Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Message from DirecTv


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   johnck78

johnck78

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 457 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 27 June 2007 - 08:21 PM

I got a voicemail from a D* Rep about losing all my HD Content if I do not have my BBCs on by September 1. Seems strange so I thought I'd post it and see what you all thought.

Listen to the VM here: http://members.cox.n...wav/message.wav
Full Diagram of My Setup

Be a DBSTalk Club Member for $15 Support DBSTalk.com


Twitter: @JohnCK78

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   cavihitts

cavihitts

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 431 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2007

Posted 27 June 2007 - 08:23 PM

Yep. Many people are getting those calls.

#3 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,958 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 27 June 2007 - 08:25 PM

See this thread: New equipment by Sept. 1st?

#4 OFFLINE   johnck78

johnck78

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 457 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 27 June 2007 - 08:26 PM

So they will move all the MPEG-4s to the new Sat right away?
Full Diagram of My Setup

Be a DBSTalk Club Member for $15 Support DBSTalk.com


Twitter: @JohnCK78

#5 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 27 June 2007 - 08:34 PM

So they will move all the MPEG-4s to the new Sat right away?


Any HD that gets added will be on the new sat and the RSNs will also move to the new sat so they can go on the CONUS beams. Locals will stay where they are on the spotbeams.

#6 OFFLINE   premio

premio

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 395 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 27 June 2007 - 09:02 PM

Will you actually need the BBC though at this point?
<!---
It's Comcastic!
--->

#7 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 27 June 2007 - 09:09 PM

Will you actually need the BBC though at this point?


Today? No...
September... yes..

They are simply attempting to get everyone upto date, during these next 2 months...
So you don't have to wait for any type of backlog, or shortages in September
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#8 OFFLINE   forecheck

forecheck

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 161 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2002

Posted 28 June 2007 - 10:11 AM

The message says you need the B-Band on "all high definition equipment", but I assume that doesn't include the HD-Tivo? I know it will never get the new channels, but this recording makes it sound like it will lose the current HD channels without a B-Band connected.

#9 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 28 June 2007 - 10:56 AM

The message says you need the B-Band on "all high definition equipment", but I assume that doesn't include the HD-Tivo? I know it will never get the new channels, but this recording makes it sound like it will lose the current HD channels without a B-Band connected.


You only need them for the HR20 and H20.

#10 OFFLINE   Dolly

Dolly

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 2,179 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 28 June 2007 - 12:56 PM

What does B-Band mean :confused:

#11 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 28 June 2007 - 12:58 PM

What does B-Band mean :confused:


BBC=Broad Band Converter. They are the little gray boxes you connect in between the SAT line and the HR20/H20. They will allow you to receive the new MPEG4 HD channels when they launch.

#12 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,664 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 28 June 2007 - 01:28 PM

That voicemail is not quite correct. The MPEG2 content will not require BBCs nor is the September 1 date likely to be firm.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#13 OFFLINE   Newshawk

Newshawk

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,427 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2004

Posted 28 June 2007 - 02:39 PM

Actually, "B-Band" means just that! Ka signals are in two bands. Tha A Band is 1650-2150 MHz, and the B Band is 250-750 MHz, but the receiver can't go that low, so the BBC frequency shifts the 250-750 MHz band up to the 1650-2150 MHz band. Tha B Band is in the UHF TV band, so that is why you cannot diplex the UHF signal with the Ka/Ku signal.

DIRECTV employee April 2004-November 2012.
The above comments are my own because I don't know if anyone would care about my opinions anymore.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...