Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

The Crop/Stretch Bug is Driving Me CRAZY!


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
31 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gabe23

gabe23

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Mar 06, 2007

Posted 22 June 2007 - 10:18 AM

I've had my HR20 for about 5 months now, and during that time the vertical stretching bug was never much of an issue for me. On the rare occasions that it happened, a couple of taps on the Play or Pause buttons got things back to normal. But ever since the 168 software release, it has rendered the Crop mode practically useless. Pretty much every letterbox show that I watch can't be cropped without stretching into oblivion. And now, playing around with the trickplay buttons won't bring it back to the correct view. I've tried doing a restart from the menu, and this seems to clear it up for a short time, but I'm lucky to make it through an hour long program before the problem returns. Last night I unplugged the unit for a half hour, and it had no effect on the problem. Nor has playing around with different resolutions, Native On/Off, etc.

I've seen the problem with shows from the Discovery Channel, History Channel, TLC, PBS, and others. I am having a hard time understanding why D* is not only NOT fixing this issue, but they're making it worse! Earl, or anyone else with D* contacts - can you shed any light onto why this hasn't been taken care of?

And yes, I fully realize that I can turn Native On and set it to stretch, then let my TV do the cropping. But then I can't see the progress bar and the menus properly. Plus I have to keep another remote around to handle the TV's aspect mode (I don't want to crop non-letterbox 4:3 content).

Is anyone else experiencing a lot of trouble with the crop/vertical stretch bug?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   kramerboy

kramerboy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 98 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2006

Posted 22 June 2007 - 12:39 PM

I've had my HR20 for about 5 months now, and during that time the vertical stretching bug was never much of an issue for me. On the rare occasions that it happened, a couple of taps on the Play or Pause buttons got things back to normal. But ever since the 168 software release, it has rendered the Crop mode practically useless. Pretty much every letterbox show that I watch can't be cropped without stretching into oblivion. And now, playing around with the trickplay buttons won't bring it back to the correct view. I've tried doing a restart from the menu, and this seems to clear it up for a short time, but I'm lucky to make it through an hour long program before the problem returns. Last night I unplugged the unit for a half hour, and it had no effect on the problem. Nor has playing around with different resolutions, Native On/Off, etc.

I've seen the problem with shows from the Discovery Channel, History Channel, TLC, PBS, and others. I am having a hard time understanding why D* is not only NOT fixing this issue, but they're making it worse! Ed, or anyone else with D* contacts - can you shed any light onto why this hasn't been taken care of?

And yes, I fully realize that I can turn Native On and set it to stretch, then let my TV do the cropping. But then I can't see the progress bar and the menus properly. Plus I have to keep another remote around to handle the TV's aspect mode (I don't want to crop non-letterbox 4:3 content).

Is anyone else experiencing a lot of trouble with the crop/vertical stretch bug?


I'm a new user (almost 3 weeks). I just noticed this issue the other day and didn't have a clue what was going on until I read your post. I remember seeing some threads about the vertical stretch bug, but didn't really experience it until now. Yes, I have 0x168.

Yes, this is very annoying. I was trying to watch a letterboxed show just last night when this happened. I couldn't figure out why it was looking fine on second and then the next, the whole picture was super stretched.

Please fix this Directv.....
HR20-100s (Samsung 42" DLP) --
HR21-100 (32" Samsung LCD) --
AU9 Slimline Dish

#3 OFFLINE   mdl

mdl

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 22 June 2007 - 02:33 PM

Used to work for me too, but now it doesn't. Very annoying.

#4 OFFLINE   jutley

jutley

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 449 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 22 June 2007 - 04:25 PM

My wife called me yesterday afternoon and told me that we are having this problem. I have had the HR20 for about one month and this is the first time this has happened. I played with the HR20 last night and it started to work correctly. The wife called me again a few hours ago and it is back again. It is quite annoying. I am also on 0x168.
--Justin

SWiM3 Dish - (2) HR20-700s - (1) R16-300

My Setup

#5 OFFLINE   man_rob

man_rob

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,439 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2007

Posted 26 June 2007 - 06:35 AM

It's happening to me since the 0x168 update as well.

#6 OFFLINE   wyoungmann

wyoungmann

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2006

Posted 26 June 2007 - 06:37 AM

same here, on the H20.

#7 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 843 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 26 June 2007 - 06:53 AM

Make it one more here, whose crop is trashed since 0X168. FWIW, I'm connected via HDMI into a Samsung tube set.

