Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Hello, Newbee here


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   PJ1

PJ1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: May 14, 2007

Posted 15 May 2007 - 08:51 AM

Hi, my name is PJ and I just joined this forum.

I'm in the process of updating my sound and video system.

I just purchased most of my speakers and amps and they sound great.
My TV is still a 32" crt (non HD).
My intent is to get a 70" HD tv in the aug->Sept timeframe, hopping prices drop.

My local service is comcast and they have super lousy HD coverage.

DirectTV looks like the way to go, especially with the new Sat's goin' up.

My question is this:

I currently have a SD TV and a Dolby 5.1 sound system.
I'm thinkin' about switching to D* the HR20 DVR and the lnb5 antenna.

I hope to hook the HR20 to the amp via component. Amp is a Yami RX-V2700. From the Amp to TV via the SVideo Cable. This will convert the video to SD and I can still get the Dolby 5.1 sound.
When I get my HD TV, I'll switch to HDMI.

Does anybody see any problems with this or have any suggestions?

Thanks and very nice forum.

PJ

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,359 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 May 2007 - 08:57 AM

Hi, my name is PJ and I just joined this forum.

I'm in the process of updating my sound and video system.

I just purchased most of my speakers and amps and they sound great.
My TV is still a 32" crt (non HD).
My intent is to get a 70" HD tv in the aug->Sept timeframe, hopping prices drop.

My local service is comcast and they have super lousy HD coverage.

DirectTV looks like the way to go, especially with the new Sat's goin' up.

My question is this:

I currently have a SD TV and a Dolby 5.1 sound system.
I'm thinkin' about switching to D* the HR20 DVR and the lnb5 antenna.

I hope to hook the HR20 to the amp via component. Amp is a Yami RX-V2700. From the Amp to TV via the SVideo Cable. This will convert the video to SD and I can still get the Dolby 5.1 sound.
When I get my HD TV, I'll switch to HDMI.

Does anybody see any problems with this or have any suggestions?

Thanks and very nice forum.

PJ

:welcome_s to the forum(s).
You will need to use the optical out for your DD 5.1, as it doesn't come over component. Until you get your HD TV, I see no reason to use component out. Just use the S-Video from the HR-20, either to your AV receiver or your TV.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Smuuth

Smuuth

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,204 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2005

Posted 15 May 2007 - 09:00 AM

Hi, my name is PJ and I just joined this forum.

I'm in the process of updating my sound and video system.

I just purchased most of my speakers and amps and they sound great.
My TV is still a 32" crt (non HD).
My intent is to get a 70" HD tv in the aug->Sept timeframe, hopping prices drop.

My local service is comcast and they have super lousy HD coverage.

DirectTV looks like the way to go, especially with the new Sat's goin' up.

My question is this:

I currently have a SD TV and a Dolby 5.1 sound system.
I'm thinkin' about switching to D* the HR20 DVR and the lnb5 antenna.

I hope to hook the HR20 to the amp via component. Amp is a Yami RX-V2700. From the Amp to TV via the SVideo Cable. This will convert the video to SD and I can still get the Dolby 5.1 sound.
When I get my HD TV, I'll switch to HDMI.

Does anybody see any problems with this or have any suggestions?

Thanks and very nice forum.

PJ


:welcome_s

What you suggest would work, but I'm not sure why you want to run the video through the amp. You can output the audio from the HR20 to the amp with analog red and white (no 5.1 though) or digital optical audio output. Just connect the SVideo directly from the HR20 to your SD TV, then when you upgrade to a HD TV, you can use either component video or HDMI. :D
Eschew Obfuscation!


Patriot Guard Riders

#4 OFFLINE   PJ1

PJ1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: May 14, 2007

Posted 15 May 2007 - 09:13 AM

Thanks, I'm surprised that the component connections won't pass Dolby 5.1 signals.
Is that true for all component connections or just from the HR20??

Is DD 5.1 signals only passed via the Optical Out and HDMI?


I want to connect the video thru the amp so that I can use the amp as a switch. Plus that would be closer to my final configuration, so I might as well try it out.

Thanks, looks like I'll place my order in the next couple of days.

PJ

#5 OFFLINE   JeffBowser

JeffBowser

    blah blah blah

  • Registered
  • 2,498 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 15 May 2007 - 09:14 AM

Running the video through the amp allows the amp to switch the signal, saves having to manipulate the TV remote control when switching between DVD, VCR, etc... Your plan sounds fine to me.

#6 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,359 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 May 2007 - 09:14 AM

You can output the audio from the HR20 to the amp with composite......

:confused: How in the world would audio come through the composite video cable? While the OP could use the analog audio out [red & white] it wouldn't carry DD 5.1 audio. :confused:
A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,359 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 May 2007 - 09:17 AM

Is DD 5.1 signals only passed via the Optical Out and HDMI?
PJ

Yes, as these are the only digital audio outputs.
No, it isn't just the HR-20 that works this way.
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,359 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 May 2007 - 09:18 AM

Your plan sounds fine to me.

With some minor changes for digital audio.
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   JeffBowser

JeffBowser

    blah blah blah

  • Registered
  • 2,498 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 15 May 2007 - 09:23 AM

Yes, well, my assumption was the audio over component was a typo.

With some minor changes for digital audio.



#10 OFFLINE   PJ1

PJ1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: May 14, 2007

Posted 15 May 2007 - 09:35 AM

Thanks very much.
I now know what's needed.

PJ

#11 OFFLINE   braven

braven

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,033 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2007

Posted 15 May 2007 - 09:35 AM

I run all my video thru my A/V receiver (Denon) without a problem. However, component cables will not carry any type of audio. You'll need a seperate audio connection for this.

#12 OFFLINE   Smuuth

Smuuth

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,204 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2005

Posted 15 May 2007 - 12:51 PM

:confused: How in the world would audio come through the composite video cable? While the OP could use the analog audio out [red & white] it wouldn't carry DD 5.1 audio. :confused:

Sorry, I should not have referred to them as composite - I was referring to the analog red and white - and I know they will not carry 5.1. I edited my original post to reflect the proper terminology.
Eschew Obfuscation!


Patriot Guard Riders

#13 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,359 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 May 2007 - 01:02 PM

Sorry, I should not have referred to them as composite - I was referring to the analog red and white - and I know they will not carry 5.1. I edited my original post to reflect the proper terminology.

As they say..no biggie, but for a newbie..:)
A.K.A VOS

#14 OFFLINE   RegGeek

RegGeek

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 167 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2007

Posted 15 May 2007 - 02:27 PM

Although it wasn't one of your questions, you should also be aware that if you get an HR20 you will be required to subscribe to the HD package even though you would not yet have your HD tv to view it on. D* changed their rules earlier this year. If you get an HD capable receiver you must pay for HD programming. In the past you could opt out of their HD package. Just a heads up!
I know life's not fair, but how come it's never unfair in my favor?

See profile for equipment list.

#15 OFFLINE   PJ1

PJ1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: May 14, 2007

Posted 15 May 2007 - 06:41 PM

Thanks everyone. I think I'm ready to put it together.

PJ

#16 OFFLINE   scrappy 2000

scrappy 2000

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 15 May 2007 - 08:41 PM

Glad you are here this is a great site. You will love your Yami RX-V2700, I have the same one and it is great. Till you get your HD Tv hook things up any way you want. After you get your new set go with hdmi from the HR 20 to the Yami RX-V2700. The HR 20 and the Yami RX-V2700 play very well together.




spam firewall