Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Game Lounge now on HR20-700!!!


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
28 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   RhinoGL

RhinoGL

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2007

Posted 18 June 2007 - 12:11 PM

Just tuned to 110 and got the channel. I do not think it is supported on the HR20-100 (piano black) yet.

Very cool!:D

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   cb7214

cb7214

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 798 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 18 June 2007 - 12:15 PM

Just tuned to 110 and got the channel. I do not think it is supported on the HR20-100 (piano black) yet.

Very cool!:D


great news! :D
Directv Subscriber since 1999

XM Subscriber since June 2005

#3 OFFLINE   fliptheflop

fliptheflop

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2006

Posted 19 June 2007 - 04:11 PM

Is anyone able to sign up for the pass? It won't let me over the phone line or online at directv.com.

#4 OFFLINE   DCSholtis

DCSholtis

    Up The Irons!

  • Registered
  • 5,768 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2002

Posted 19 June 2007 - 07:43 PM

Same here not able to sign up yet. It says on the bottom that its now available on the D* HD DVR receiver though. If I try and order online it tells me I have to have an interactive box. I have both an H20 and a HR20 so I dont know what that could be able. I don't need a 3rd box...lol
Dan Sholtis
"The Raiders will be back. I have unshakable confidence, the will to win, and I just know that the fire that burns brightest in this building is the will to win. And we will win. We will win."---Al Davis. Rest In Peace, Al

#5 OFFLINE   fliptheflop

fliptheflop

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2006

Posted 19 June 2007 - 08:15 PM

Same here not able to sign up yet. It says on the bottom that its now available on the D* HD DVR receiver though. If I try and order online it tells me I have to have an interactive box. I have both an H20 and a HR20 so I dont know what that could be able. I don't need a 3rd box...lol


Thats exactly what its doing to me also. It maybe that its up and running but we can't sign up for a pass yet.

#6 OFFLINE   DCSholtis

DCSholtis

    Up The Irons!

  • Registered
  • 5,768 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2002

Posted 19 June 2007 - 08:27 PM

I just emailed customer service. Will post when I receive a reply.
Dan Sholtis
"The Raiders will be back. I have unshakable confidence, the will to win, and I just know that the fire that burns brightest in this building is the will to win. And we will win. We will win."---Al Davis. Rest In Peace, Al

#7 OFFLINE   naijai

naijai

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,137 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 19 June 2007 - 08:28 PM

Same here not able to sign up yet. It says on the bottom that its now available on the D* HD DVR receiver though. If I try and order online it tells me I have to have an interactive box. I have both an H20 and a HR20 so I dont know what that could be able. I don't need a 3rd box...lol



You have to make sure that the primary receiver on your account is an interactive receiver
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.
Winston Churchill

DIRECTV employee since May 2003.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views DO NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#8 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,177 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 19 June 2007 - 08:46 PM

Sorry but, yawn, IMHO this should be one of the lowest priority items to get going.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#9 ONLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,175 posts
  • LocationFort Pierce, FL
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 19 June 2007 - 08:53 PM

Great news!! Now we can really test the remotes' response time with simple arcade style games.
Sponsered by SAD (Sarcastic Americans Department)

#10 OFFLINE   DCSholtis

DCSholtis

    Up The Irons!

  • Registered
  • 5,768 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2002

Posted 19 June 2007 - 09:18 PM

You have to make sure that the primary receiver on your account is an interactive receiver


I already checked my account though. My HR20 is listed as my primary and its still telling me I need an interactive box. lol
Dan Sholtis
"The Raiders will be back. I have unshakable confidence, the will to win, and I just know that the fire that burns brightest in this building is the will to win. And we will win. We will win."---Al Davis. Rest In Peace, Al

#11 OFFLINE   RhinoGL

RhinoGL

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2007

Posted 19 June 2007 - 09:44 PM

The told my brother it will be fixed by Friday...;)

#12 OFFLINE   DCSholtis

DCSholtis

    Up The Irons!

  • Registered
  • 5,768 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2002

Posted 19 June 2007 - 09:49 PM

Cool, ty RhinoGL
Dan Sholtis
"The Raiders will be back. I have unshakable confidence, the will to win, and I just know that the fire that burns brightest in this building is the will to win. And we will win. We will win."---Al Davis. Rest In Peace, Al

#13 OFFLINE   DCSholtis

DCSholtis

    Up The Irons!

