Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

PBS, CW & MyNetworkTV locals in HD?? Any plan?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
74 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   syphix

syphix

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,113 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 23 May 2007 - 03:41 PM

So, DirecTV is quickly expanding the LiL's, including CBS, ABC, FOX and NBC HD's in major markets (and now some minor ones), but are they ever planning on going back and adding PBS, CW and MyNetworkTV in HD??
Nathan
setup:
- 50" Plasma 1080p HDTV (Samsung PN50A760), 46" LCD 1080p HDTV (Samsung LN-T4665F), 32" LCD 720p HDTV (Insignia). 1 Hopper, 2 Joeys.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 23 May 2007 - 03:59 PM

Detroit already has MyNetwork TV in HD. PBS would be cool, but I really don't give a crap about CW.

#3 OFFLINE   syphix

syphix

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,113 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 23 May 2007 - 04:25 PM

Detroit already has MyNetwork TV in HD. PBS would be cool, but I really don't give a crap about CW.

Yeah, I could really care less about CW...but I'd really like PBS.

Are they ever going to add the sub-channels? (like NBC's "WeatherPlus+)
Nathan
setup:
- 50" Plasma 1080p HDTV (Samsung PN50A760), 46" LCD 1080p HDTV (Samsung LN-T4665F), 32" LCD 720p HDTV (Insignia). 1 Hopper, 2 Joeys.

#4 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 23 May 2007 - 04:28 PM

Are they ever going to add the sub-channels? (like NBC's "WeatherPlus+)

I'd rather see sub-channels eliminated completely than have DirecTV waste precious bandwidth on them.

#5 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,799 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 23 May 2007 - 04:44 PM

Here in NY MN and CW are important because Yankees and Mets games are on them. PBS is desirable, if for no other reason, because they generally do a GREAT job of HD transmission. Certainly, WNET here in NY does.

#6 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,664 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 23 May 2007 - 05:09 PM

I would bet that DirecTV would play catch-up with CW, MY-TV, and PBS stations in local markets. They'll have the bandwidth, and they'll please many of their customers ...

And I will be able to return my crappy SA-8300HD DVR to Cablevision, which I only have for HD-CW, PBS, and My-9!

#7 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,643 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 24 May 2007 - 02:04 PM

Yeah, I could really care less about CW...but I'd really like PBS.

Are they ever going to add the sub-channels? (like NBC's "WeatherPlus+)


I would love to have CW in HD (Supernatural is barely watchable and Smallville is so bad I just wait for the DVDs), but our PBS is not in HD anyway, and I don't even know what a "My Network" is...

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#8 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 24 May 2007 - 02:21 PM

Once they get the new sats up I'm sure they will. I'd bet they are just playing concervative right now with the locals. Other issue is the RSN's which take up bandwidth. Once the RSN's go CONUS and D10 and D11 are up there and functioning I think you'll see more of these go up.

Won't in my area since CW and MyNetwork are just subchannels of our NBC and CBS station.

#9 OFFLINE   zipbags

zipbags

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2005

Posted 24 May 2007 - 02:40 PM

Has their been any rumors or talk of the CW in HD in NY (I live in NJ)??

#10 OFFLINE   Drewg5

Drewg5

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 716 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 24 May 2007 - 03:55 PM

I would love to see PBS over the MPEG4. There HD is the best OTA, so :)

My Junk

ATT Uverse

45" Sony

30" Visio web connected


#11 OFFLINE   Newshawk

Newshawk

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,427 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2004

Posted 24 May 2007 - 04:47 PM

Has their been any rumors or talk of the CW in HD in NY (I live in NJ)??


I think the key for NYC is that D* has to provide two 24/7 HD RSNs- YES and SNNY. Once they go national beam, there's the room to WWOR and WPIX.

As for PBS stations, I still believe the sticking point is that the PBS stations want D* to carry all their sub-channels. While I's like to see the Oklahoma only channel that OETA has here in the Sooner state, I can get it by OTA, so there's no pressing need that I can see for the waste of bandwidth. The other two sub-channels? One is a duplicate of PBS Kids Sprout and the other is the Charlie Rose channel... er, PBS You, which D* dropped over a year ago!

BTW, here's a link to a press release concerning the agreement between the Association of Public Television Stations, PBS and the National Cable Television Association: http://www.ncta.com/...1&contentId=359

DIRECTV employee April 2004-November 2012.
The above comments are my own because I don't know if anyone would care about my opinions anymore.


