Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Back Up Power for DTV HR20-700


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jered9

jered9

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2007

Posted 02 June 2007 - 09:34 AM

Help! I live in Florida the lightning capital of the world. Everytime we have a momentary power loss it takes up to 10 minutes for the receiver to reboot.:mad: I am considering buying a UPS battery backup system for the HR20-700 receiver. Has anyone done this and are there any problems with doing this that I need to be aware of?

I apologize if this is the wrong forum to post this question.

Jered

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,859 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 June 2007 - 09:39 AM

:welcome_s to the forum.
Yes this is the wrong forum, but you shouldn't have any problem using a UPS. I use one and it is a very good idea for the HR-20 has a hard drive so it is a computer by nature.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 02 June 2007 - 09:40 AM

You should always have a UPS unit on a DVR or any other home electronics. A small $40 one is fine up to hundreds. Mine was about $120 and I can battery backup 6 devices and surge protect 4 more. Perfect size.

#4 OFFLINE   Drewg5

Drewg5

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 716 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 02 June 2007 - 09:42 AM

yes UPS is the way to go... Your more than likely going to want one around $75

My Junk

ATT Uverse

45" Sony

30" Visio web connected


#5 OFFLINE   Jason Nipp

Jason Nipp

    Analog Geek in a Digital World

  • Super Moderators
  • 10,040 posts
  • LocationNorthern Illinois
Joined: Jun 10, 2004

Posted 02 June 2007 - 10:30 AM

I don't have an HR20, but I use a UPS on my 622 and it works just fine. Just remember if you have a powered switch to put that on the UPS as well. That way you also have no signal interruptions with the power glitches.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...