#8 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,408 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 26 June 2007 - 07:16 AM

Have had the issue for a long time, before 0168. One work around I have found which works for 480i programs: put the HR20 in "stretch" and put you TV in "zoom". That is a term my Sony uses, I'm sure other manufacturers have different terms for the same effect.

#9 OFFLINE   gabe23

gabe23

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Mar 06, 2007

Posted 26 June 2007 - 08:17 AM

Have had the issue for a long time, before 0168. One work around I have found which works for 480i programs: put the HR20 in "stretch" and put you TV in "zoom". That is a term my Sony uses, I'm sure other manufacturers have different terms for the same effect.


Yes, but as I mentioned in my original post, this method cuts off part of the menu and the progress bar. It's better than nothing, I suppose, but still not a great workaround. I just want D* to fix this thing once and for all! I posted because the problem got significantly worse with 168, so hopefully at a minimum they'll undo whatever change was made in this software version.

#10 OFFLINE   man_rob

man_rob

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,439 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2007

Posted 26 June 2007 - 09:38 AM

Have had the issue for a long time, before 0168. One work around I have found which works for 480i programs: put the HR20 in "stretch" and put you TV in "zoom". That is a term my Sony uses, I'm sure other manufacturers have different terms for the same effect.


My Samsung won't do a zoom from the HDMI input. The only options available are 16x9, and 4x3, so the work around won't work for me either.

#11 OFFLINE   MattWarner

MattWarner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 26 June 2007 - 11:27 AM

It's happening to me since the 0x168 update as well.


+1 but it's been happening with every release for me.

-Matt

#12 OFFLINE   Ken S

Ken S

    RIP

  • Registered
  • 6,201 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2007

Posted 26 June 2007 - 11:45 AM

Folks...this isn't a problem. It's just D's way of telling you your TV isn't big enough....and don't get mad at least they changed the color of the menus!

We've had this issue too. Hopefully, they'll do a little "support" and fix this feature.

#13 OFFLINE   mtnagel

mtnagel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,015 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 26 June 2007 - 06:25 PM

I've had this issue for a *long* time. Way too long. In fact, now that autocorrection is hear, this may be my number 1 issue with the HR20.
- Matt

#14 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,860 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 26 June 2007 - 06:38 PM

FWIW, I had the problem until the last CE and haven't seen it since. There is still an issue with crop when pausing but I haven't had a bad crop since the 0x174 CE came out Friday.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#15 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,408 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 26 June 2007 - 06:39 PM

My Samsung won't do a zoom from the HDMI input. The only options available are 16x9, and 4x3, so the work around won't work for me either.


My Father has a Samsung set and if I remember he can use zoom as long as the input is 480i. I could very well be mistaken, but I know it will zoom.

#16 OFFLINE   Cyrus

Cyrus

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 422 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 27 June 2007 - 12:44 AM

I was seeing this problem with the 168 national release. But it seems to have gone away in the 174 CE release, so maybe they have fixed it.

#17 OFFLINE   gabe23

gabe23

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Mar 06, 2007

Posted 27 June 2007 - 06:57 AM

I was seeing this problem with the 168 national release. But it seems to have gone away in the 174 CE release, so maybe they have fixed it.


That's good news. I might have to become an Edge Cutter now...

#18 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,936 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 27 June 2007 - 07:23 AM

I have had it while using the slingbox but not while the TV is on...
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#19 OFFLINE   jbellanca

jbellanca

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 27 June 2007 - 07:24 AM

Nor has playing around with different resolutions, Native On/Off, etc.


I've never experienced this issue that I know of... this is my setup, see if it works for you. I have the HR20 set to Native and I have a Sony 60XBR2 SXRD. For channels that show letterboxed programming like you're describing, by default, the TV stretches the video, which "squishes" the image. Set the TV to Zoom and the letterboxes disappear and the video is in the correct aspect ratio... and the full "live" area is displayed on the TV. This is the way it's meant to be shown by the network - 16:9 full screen. (Granted, blurry from the zoom, however.) Yes, parts of the status bar are clipped off-screen, but that's due to the fact that the HR20 displays the status bar BELOW the "live" area of the broadcast, the the "dead" letterbox zone... which I honestly really can't fault DirecTV over, since it's also in the correct area for HD programming.