#12 ONLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,964 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 24 May 2007 - 06:56 PM

I would love to see PBS over the MPEG4. There HD is the best OTA, so :)


I get PBS OTA and agree, although I wish they would get more HD programming. 99% seems to be repeats (some of which are old enough that they are new to me).

#13 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,171 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 15 June 2007 - 05:35 PM

I live in NY I don't get MY NETWORK and CW in hd. I am watching the MET- YANKEES on 95 and the feed is coming from MY NETWORK in hd. Will we get these channels when the new sats go up?

JACK,
 
 


#14 OFFLINE   DVRaholic

DVRaholic

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 305 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 15 June 2007 - 06:02 PM

This is the First time I have seen them do This, Broadcast a My9 HD game on Ch.95
Maybe this means we might get the channel full time soon.

I get it OTA now, But I have friends hat would love to get these HD feeds, especially for Yankees and Met games
My personal DVR Collection... (Addiction) :D
-----------------------------
1-HR23-700 (2TB E-sata)
2-HR20-700's (1TB & 750GB E-SATA )
2-HR20-100 's
ALL HR2xx Networked
3- R22 DVR's

5-Harmony 676's (Best DVR Remote)
1-5lnb Slimline
1-Zinwell 6x16 Powered Ka-Ku Multswitch's
2-Zinwell Cascaded 6x8 Multiswitch's
1-Channel Master 4221 OTA
------------------------------------

Directv Since Cablevision Yankees/YES Fiasco
2002

#15 OFFLINE   DCSholtis

DCSholtis

    Up The Irons!

  • Registered
  • 5,723 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2002

Posted 15 June 2007 - 06:10 PM

This is the First time I have seen them do This, Broadcast a My9 HD game on Ch.95
Maybe this means we might get the channel full time soon.

I get it OTA now, But I have friends hat would love to get these HD feeds, especially for Yankees and Met games


This is I think the 3rd or 4th time they have had a My9/Yankees feed in EI. Tonight they also have a TSN/Blue Jays feed and a CSN Philly feed as well. First time they have had a TSN feed in EI. They have had Rogers Sportsnet feeds however.
Dan Sholtis
"The Raiders will be back. I have unshakable confidence, the will to win, and I just know that the fire that burns brightest in this building is the will to win. And we will win. We will win."---Al Davis. Rest In Peace, Al

#16 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,171 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 15 June 2007 - 06:13 PM

This is the First time I have seen them do This, Broadcast a My9 HD game on Ch.95
Maybe this means we might get the channel full time soon.

I get it OTA now, But I have friends hat would love to get these HD feeds, especially for Yankees and Met games


What kind OTA do you have?

JACK,
 
 


#17 OFFLINE   raoul5788

raoul5788

    Guest

  • Registered
  • 1,481 posts
Joined: May 13, 2006

Posted 15 June 2007 - 06:34 PM

OT to the post, really, but when the new sats are up, and the hd rsn's go to CONUS, will the spotbeam hd rsn's go away?

#18 OFFLINE   Kevin Dupuy

Kevin Dupuy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 440 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2006

Posted 15 June 2007 - 06:34 PM

Sports coverage on MyNet affiliates would be the only reason to get them in HD. Not bashing the network, but IIRC they are going to have all network broadcasted content in SD, with their switch to reality content.

CW in HD would be nice.:D
Follow me on Twitter, you little stalker :-)
www.CampaignForLiberty.com
www.YALiberty.com

#19 OFFLINE   DCSholtis

DCSholtis

    Up The Irons!

  • Registered
  • 5,723 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2002

Posted 15 June 2007 - 06:37 PM

OT to the post, really, but when the new sats are up, and the hd rsn's go to CONUS, will the spotbeam hd rsn's go away?


If as expected they are going CONUS I dont see a reason to keep them up on the spotbeams as well. Except maybe for Superfan.
Dan Sholtis
"The Raiders will be back. I have unshakable confidence, the will to win, and I just know that the fire that burns brightest in this building is the will to win. And we will win. We will win."---Al Davis. Rest In Peace, Al

#20 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,799 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 15 June 2007 - 08:36 PM

This is I think the 3rd or 4th time they have had a My9/Yankees feed in EI. Tonight they also have a TSN/Blue Jays feed and a CSN Philly feed as well. First time they have had a TSN feed in EI. They have had Rogers Sportsnet feeds however.


The interesting thing is that I don't subscribe to EI but still got the HD My9 feed on 95. I have also seen the YES feed on 94 or 95 turned on as well. Other posters have maintained that if you don't subscribe to EI, you shouldn't get these feeds.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA





spam firewall