Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Best External Hard Drives for HR20


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
40 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   HofstraJet

HofstraJet

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
  • LocationCoral Springs, FL
Joined: Mar 06, 2003

Posted 28 May 2007 - 04:26 PM

I got one as well - 12% off with the coupon listed above - great deal!

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   pjo1966

pjo1966

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 28 May 2007 - 04:28 PM

Now all I have to do is get an HR20 and I'll be all set.

#28 OFFLINE   elixir26

elixir26

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2007

Posted 28 May 2007 - 05:39 PM

Now all I have to do is get an HR20 and I'll be all set.


You have the good fortune to only have to set up your favorites once. I still have programing on my internal dive that I don't want to delete but have to go through a shut down to access.

Please keep us posted on how your start up goes.

Cheers,
1 HR20-700
3 HR24-500
1 HR24-100
1 AZiO External Enclosure
WD 2tb WD20EADS,
WD 2tb WD20EURS,

#29 OFFLINE   Zamps

Zamps

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2006

Posted 28 May 2007 - 09:20 PM

So what exactly do you have to do to set up an external hard drive? Is all I need is a esata cable and I'm ready to roll? I definitely could use some more hard drive space.
Family Room: DTV HR20-700
Bedroom: R15

#30 OFFLINE   pjo1966

pjo1966

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 28 May 2007 - 11:27 PM

So what exactly do you have to do to set up an external hard drive? Is all I need is a esata cable and I'm ready to roll? I definitely could use some more hard drive space.


http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=66201

#31 OFFLINE   romwarrior88

romwarrior88

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2007

Posted 01 June 2007 - 02:52 PM

I picked up one of these today. There were a lot of 500 and 300 GB drives on the shelves, but only a few of these. Just a note, it only comes with a USB cable, so you need to pick up an eSATA cable.


Does BestBuy sell eSATA cables??

#32 OFFLINE   likegadgets

likegadgets

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2005

Posted 01 June 2007 - 04:47 PM

I first purchased an eSata type I cable from monoprice.com, but I was having problems because the cable connector was short and would not stay in place on the FreeAgent drive. I bought an eStata type II from PC Connection and this one works perfectly and stays connected well on both the HR20 and the FreeAgent 750GB.

I wish I could turn off the orange light on the Drive as the unit is on the bedroom.

BTW - do not overpay for the cable - some retailers ask close to $25 - Online they are under $6.00

#33 OFFLINE   Norad

Norad

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 01 June 2007 - 07:34 PM

Does BestBuy sell eSATA cables??


I also just swiped-up the Freeagent from Best Buy, on sale last weekend. I discovered Best Buy does not carry any Sata or eSata cables yet, so, as I was looking forward to recording tonight's Star Wars marathon on HBO, I put in a rush order for a cable from cyberguys.com. It came yesterday, I hooked up my drive, and it's working great.

Here's a link to the cable:
http://www.cyberguys...productID=14623
(They also have a 3ft long version)

I noticed other retailers had sold out of theirs, and heard this brand fits the Freeagent well, and so far, like I said, it's working great. (knock on wood)

--Daron

#34 OFFLINE   mrhoads

mrhoads

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Dec 25, 2006

Posted 02 June 2007 - 08:15 AM

Yeah, that is the one.

Here is the coupon (10% for everyone 12% with free rewards zone membership)

images.bestbuy.com/BestBuy_US/en_US/images/external/emailpdf/052207_mem_day_coupons.pdf


Check date on cupon. It ended in May.

#35 OFFLINE   mrhoads

mrhoads

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Dec 25, 2006

Posted 02 June 2007 - 08:16 AM

Does BestBuy sell eSATA cables??


No, be carefull. They sold me a cable but as it turned out it was not eSATA

#36 OFFLINE   jeff125va

jeff125va

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 419 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2007

Posted 07 June 2007 - 08:59 AM

I put a 750 gb Seagate Barracuda ES ST3750640NS in an AZiO ENC311SU31 e-sata enclosure in early March. It's quiet (no fan) cool and has not had any problems at all. Cost was a little over 300 in March but the drives have come down since then. If your stuck on a TB I'd go with a RAID 0 with twin 500's or what the heck 1.5tb with twin 750's (my next set up)

Anyone know of an enclosure for two drives for the setup you're describing?

#37 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,053 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 08 June 2007 - 08:57 AM

The HR20 is a computer.

It is like a serioulsy hobbled PC/Mac.

It has all of the elements, but it is crippled by something.

What OS are these folks using?

Why should the concept of adding a hard drive be such a big deal?

the problem is not the drive, it is the AV storage volume. The AV is stored in one large partition on the hard drive. To merge the two drives, the software has to be able to manage two storage partitions. The ability to do this was built into the TiVo software becasue when they started out hard drives were so expensive they used two small drives instead of one larger one to save money. If they were doing it from scratch today, they'd likely do what the HR20 does and just use one partition, period.

The problem I see with enabling two drive support down the road is what happens to your existing recordings? If all of a sudden the software wants to merge volumes you may end up losing all the recordings on your large external drive.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#38 OFFLINE   elixir26

elixir26

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2007

Posted 12 June 2007 - 01:48 PM

Anyone know of an enclosure for two drives for the setup you're describing?


AMS DS-2340SES eSATA VENUS T4S External Enclosure is one for 200 bucks. I really haven't done any extensive research yet. I'm only half full on my 750gb at this point..:)
1 HR20-700
3 HR24-500
1 HR24-100
1 AZiO External Enclosure
WD 2tb WD20EADS,
WD 2tb WD20EURS,

#39 OFFLINE   dcpoppy

dcpoppy

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2007

Posted 16 June 2007 - 05:11 PM

I'm leaning towards the ONNTO DataWhale RSM2TS. Interesting name, but it has 2 drive capacity, and supports onboard RAID 0, RAID 1 if I'm feeling paranoid, and JBOD if I find a bargain.

I can't post URLs yet, but if you search for "RMS2TS" you'll get two hits for a site selling it, and 2 sites that appear to be MFR sites that don't work. That bit is a little disconcerting.

Anyone tried one of these?

#40 OFFLINE   dcpoppy

dcpoppy

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2007

Posted 16 June 2007 - 05:19 PM

I'm leaning towards the ONNTO DataWhale RSM2TS. Interesting name, but it has 2 drive capacity, and supports onboard RAID 0, RAID 1 if I'm feeling paranoid, and JBOD if I find a bargain.

I can't post URLs yet, but if you search for "RMS2TS" you'll get two hits for a site selling it, and 2 sites that appear to be MFR sites that don't work. That bit is a little disconcerting.

Anyone tried one of these?


Ok, a search for o'tostore turns up a lot more on these. Looks like a company in Taiwan that acutally does have a reasonably full enclosure product line.

#41 OFFLINE   dcpoppy

dcpoppy

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2007

Posted 16 June 2007 - 05:42 PM

In one of those threads, at one point, Earl mentioned that there was a company he knew of who was working on an external solution for the HR20. Whoever the company is, the product was supposed to blend in with the rest of your A/V equipment... At that point, it was one of those "coming soon to a home theater near you", with very little detail, and I've not seen or heard anything since, though I've been meaning to ask Earl if he had any more information on said product.....



That wouldn't be the SilverStone DS351, would it? It looks beautiful, holds up to 5 drives, and has an onboard Silicon Image RAID controller - but it comes at a price...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...