Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Picture freeze and pixellation


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ryker

ryker

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2002

Posted 11 December 2002 - 03:38 PM

Any channel on transponder 21 I get a picture freeze and pixellation every 10 seconds or so. Only channel on it that I watch is MTV2. Signal strength is over 100. Is this just a compression issue? When I contacted dish they said swap lnb which made no difference and then they tried to tell me my dish isn't ground properly or I have dirty ac power, what a joke.

Any ideas.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   ryker

ryker

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2002

Posted 17 December 2002 - 06:56 AM

Does anyone have any ideas? I can't possibly be the only person with this problem.

#3 OFFLINE   MarkA

MarkA

    God Bless America!

  • Gold Members
  • 2,538 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 17 December 2002 - 10:42 AM

I'm not sure what transponder it's on (I'll check), but I have a similar problem on KTLA. Every 10-15mins it blinks out (audio and video, screen goes black) for less than a second. (7200 receiver here)

#4 Guest_boba_*

Guest_boba_*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 17 December 2002 - 11:42 AM

Look for possible damage to the coaxial cable transponder 21 would equate to a specific frequency. If that frequency is being blocked by a kinked cable you would have a weaker signal on that transponder. Try going to Menu 6,1,1, and check signal strength on transponder 21. is it stable at 100 or does it fluctuate every 10 seconds? Have you tried the receiver on another system to see if it still has problems it might be a receiver problem.

#5 OFFLINE   Jacob S

Jacob S

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,657 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2002

Posted 17 December 2002 - 12:28 PM

What kind of receiver do you have?

#6 OFFLINE   ryker

ryker

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2002

Posted 17 December 2002 - 08:26 PM

I have the 501. When I check the signal strength it stays above 100 the whole time. I checked the cable and didn't see any damage but the cable is hidden in a few areas. I would think if the cable was damaged I would have problems with more than one transponder, but who knows?




spam firewall