#20 OFFLINE   mdb

mdb

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: May 15, 2007

Posted 27 June 2007 - 07:53 AM

Is anyone else experiencing a lot of trouble with the crop/vertical stretch bug?


I'm glad to see this issue surface again. D* has replaced my box once, telling me the hardward was defective. Of course that didn't solve the problem, and have told me twice that this is NOT a known bug. It renders letterbox cropping impossible. The aspect modification that makes the crop look normal, blows up the guide, progress bar, banner, etc. so that about 1/3 of it goes off the screen.

This only happens on my Panasonic, not the Sony.

As with some others, this is also my number one problem. I truely hope that the new release solves it. We've been a D* customer since practically day one (live in area where cable is not available) and we truely enjoy their service and the HR20, but I WISH THIS WOULD GET RESOLVED.:)

#21 OFFLINE   gabe23

gabe23

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Mar 06, 2007

Posted 27 June 2007 - 08:53 AM

I've never experienced this issue that I know of... this is my setup, see if it works for you. I have the HR20 set to Native and I have a Sony 60XBR2 SXRD. For channels that show letterboxed programming like you're describing, by default, the TV stretches the video, which "squishes" the image. Set the TV to Zoom and the letterboxes disappear and the video is in the correct aspect ratio... and the full "live" area is displayed on the TV. This is the way it's meant to be shown by the network - 16:9 full screen. (Granted, blurry from the zoom, however.) Yes, parts of the status bar are clipped off-screen, but that's due to the fact that the HR20 displays the status bar BELOW the "live" area of the broadcast, the the "dead" letterbox zone... which I honestly really can't fault DirecTV over, since it's also in the correct area for HD programming.


Since you're not using the HR20 to crop the screen, I wouldn't expect you to have seen the issue. As I mentioned in my original post, I'm aware of the workaround that you're referring to, and that's the setup that I'm currently forced to use with my SXRD. But losing the progress bar is a pretty big deal when you're watching recorded content. Plus, this method forces me to keep my Sony remote around to change the Zoom setting, since I don't want to Zoom/Crop standard 4:3 programming. I'd much rather be able to control everything from one remote.

Basically, I just want the thing to work the way it's supposed to, and I'm having a hard time understanding why this continues to be an issue. There are numerous other HD devices out there that allow you to crop/zoom the screen, and it seems to be a pretty straightforward thing.

#22 OFFLINE   burnt_soul

burnt_soul

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 27 June 2007 - 09:37 AM

I have an HR20-700, connected to a 4:3 RCA MM52100. The crop mode seems to work perfectly.

I also have an HR20-100, connected to a 16:9 Sony GWIII. The crop mode is completely busted. When I enter crop mode, the screen goes haywire for a few seconds, switching between proper vertical stretching, and double-stretching. When it finally stops jumping (several seconds later), it always ends up double-stretched.

This bug is extremely annoying.

#23 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 27 June 2007 - 07:14 PM

Help me out here...

Is this the same thing PoitNarf pulled the screen shot of here:
http://www.dbstalk.c...rop stretch bug

Or is this something different?

If different... a Picture speeks a thousand words with this one.
Any particular channel or show that does it more often then another?
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#24 OFFLINE   mtnagel

mtnagel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,015 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 27 June 2007 - 08:12 PM

Help me out here...

Is this the same thing PoitNarf pulled the screen shot of here:
http://www.dbstalk.c...rop stretch bug

Or is this something different?

If different... a Picture speeks a thousand words with this one.
Any particular channel or show that does it more often then another?

Yep, same thing. It's been happening for WAY too long.

ETA: In fact, here's a thread I started about it back in Nov 06.
- Matt

#25 OFFLINE   burnt_soul

burnt_soul

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 27 June 2007 - 08:15 PM

Earl, this does indeed look like the same bug. In the video clip, it switches between correct vertical stretching, and "double" vertical stretching, only once or twice, and ends up half the time on the correct vertical stretching. Mine switches 4 or 6 times sometimes, and always (without fail) ends up with double stretching.

I have seen this on:
- SciFi: Stargate: SG1, Stargate: Atlantis
- History channel: Ice Road Truckers
- Science channel: The Universe
- PBS (local channel): Motorweek

That's just the ones I watch regularly.

BTW, I also noticed, if I pause the show, then switch to Crop format, the picture will be offset to the bottom of the screen rather than centered. When I then press play, it will do its dance (switching between correct & double stretching a few times) and end up double-stretched, but centered.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...