mounting pole was 1 and 7/8th. Either way the gal. sleeve was not did not have a 1/4 thick wall. So ya I'd say the mount needs to be 2 inches. My dish is up and running. the guy did a great job. I guess he could told me, sorry, the pole is not the correct diameter and I have to mount it the roof. I just had a new roof put on and did not want anything drilled into it.

#4 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,377 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 12 May 2007 - 07:51 PM

Just to confirm I just took my digital mic to it, 2.0045" OD (2" in my book)
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,614 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 May 2007 - 08:32 PM

Just to confirm I just took my digital mic to it, 2.0045" OD (2" in my book)

To add: the older mast/pipe was 1 5/8" & the new one needs to be 2" [both are outside diameters].
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   FunkyMonk93

FunkyMonk93

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 21 May 2007 - 09:32 AM

Can someone tell me what the total height of the pipe is? Trying to figure out if I could use the slimline wall mount with the pipe extended over the roof. See attached picasso....

Posted Image

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,614 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 May 2007 - 09:43 AM

24" [for the red part]
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   FunkyMonk93

FunkyMonk93

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 21 May 2007 - 10:29 AM

Awesome. Thanks for the quick response.

If 24" is not going to be long enough to get up and over the eave, does anyone know if there is a longer mast available from D* or do I need to find one on my own? And, if I find one on my own, will the D* installer use it, or say "no way" to it?

#9 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,614 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 May 2007 - 10:43 AM

Awesome. Thanks for the quick response.

If 24" is not going to be long enough to get up and over the eave, does anyone know if there is a longer mast available from D* or do I need to find one on my own? And, if I find one on my own, will the D* installer use it, or say "no way" to it?

If it's not long enough, you'll need to go to a muffler shop and either have them make an extension or bend up a longer mast. [If you take a mast to the shop they can make a slip fit pipe to go over it with little problem].
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   sack9

sack9

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Mar 13, 2007

Posted 22 May 2007 - 07:38 AM

Try Using the new S-mount on the corner of the house
3 HR20-700 x34b 2 HR20-100 x34b
1 HR23-700 x34b
1 hr10-250
MediaShare on via wired RJ45 using TVersity
VOD = enabled
Dish Setup
CalAmp Ka/KU 5 on the roof
8-Channel SWM
1 Zinwell 6x8
Terk Antenna
7168/768 Qwest DSL
Directv Home Servies Lead Tech

#11 OFFLINE   FunkyMonk93

FunkyMonk93

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 22 May 2007 - 07:52 AM

Try Using the new S-mount on the corner of the house


I'd love to but can't. I've got a palm tree by the corner of the house that would obstruct my view. As it is, I am moving the dish when (upgrading from 3 to 5 LNB) from an area where the better half decided to plant bougainvillea's that I have to cut back every 3 months. Putting the dish on the roof will ensure that I will not ever have to cut back anything again!

#12 OFFLINE   CobraGuy

CobraGuy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 255 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 22 May 2007 - 07:54 AM

If it's not long enough, you'll need to go to a muffler shop and either have them make an extension or bend up a longer mast. [If you take a mast to the shop they can make a slip fit pipe to go over it with little problem].


That is exactly what I did. I had a muffler shop bend me up a piece of 2" tubing to exactly fit my needs. It was dirt cheap and works perfectly. The only thing you will need to do is notch the end that goes to the bracket (so the pipe will pivot...look at the factory arm and you'll see what I mean) and drill the holes for the mount to bolt to...and the spacer inside the pipe will align with. Not hard at all with basic skills and tools. Paint the pipe and your good to go.

Oh yes...one more thing. Use a couple of monopoles for support!! Very important. Especially with a longer arm.

#13 OFFLINE   FunkyMonk93

FunkyMonk93

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 22 May 2007 - 08:22 AM

That is exactly what I did. I had a muffler shop bend me up a piece of 2" tubing to exactly fit my needs. It was dirt cheap and works perfectly.


Thanks Cobra. Do you happen to have any digital photos of your installation???




spam firewall