Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

CH 201 - DirecTv Basics


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
64 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   ScoBuck

ScoBuck

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 1,100 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2006

Posted 21 June 2007 - 12:42 PM

Before I ever posted about this I checked the back of the HR-20. There was nothing there. Then I posted and received your answer and checked where you said, but nothing was there either :shrug:


On the H20 and HR20 (for sure) if you go to the setup menu it will show the manufacturer code on-screen.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   ScoBuck

ScoBuck

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 1,100 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2006

Posted 21 June 2007 - 12:47 PM

Tanya was before her, then came her (does anyone actually know her name?) and now there's this person.


Her name is Mary Strong:

http://en.wikipedia....iki/Mary_Strong

just found a much better picture of her to view:
http://www.imdb.com/...html?hint=group

#43 OFFLINE   Dolly

Dolly

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 2,179 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 21 June 2007 - 09:55 PM

On the H20 and HR20 (for sure) if you go to the setup menu it will show the manufacturer code on-screen.

You won't believe this, but all it shows is Receiver Mode: Directv :confused:

#44 OFFLINE   darrin1471

darrin1471

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 22 June 2007 - 11:56 AM

The box the HR20 came in just said it was made in China :rolleyes:


Only the -700 is made in China

#45 OFFLINE   Plusdvrjunkie

Plusdvrjunkie

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 22 June 2007 - 02:51 PM

Any idea when the new GUI will be coming to the R15?.:confused:

I want it on the R-15 also!

#46 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 22 June 2007 - 03:01 PM

Only the -700 is made in China



My R15-500 says "Made in China" also.;)

#47 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 22 June 2007 - 03:10 PM

You won't believe this, but all it shows is Receiver Mode: Directv :confused:



Dolly:Try Menu/Settings/Setup/Info&Test.See if the top line doesn't say Manufacturer+a number.:)

#48 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 22 June 2007 - 03:12 PM

I want it on the R-15 also!



Being the R15 platform is NDS and not Directv it will probably be a while before we
get it.:rolleyes:

#49 OFFLINE   Dolly

Dolly

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 2,179 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 23 June 2007 - 12:53 PM

Dolly:Try Menu/Settings/Setup/Info&Test.See if the top line doesn't say Manufacturer+a number.:)

I finally found where it actually said HR20 in the Menu. And do you know what it said across from it--that's right--700
:lol: !rolling :rolling:

#50 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 08:40 PM

I finally found where it actually said HR20 in the Menu. And do you know what it said across from it--that's right--700
:lol: !rolling :rolling:



Good Deal!.We'll make a Teck out of you yet!.:lol: :yesman::righton:

#51 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 June 2007 - 01:15 AM

When they bring up the Guide Filters list on 201, one of the options is Broadband Video. They're definitely not using the HR20, because there is no HD Channels option. This might be a good indication that VOD will be coming to other receivers in the future.

Edit: They just showed the guide with HD markers on a bunch of shows on SD local channels. So who knows how much these GUI shots really mean.

#52 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 24 June 2007 - 07:46 AM

Edit: They just showed the guide with HD markers on a bunch of shows on SD local channels. So who knows how much these GUI shots really mean.


This was actually just added in the last HR20 CE release I believe.

#53 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 June 2007 - 10:31 AM

This was actually just added in the last HR20 CE release I believe.

Really? Why would they do that, the shows obviously aren't in HD.

I've got the SD locals hidden in my guide, so I never see them. I'll have to take a look and see if they show the HD symbol.

#54 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 24 June 2007 - 11:26 AM

Really? Why would they do that, the shows obviously aren't in HD.

I've got the SD locals hidden in my guide, so I never see them. I'll have to take a look and see if they show the HD symbol.


I don't think it would be on the SD versions.

Here is what was added:

HD Icon on programs in all lists (e.g. search results)


Maybe it's not the same thing.

#55 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 June 2007 - 11:49 AM

Maybe it's not the same thing.

Yeah, that can't be referring to the guide. It wouldn't make any sense to have the HD icon on the SD channels.

#56 OFFLINE   Dolly

Dolly

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 2,179 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 24 June 2007 - 12:46 PM

Yeah, that can't be referring to the guide. It wouldn't make any sense to have the HD icon on the SD channels.

My guide does have the HD icon on some shows, but not on other shows on the same channel. I don't really understand :confused:

#57 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 June 2007 - 01:02 PM

My guide does have the HD icon on some shows, but not on other shows on the same channel. I don't really understand :confused:

The HD icon is only there if that show is in HD.

#58 OFFLINE   Dolly

Dolly

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 2,179 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 24 June 2007 - 09:45 PM

The HD icon is only there if that show is in HD.

So a show can be HD even if it is being shown on a channel that isn't HD :confused:

#59 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 June 2007 - 11:14 PM

So a show can be HD even if it is being shown on a channel that isn't HD :confused:

Nope. The HD icon should not appear at all on SD channels.

#60 OFFLINE   Dolly

Dolly

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 2,179 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 25 June 2007 - 12:28 PM

Nope. The HD icon should not appear at all on SD channels.

Well I have seen that on my guide. I guess mistakes could have been made :shrug:




spam firewall