Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

H20 HDMI question


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
32 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SubaruWRX

SubaruWRX

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 132 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 30 June 2007 - 08:09 PM

Can you use S-video and the HDMI output at the same time?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,400 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 30 June 2007 - 08:11 PM

All outputs are active at the same time.

#3 OFFLINE   SubaruWRX

SubaruWRX

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 132 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 30 June 2007 - 08:15 PM

All outputs are active at the same time.


Great!

Anything I should know about the box? it seems to still have issues? I just placed an order for the H20 box without the DVR

#4 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,263 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 30 June 2007 - 08:19 PM

Great!

Anything I should know about the box? it seems to still have issues? I just placed an order for the H20 box without the DVR


Yeah, skip the H20 and go for the gusto. Get an HR20 :)

Beyond that, I can't think of anything. The recent software releases are looking very good.

Cheers,
Tom

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


#5 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,095 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 30 June 2007 - 08:19 PM

If you get the H20-600 version it tends to run a tad warm (read hot) so make sure you keep it in a well ventilated space and nothing placed on top of it.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#6 OFFLINE   SubaruWRX

SubaruWRX

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 132 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 30 June 2007 - 08:43 PM

Yeah, skip the H20 and go for the gusto. Get an HR20 :)

Beyond that, I can't think of anything. The recent software releases are looking very good.

Cheers,
Tom


Hmm I wonder if I should of picked the HR20 instead of the H20 :( Is the Ethernet port on the back of the box used to talk to Direct TV?

I guess it's too late now to switch?

#7 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,263 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 30 June 2007 - 09:23 PM

Hmm I wonder if I should of picked the HR20 instead of the H20 :( Is the Ethernet port on the back of the box used to talk to Direct TV?

I guess it's too late now to switch?

Never too late to switch, costs adjust slightly, but never too late. :)

The ethernet jack on the HR20 is for Music&Photos today and VOD very soon.

Perhaps other features un-announced as well.

Cheers,
Tom

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


#8 OFFLINE   SubaruWRX

SubaruWRX

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 132 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 30 June 2007 - 09:34 PM

Never too late to switch, costs adjust slightly, but never too late. :)

The ethernet jack on the HR20 is for Music&Photos today and VOD very soon.

Perhaps other features un-announced as well.

Cheers,
Tom



lol sweet I just noticed something the day I have the installer come out and get my HD box is the day DirectTV is having the DirecTV 10 sat launched :D I might see if I can change it now but if it's going to be a hassle I wont bother.

I take it I will get the streamline 5LNB dish?

#9 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 30 June 2007 - 10:38 PM

I take it I will get the streamline 5LNB dish?

You might only get the "slimline".
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   SubaruWRX

SubaruWRX

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 132 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 01 July 2007 - 06:08 PM

You might only get the "slimline".


hmm and the boxes do they ship with the very newest software on them?

#11 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 01 July 2007 - 06:10 PM

hmm and the boxes do they ship with the very newest software on them?


I don't believe any of them do. But after running for about 10 to 15 minutes it should reset on it's own and download the new software.

#12 OFFLINE   SubaruWRX

SubaruWRX

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 132 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 01 July 2007 - 06:24 PM

ah ok and do I have to go in a sub-menu to find if it updated or not?

#13 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 01 July 2007 - 06:25 PM

ah ok and do I have to go in a sub-menu to find if it updated or not?


Just let it run and it will take care of everything by it's self.

#14 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 July 2007 - 07:49 PM

I don't believe any of them do. But after running for about 10 to 15 minutes it should reset on it's own and download the new software.

+1
"Before you know it", you'll have the latest national release, which may still be last summer's update.
A.K.A VOS

#15 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 01 July 2007 - 07:51 PM

+1
"Before you know it", you'll have the latest national release, which may still be last summer's update.


As of this point it is still the one from last June.

#16 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 July 2007 - 08:12 PM

As of this point it is still the one from last June.

Well, my -100 has software from 9/7, so there....:lol:
A.K.A VOS

#17 OFFLINE   SubaruWRX

SubaruWRX

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 132 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 01 July 2007 - 08:30 PM

lol well I ok we will see how it goes.. but I think I just will make it with the slimline.. if I'm correct the slimline needs a wider view of the sky and inputting my zip code on the site it says

Elevation: 35.0
Azimuth: 232.0

#18 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 July 2007 - 08:59 PM

if I'm correct the slimline needs a wider view of the sky and inputting my zip code on the site it says

Elevation: 35.0
Azimuth: 232.0

"Wider" needs to be referenced to something [that is narrower]. The SATs are in the same place so it really comes down to how many of them you have with your current dish.
The Phase III looks at 101, 110, & 119, while the 5 LNB dish needs to look 2 more degrees east to the 99 SAT. Now if you have a single LNB dish, yes the new dish will need to see a significantly wider view of the sky.
A.K.A VOS

#19 OFFLINE   SubaruWRX

SubaruWRX

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 132 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 01 July 2007 - 10:06 PM

I'm pretty sure it was here (I thought I saved the picture to my computer) something took a picture of the slimline's LNB's and text labeled them for which one did what.

#20 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 July 2007 - 10:19 PM

I'm pretty sure it was here (I thought I saved the picture to my computer) something took a picture of the slimline's LNB's and text labeled them for which one did what.

without a picture: the center LNB is a combo [99, 101, 103] the first one "off center" is for the 110 & the farthest from center is the 119.
Does this help?
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...