Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20 Router Question


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gte747e

gte747e

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: May 31, 2007

Posted 31 May 2007 - 07:58 AM

I have a Wireless Router in my bedroom and my HT in my den. I use my PS3 via wireless.

I also ran a CAT-5 cable to the den - but just one. What is my best option for "splitting" these. I could use one for my HR20, one for Denon receiver, and another extra for either PS3 or future use.

Do I just purchase a regular router? Any specific one? Suggestions?

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Sackett

Sackett

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: May 21, 2007

Posted 31 May 2007 - 08:03 AM

I have a Wireless Router in my bedroom and my HT in my den. I use my PS3 via wireless.

I also ran a CAT-5 cable to the den - but just one. What is my best option for "splitting" these. I could use one for my HR20, one for Denon receiver, and another extra for either PS3 or future use.

Do I just purchase a regular router? Any specific one? Suggestions?

Thanks.


If I am understanding what you are saying is that you ran a cat-5 cable from one of your ports on your wireless router to your den where all of your equipment is, correct? If so, all you need to get is a switch. I would recommend an 8 port switch. Manufacture doesn't really matter, but usually I try to keep the same manufactures together, so what is the brand of your wireless router?

#3 OFFLINE   gte747e

gte747e

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: May 31, 2007

Posted 31 May 2007 - 08:14 AM

Thanks. You are correct regarding my setup. My router is a modem/router combo and it is a 2Wire (from BellSouth/AT&T DSL).

So as I understand it, this switch will enable me to get up to 8 connections from this one wire?

#4 OFFLINE   Sackett

Sackett

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: May 21, 2007

Posted 31 May 2007 - 08:47 AM

Thanks. You are correct regarding my setup. My router is a modem/router combo and it is a 2Wire (from BellSouth/AT&T DSL).

So as I understand it, this switch will enable me to get up to 8 connections from this one wire?


Well no, you can get up to 7 devices, because one will be the cat-5 from your 2wire. Also because it is a 2wire, as far as I know they do not make a 2wire switch. You can get an linksys/netgear/ect... Since you are in ATL, I would recommend Fry's or Microcenter.




spam firewall