Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HBO May Mandate Bitrate


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   UPEngineer

UPEngineer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 191 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2004

Posted 24 June 2007 - 04:10 AM

Sorry if this has already been posted but I didn't see anything on it.

According to the article, all 26 HBO channels will be broadcast in MPEG-4 and encoded at 8 Mbps and may mandate that provider not compress the signal any further.

Here is the link:

http://telecompetitor.com/node/184

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   CoachGibbs

CoachGibbs

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 271 posts
Joined: May 23, 2007

Posted 24 June 2007 - 04:37 AM

Good, I wish all HD channels would mandate bitrate. Hopefully they mandate resolution as well.

#3 OFFLINE   Nick

Nick

    Keep going - don't give up!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,278 posts
  • LocationThe Beautiful Golden Isles of Coastal Georgia
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 24 June 2007 - 05:44 AM

Mods: Please move this thread to the HD Programming forum.

Thanks

Edit: Never mind.

.


~ 12 Year Anniversary ~
Charter Gold Club Member
DBSTalk Club ~ 21k Club
Top 10 Poster

.


#4 OFFLINE   lwilli201

lwilli201

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,988 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2006

Posted 24 June 2007 - 10:01 AM

Could this be why D* will only carry 12 of the 24 announced HBO HD channels?
1-HR21-100, 2-HR21-700, 1 w/eSATA, all networked, unsupported MRV. AT9 Dish(110 & 119 disabled) and SWM8.

#5 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,617 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 24 June 2007 - 10:37 AM

they will carry the HD version of the channels they have now. There have been requests to add the other 15 HBO channels for awhile. There will be than enough bandwidth the additional 15 once both D10 &11 are up

#6 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 June 2007 - 10:40 AM

they will carry the HD version of the channels they have now. There have been requests to add the other 15 HBO channels for awhile. There will be than enough bandwidth the additional 15 once both D10 &11 are up

Once they are able to dump the MPEG2 HD channels, they'll have enough room to add the rest of the SD HBOs that they don't carry now. Once/if they do that, I'm sure the HD versions will follow.

#7 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,617 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 24 June 2007 - 10:57 AM

Once they are able to dump the MPEG2 HD channels, they'll have enough room to add the rest of the SD HBOs that they don't carry now. Once/if they do that, I'm sure the HD versions will follow.


+1

#8 OFFLINE   lwilli201

lwilli201

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,988 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2006

Posted 24 June 2007 - 11:51 AM

Could this be why D* will only carry 12 of the 24 announced HBO HD channels?


To expand on what I said. The mandated bitrate may be why D* will only carry 12 HBO HD channels in the near term because of available bandwidth on D10 national transponders. At a lesser bandwidth, D* might have been able to put all 24 on D10. Total speculation, but could be the reason.
1-HR21-100, 2-HR21-700, 1 w/eSATA, all networked, unsupported MRV. AT9 Dish(110 & 119 disabled) and SWM8.

#9 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 June 2007 - 11:54 AM

The mandated bitrate may be why D* will only carry 12 HBO HD channels in the near term because of available bandwidth on D10 national transponders. At a lesser bandwidth, D* might have been able to put all 24 on D10. Total speculation, but could be the reason.

The real reason has already been posted. They're not going to carry the HD version if they don't carry the SD version.

#10 OFFLINE   paulman182

paulman182

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,835 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2006

Posted 25 June 2007 - 06:40 AM

The real reason has already been posted. They're not going to carry the HD version if they don't carry the SD version.


That's not a reason.

Equipment includes a buncha stuff that I no longer have interest in detailing


#11 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,826 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 25 June 2007 - 06:47 AM

Sure it is, its just not an acceptable reason! :)


Actually, I think it is unlikely that DirecTV will carry all 26 channels. After all, the HD bandwidth is not unlimited. There is only enough room for 150 channels. It seems to me to be unlikely that DirecTV will dedicate 20% of that capacity to just one provider's suite of channels.

#12 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,546 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 25 June 2007 - 10:38 AM

Titan has hit the head of the nail with a hammer.

