Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Are you turning your HR20 "off"?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
74 replies to this topic

Poll: Are you turning your HR20 "off"? (391 member(s) have cast votes)

Are you turning your HR20 "off"?

  1. Yes; everytime I turn my TV off, I turn my HR20 "off". (274 votes [70.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 70.08%

  2. Voted No; when I turn my TV off, I leave my HR20 "on". (93 votes [23.79%])

    Percentage of vote: 23.79%

  3. Sometimes; I don't always turn my HR20 "off", but do sometimes. (21 votes [5.37%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.37%

  4. Other (comment below) (3 votes [0.77%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.77%

Vote

#1 OFFLINE   syphix

syphix

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,113 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:15 AM

Are you turning your HR20 "off"?

I'm just curious because I'm not seeing what other's are seeing when they turn on their TV (lockups, grey screens, unresponsive HR20..etc.). I'm wondering if some of the issues we're seeing are related to the HR20 never being turned "off".
Nathan
setup:
- 50" Plasma 1080p HDTV (Samsung PN50A760), 46" LCD 1080p HDTV (Samsung LN-T4665F), 32" LCD 720p HDTV (Insignia). 1 Hopper, 2 Joeys.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,558 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:20 AM

I am having next to no issues and never turn the HR20 off.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#3 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,618 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:21 AM

I have not had a BSOD/BSB after coming out of standby for months. It may be due to the fact that the HR20 now buffers in standby when it did not when first released.

#4 OFFLINE   lwilli201

lwilli201

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,988 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:23 AM

Are you turning your HR20 "off"?

I'm just curious because I'm not seeing what other's are seeing when they turn on their TV (lockups, grey screens, unresponsive HR20..etc.). I'm wondering if some of the issues we're seeing are related to the HR20 never being turned "off".


I can not remember how long it has been since I had those problems. I turn mine off. 3 HR20's, no problem putting them in standby.
1-HR21-100, 2-HR21-700, 1 w/eSATA, all networked, unsupported MRV. AT9 Dish(110 & 119 disabled) and SWM8.

#5 OFFLINE   Hutchinshouse

Hutchinshouse

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,632 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:35 AM

standby used every time I turn my TV off.

#6 OFFLINE   MartyS

MartyS

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,104 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:37 AM

Using my Harmony 880, it gets turned off each time I either turn off the TV, or switch to my cable or direct to my OTA.

Never had a problem turning it off.
Marty

My Setup

Life is in HD and 3D -- be sure to enjoy it!!

Never argue with an idiot.
He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

#7 OFFLINE   cavihitts

cavihitts

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 431 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2007

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:39 AM

TV power off button takes care of them both.

#8 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,664 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:40 AM

Always go into standby when I turn the TV off.
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#9 OFFLINE   stogie5150

stogie5150

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 343 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:40 AM

Yes.
Equipment:
Azbox Elite HD FTA receiver, 12 foot Paraclipse C/Ku-band dish.
Vantage 1100s HD FTA Receiver, 8.5 foot Birdview C/Ku dish.
Scanning the skies for FREE TV is my game. :-)

#10 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,986 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:48 AM

Family and I always hit "off" on all three HR20's. Turns off TV & HR20.

True goal is to hit "off" to turn off the TV and the effect is that the HR20 also turns off (which is fine).

Would love if it also turned off the home theater receiver (like the TiVo remote) but have learned to live with it and turn off the receiver separately.

#11 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:49 AM

I turn my 3 off once in a while.

#12 OFFLINE   HDTVsportsfan

HDTVsportsfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,746 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 23 June 2007 - 09:57 AM

Always go into standby when I turn the TV off.


Same here.
DBSTalk Chat Room Mod (I reserve the right to be wrong.)

AT9 to SWM16
LR: HR24-100 to Panasonic 50" w/ Sony HTIB/FR: HR20-700 to Samsung LN55B640
Office: HR34-700 to Panasonic 50" w/ HD-A2
Office: H21-200 to 36" SD TV/BR: HR21-200 to Samsung 32" LCD
My full setup in Visio: http://www.dbstalk.c...8&postcount=105

#13 OFFLINE   wakajawaka

wakajawaka

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 420 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 10:18 AM

Always turn mine off, never had a problem.

#14 OFFLINE   VeniceDre

VeniceDre

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,313 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 10:21 AM

1 stays on all the time... The other 2 I turn on/off.

Not having any problems with grey/black screens or lockups.

#15 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 23 June 2007 - 10:37 AM

1 stays on all the time... The other 2 I turn on/off.

Not having any problems with grey/black screens or lockups.


Same here. One stays on all the time, one "off" at night. The very occasional black screen/lockups have been seen on each, unrelated to the on/off choice.

This wasn't always true -- months back, coming out of standby did seem to be related to issues with the unit.

#16 ONLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,558 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 10:44 AM

I got a question...why are those who are turning it off doing so? I see no value to it and can only see something getting out of sync (TV on, DVR off) if something gets in the way of the remote, etc.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#17 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 23 June 2007 - 10:52 AM

No reason to turn it "off" so why do it? I don't.

#18 OFFLINE   pdawg17

pdawg17

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,488 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 10:56 AM

I was just going to ask the same question...why turn it off? I was very surprised to look at the poll and see so many more people turning it off than leaving it on...I've never had a black screen, etc and I always leave it on...

#19 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,867 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 23 June 2007 - 10:59 AM

Very few issues, never turn it off. (HR20)....or more accurately, never put it in "standby".

...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995


#20 OFFLINE   weaver6

weaver6

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 563 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2005

Posted 23 June 2007 - 11:46 AM

I was just going to ask the same question...why turn it off? I was very surprised to look at the poll and see so many more people turning it off than leaving it on...I've never had a black screen, etc and I always leave it on...


I can't speak for anyone else, but I'm lazy. The remote off button turns off the TV and puts the HR20 in standby. I don't feel like trying to reprorgram it to leave the HR20 on.

Mark




Protected By... spam firewall...And...