Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Strange installation


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,390 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 19 May 2007 - 07:26 PM

Went to my sisters today to observe her HD upgrade to a Slimline and a H20. She already has a 2lnb dish with an R15 DVR. I cemented the post earlier this week and when I arrived this morning he had installed the dish and had it peaked. As he had to run only one more line it was an easy install. He was neat, courteous, professional and was done and gone in short order. It seemed almost too fast. I wasn't surprised that he left the old dish but he left it hooked up to the R15. She wants to remove the old dish and D* says the installer was correct in his install. She doesn't want two dishes on her house. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance...
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jlancaster

jlancaster

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 752 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 19 May 2007 - 07:38 PM

Did he just run the one line? If he did that would seem strange most installers will run at least 2 if not 4 and just dead end it just inside the house(double check).
These dishes are in two different locations right?

SWMline
(2)HR20-700 50" Sony dlp hdmi, 50" vizio plasma hdmi...1 HR21-100 to26 Vizio hdmi, R22-100 to sdtv

#3 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,390 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 19 May 2007 - 07:46 PM

He ran one line, I asked for two but he said he was not allowed. My sister plans on an HR20 in a couple of months and it would have saved an install. The dishes are only a few feet apart, one on the house the new one on the pole. I could extend the leads from the old dish to the new, but he had all the stuff on his truck and could have done it in 20 minutes. He gets paid by the job I suppose.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#4 OFFLINE   jlancaster

jlancaster

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 752 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 19 May 2007 - 07:56 PM

Most likely a sub contractor not directly working for an HSP...He pays for most everything himself.
Well 2 things that I can think of...keep calling d* to ask for new installation(need old one removed)...if you are adement about this (as I would) after a couple of tries ask for retention and they will give you a pin # and phone number to call and demand it.

If you feel competent in this you COULD try to run the 2 new cables needed from the slimline dish...but this would require a removal of the lnb (to connect the cables) and would be VERY easy to bump it out of alignment.
I would opt for the former.

Good Luck!! Keep us posted.

SWMline
(2)HR20-700 50" Sony dlp hdmi, 50" vizio plasma hdmi...1 HR21-100 to26 Vizio hdmi, R22-100 to sdtv

#5 OFFLINE   WolfsPride

WolfsPride

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 20 May 2007 - 06:47 AM

He ran one line, I asked for two but he said he was not allowed. My sister plans on an HR20 in a couple of months and it would have saved an install. The dishes are only a few feet apart, one on the house the new one on the pole. I could extend the leads from the old dish to the new, but he had all the stuff on his truck and could have done it in 20 minutes. He gets paid by the job I suppose.



For starters, every installer gets paid by the job. How many IRD's do you have? Either way around, if he installed the kaKu dish, he should have ran 2 cables from the dish to the ground block. Secondly, good luck at finding an installer that will remove an old Dish. We are not suppose to and for a good reason. You wouldn't believe how many claims have been filed from custumers for having an old dish removed and all of a sudden......Walla! My roof leaks!!! In most cases, the customer wins, gets a new roof and the installer is screwed for being a Nice guy. He could have on the other hand removed the Dish and the Mast and have just left the Foot mounted but that was entirely his call.

#6 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,390 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 20 May 2007 - 06:53 AM

Two IRD's, one R15 and the just installed H20. My beef was he did not hook all equipment to the new dish. Now that you mention it, no ground block either. I can remove the dish, no problem, I expected both receivers be connected to the Slimline.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#7 OFFLINE   CobraGuy

CobraGuy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 255 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 20 May 2007 - 07:01 AM

I agree with Wolfspride. You contracted for an install...not an install and remove. They aren't paid for that. I've been pretty vocal about some of the shoddy installs I've seen and experienced...but I'm in agreement with this. It shouldn't be the installer's job to remove an old dish. Where would it end? Is he then responsible for sealing the holes? If it requires new shingles, tiles, etc., is he responsible for replacing those? Is he responsible for painting the side of the house where it's removed and leaves a mark? Just too many variables.

#8 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,390 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 20 May 2007 - 07:18 AM

Me beef isn't with the removal of the old dish, that is not a problem. He left the old dish in service, he did not hook all the receivers to the Slimline so the old dish could be removed. She now has two dishes, both in service.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#9 OFFLINE   WolfsPride

WolfsPride

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 20 May 2007 - 07:18 AM

Two IRD's, one R15 and the just installed H20. My beef was he did not hook all equipment to the new dish. Now that you mention it, no ground block either. I can remove the dish, no problem, I expected both receivers be connected to the Slimline.