I hope D* doesn't go hog wild thinking they have unlimited bandwidth. They don't.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#13 OFFLINE   GeorgeLV

GeorgeLV

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 359 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2005

Posted 25 June 2007 - 10:51 AM

Once they are able to dump the MPEG2 HD channels, they'll have enough room to add the rest of the SD HBOs that they don't carry now. Once/if they do that, I'm sure the HD versions will follow.


HBO Comedy has been one of the most requested channels for a while and DirecTV's two channel Cinemax package is a joke. We know DirecTV is adding more channels from the Starz multiplex, so hopefully HBO/Cinemax will get the same treatment.

#14 OFFLINE   tkrandall

tkrandall

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,795 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2003

Posted 26 June 2007 - 03:05 PM

Just curious, in general what does an 8Mbps rate using MPEG-4 equate to if it were an MPEG-2 stream of equal quality? i.e. How many Mbps would that be for MPEG-2?

I ask in the context of OTA broadcasts (ATSC) using MPEG-2 which I believe allows a rate of up to about 19 Mbps over the assigned 6MHz bandwith. In general these OTA signals are a better picture than what I have seen via D* and E*.

OTA quailty varies from station to station, but here in the Atlanta area, I would have to say channels 2 (WSB, 720P) and 46 (WGCL, 1080i) appear the best, as they are not co-broadcasting in 480i like channels 5 (WAGA) and 11 (WXIA), and you can see the difference.

#15 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 26 June 2007 - 03:16 PM

Just curious, in general what does an 8Mbps rate using MPEG-4 equate to if it were an MPEG-2 stream of equal quality? i.e. How many Mbps would that be for MPEG-2?

I'd say it's somewhere around 14-16Mbps.

#16 OFFLINE   brittonx

brittonx

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 414 posts
Joined: Dec 25, 2006

Posted 26 June 2007 - 10:08 PM

All I know is I salute HBO for the mandate. I am really tired of seeing blocky "hi-def" programming because the data stream is overly compressed.

Lets all hope that other content providers mandate similar quality levels!!!
1-HR20-700 w/1TB Seagate HDD, 1-H21-200, 2-H20-100, 1-H20-600
Slimline Dish via WB68 multiswitch.
Primary display: 52" Sony Bravia 1080p to HR20-700 via HDMI
Second display: 42" Emerson Plasma to H21-200 via HDMI
Media Server Windows 7 Ultimate
HR20 & H21 wired to Netgear Gigabit Switch via Cat 5e cables.


#17 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 26 June 2007 - 10:43 PM

All I know is I salute HBO for the mandate.

Nothing is definite yet. We'll see if this mandate can survive the inevitable crying from the providers.

#18 OFFLINE   ajwillys

ajwillys

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 314 posts
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 27 June 2007 - 12:23 PM

While I love to see higher quality HD channels, I have to play devils advocate here. Wouldn't this result in less HD channels for all the sat and cable companies that don't have the bandwidth for such a mandate. Those companies have to decide either to not carry HBO because they do not have the bandwidth for their mandate or to drop some other HD channel to free up enough bandwidth for that pristine HBO HD. Would you rather have lots of channels in mediocre HD or a few channels in pristine HD?

Now imagine that your favorite HD channel is the one that gets cut because we know it ain't gonna be HBO that gets cut.
AT9->WB68->HR20 and (2) R15's
Networked, HR20 Audio->Optical Digital->Pioneer VSX-D812K, HR20 Video->6' HDMI->Sony KDS-50A2000
R15's->Composite->TV's not worth mentioning

#19 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,857 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 June 2007 - 12:35 PM

Your proposal totally controversial and works in favor to the providers - increase profit. Would be nice if you will be on our side - customers.

Think if your ideas will be applied to milk or whiskey manufacturing. :(

#20 OFFLINE   ITrot

ITrot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 320 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2006

Posted 27 June 2007 - 04:35 PM

Sure it is, its just not an acceptable reason! :)


Actually, I think it is unlikely that DirecTV will carry all 26 channels. After all, the HD bandwidth is not unlimited. There is only enough room for 150 channels. It seems to me to be unlikely that DirecTV will dedicate 20% of that capacity to just one provider's suite of channels.



Does that 150 national HD channels include the D11 sat or is that strictly for local HD?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...