  • Registered
  • 5,768 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2002

Posted 20 June 2007 - 12:18 PM

I'm good to go. They said for some reason their system isn't letting them add it so the CSR had to log into a seperate system to do it.
Dan Sholtis
"The Raiders will be back. I have unshakable confidence, the will to win, and I just know that the fire that burns brightest in this building is the will to win. And we will win. We will win."---Al Davis. Rest In Peace, Al

#14 OFFLINE   Steveknj

Steveknj

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 926 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2006

Posted 20 June 2007 - 12:54 PM

With the ability to play video games in so many other ways, computers, game consoles, cell phones even, what makes D* think this is going to be even remotely popular that people will pay EXTRA to play games with 1990 graphics and a remote control as the game controller? Am I missing something here?

#15 OFFLINE   jonaswan2

jonaswan2

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 895 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2005

Posted 20 June 2007 - 01:05 PM

With the ability to play video games in so many other ways, computers, game consoles, cell phones even, what makes D* think this is going to be even remotely popular that people will pay EXTRA to play games with 1990 graphics and a remote control as the game controller? Am I missing something here?


“Game Lounge’s unique platform is engaging the minds of both parents and children and bringing family game night back to DirecTV households across the country,” said Eric Shanks, executive vice president, DirecTV Entertainment. “Game Lounge gives families an alternative way to play games together, using a medium that kids are used to while also playing in a controlled environment that parents are comfortable with.”

That's Shanks' explanation. The real reason is because it's been pretty sucessful for Sky and E*.

#16 OFFLINE   jutley

jutley

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 449 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 20 June 2007 - 03:03 PM

What is the price?
--Justin

SWiM3 Dish - (2) HR20-700s - (1) R16-300

My Setup

#17 OFFLINE   jonaswan2

jonaswan2

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 895 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2005

Posted 20 June 2007 - 03:11 PM

What is the price?


All Access (unlimited games) is $5.95 a month

Game Pass ("24 hour access to your favorite game category) is $1.95. You can get a few extra hours out of the Game pass if you order at the right time I think.

#18 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,244 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 20 June 2007 - 03:12 PM

What is the price?

Read the web page and all will be answered.

#19 OFFLINE   jutley

jutley

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 449 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 20 June 2007 - 03:53 PM

Yeah, I was just too lazy. :blush:
--Justin

SWiM3 Dish - (2) HR20-700s - (1) R16-300

My Setup

#20 OFFLINE   RhinoGL

RhinoGL

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2007

Posted 20 June 2007 - 04:28 PM

Everyone, my brother was told that his HR20-100 (piano black) does not support game lounge yet and ordering from that box is not possible. That explained his problem.

#21 OFFLINE   Rambler

Rambler

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 578 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2006

Posted 20 June 2007 - 04:35 PM

What is the price?

Too much for what it is. :nono2:

#22 OFFLINE   DCSholtis

DCSholtis

    Up The Irons!

  • Registered
  • 5,768 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2002

Posted 20 June 2007 - 04:47 PM

Everyone, my brother was told that his HR20-100 (piano black) does not support game lounge yet and ordering from that box is not possible. That explained his problem.


Just ran into a problem. I ordered the All Access pass earlier on the phone and activated my account online. But I can't get the receiver to recognize it. Still will only let me play trial games. Im resetting the box now to see. Another thing RhinoGL I was told earlier that IF you are playing and the game gets stuck to reset your box first BEFORE calling in. Reason being I was told is that resetting the box is the advise they would give and it will just save you a call. Just an FYI, bro.
Dan Sholtis
"The Raiders will be back. I have unshakable confidence, the will to win, and I just know that the fire that burns brightest in this building is the will to win. And we will win. We will win."---Al Davis. Rest In Peace, Al

#23 OFFLINE   MercurialIN

MercurialIN

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,448 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2006

Posted 20 June 2007 - 05:07 PM

I couldn't order with the remote either. I called CS and activated it. I played the games for a bit then went to do something else. When I loaded Game Lounge again the "blue, subscribe" button was back. I called Game Lounge support and they said for whatever reason Game Lounge had been canceled from my account. They re-instated it and so far all is well. Not sure why Game Lounge accesses the phone line so often however. I know it updates your "token" count etc. But thought it would do so through the satellite.