I'll tell you what, YOU BETTER call DTV and let them know there is no Ground block installed. It's the shady work of fellow installers that take these STUPID short cuts around things to get the job done faster.

NEC *REQUIRES* that all installs are grounded from DISH to Ground Block. From Ground Block to Main House Ground. That Dish gets hit, sets your house on fire, guess who dies and guess who goes to Jail?

I have seen some stupid comments on here about no ground is needed on the Dish half of the install and that's PURE BULL!!!! GROUNDING is a REQUIREMENT!!!!

#10 OFFLINE   WolfsPride

WolfsPride

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 20 May 2007 - 07:20 AM

I'll tell you what, YOU BETTER call DTV and let them know there is no Ground block installed. It's the shady work of fellow installers that take these STUPID short cuts around things to get the job done faster.

NEC *REQUIRES* that all installs are grounded from DISH to Ground Block. From Ground Block to Main House Ground. That Dish gets hit, sets your house on fire, guess who dies and guess who goes to Jail?

I have seen some stupid comments on here about no ground is needed on the Dish half of the install and that's PURE BULL!!!! GROUNDING is a REQUIREMENT!!!!



as far as the other recievers go, he should have hooked those up for you too. along with VCR, Surround sound , ( if you have it ) and so forth. It's part of his job

#11 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,390 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 20 May 2007 - 07:24 AM

as far as the other recievers go, he should have hooked those up for you too. along with VCR, Surround sound , ( if you have it ) and so forth. It's part of his job


I would never expect an installer to hook up my accessories, just wanted him to connect the new dish to all receivers, and install a ground.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#12 OFFLINE   WolfsPride

WolfsPride

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 20 May 2007 - 07:27 AM

I would never expect an installer to hook up my accessories, just wanted him to connect the new dish to all receivers, and install a ground.



well it's customers like you that make our job that much easier with the accessories but I'm just saying it is part of his job to do this also. Get that Ground Block installed immediatley by an installer and file a complaint

#13 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,730 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 20 May 2007 - 08:19 AM

NEC *REQUIRES* that all installs are grounded from DISH to Ground Block. From Ground Block to Main House Ground.

No! NEC requires that everything be grounded to a bonding point. Daisy chaining grounds may be better than nothing, but it is not code.

#14 OFFLINE   JLucPicard

JLucPicard

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,983 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2004

Posted 20 May 2007 - 10:29 AM

With an R15 and H20, he should have installed the KaKu dish (which he apparently did) and made sure there were three cable runs from THAT dish - with two connected to the R15 and one connected to the H20. When I have had a dish upgrade (which this would have been), the installer has removed the old dish and mast, leaving the foot mounted to the roof. It looks like some are saying this isn't required, but there should no longer be any cabling running off this dish - all three feeds should be running off the KaKu dish. AND IT SHOULD BE GROUNDED. (Sorry, not yelling at you, just emphasizing :)).

I would call D*, explain what was done, and ask to have the cabling fixed and the dish grounded. You can then ask the person who shows up to clean up after the first guy if he would mind removing the dish and mast from the old set up. He'll be dealing with the cabling from that dish anyway, so I wouldn't think he'd mind.

#15 OFFLINE   mika911

mika911

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 273 posts
Joined: May 01, 2006

Posted 20 May 2007 - 10:32 AM

The extra dish could come in handy for non-HD channels, if they ever had lots of receivers and didn't want a multi switch.

#16 OFFLINE   HDTVsportsfan

HDTVsportsfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,746 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 20 May 2007 - 08:51 PM

Intersting information from the other side.

Thanks. :-)
DBSTalk Chat Room Mod (I reserve the right to be wrong.)

AT9 to SWM16
LR: HR24-100 to Panasonic 50" w/ Sony HTIB/FR: HR20-700 to Samsung LN55B640
Office: HR34-700 to Panasonic 50" w/ HD-A2
Office: H21-200 to 36" SD TV/BR: HR21-200 to Samsung 32" LCD
My full setup in Visio: http://www.dbstalk.c...8&postcount=105

#17 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,390 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 20 May 2007 - 09:03 PM

Last conversation with D* ended with them saying they will have a "specialist" call in one to two days. Thank's for everyones help/advice. Great info Surfbird, thanks
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997




Protected By... spam firewall...And...