Since I don't have XBox or PS I for one enjoy Game Lounge and thank D* for providing it. I do hope it gets more "polished" as it goes along, it is rather primitive and on Solitaire I've noticed if you play it very much as I do, you get into a cycle where you are repeatedly dealt the same three or four hands, nice if they are winning hands, these however are not. The other big issue I have is I'd like the sound effects on the games, I enjoy the XM classic channel played in the back ground it's a good choice, but I still want the option to have just sound effects and only sound effects when I play the games. Don't enjoy Monk's chanting or opera when I'm trying to play Uno.

Other then that, thanks D.

Melody

In Loving Memory Of Manda 8/31/2004-12/29/2008

HR24-100/S-Video/Mitsu SDTV
HR24-100*
HR24-500*
*both hooked HDMI to same Sony Bravia XBR 9


#24 OFFLINE   jonaswan2

jonaswan2

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 895 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2005

Posted 20 June 2007 - 05:15 PM

I couldn't order with the remote either. I called CS and activated it. I played the games for a bit then went to do something else. When I loaded Game Lounge again the "blue, subscribe" button was back. I called Game Lounge support and they said for whatever reason Game Lounge had been canceled from my account. They re-instated it and so far all is well. Not sure why Game Lounge accesses the phone line so often however. I know it updates your "token" count etc. But thought it would do so through the satellite.

Since I don't have XBox or PS I for one enjoy Game Lounge and thank D* for providing it. I do hope it gets more "polished" as it goes along, it is rather primitive and on Solitaire I've noticed if you play it very much as I do, you get into a cycle where you are repeatedly dealt the same three or four hands, nice if they are winning hands, these however are not. The other big issue I have is I'd like the sound effects on the games, I enjoy the XM classic channel played in the back ground it's a good choice, but I still want the option to have just sound effects and only sound effects when I play the games. Don't enjoy Monk's chanting or opera when I'm trying to play Uno.

Other then that, thanks D.


Nah, all the Satellite does during Game Lounge is 'load up" your interactive app.

And the D10 series does sound effects just fine and dandy. No music in the background at all. I wonder why the D11 and HR20 is having a problems with them.

#25 OFFLINE   DCSholtis

DCSholtis

    Up The Irons!

  • Registered
  • 5,768 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2002

Posted 20 June 2007 - 05:58 PM

I couldn't order with the remote either. I called CS and activated it. I played the games for a bit then went to do something else. When I loaded Game Lounge again the "blue, subscribe" button was back. I called Game Lounge support and they said for whatever reason Game Lounge had been canceled from my account. They re-instated it and so far all is well. Not sure why Game Lounge accesses the phone line so often however. I know it updates your "token" count etc. But thought it would do so through the satellite.

Since I don't have XBox or PS I for one enjoy Game Lounge and thank D* for providing it. I do hope it gets more "polished" as it goes along, it is rather primitive and on Solitaire I've noticed if you play it very much as I do, you get into a cycle where you are repeatedly dealt the same three or four hands, nice if they are winning hands, these however are not. The other big issue I have is I'd like the sound effects on the games, I enjoy the XM classic channel played in the back ground it's a good choice, but I still want the option to have just sound effects and only sound effects when I play the games. Don't enjoy Monk's chanting or opera when I'm trying to play Uno.

Other then that, thanks D.


Turns out that was my problem too, somehow it has become cancelled so they reactivated it for me too. Gave them a suggestion to add a slot machine game while I was on the phone. Tech guy said it was a good idea and wrote it up and sent it off while he was helping me. I have no use for an Xbox or PlayStation so for me as well this is pretty good. Thanks D*!!
Dan Sholtis
"The Raiders will be back. I have unshakable confidence, the will to win, and I just know that the fire that burns brightest in this building is the will to win. And we will win. We will win."---Al Davis. Rest In Peace, Al




Protected By... spam firewall...And...