Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

100 HD channels coming in Fall??


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
25 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   C*Tedesco

C*Tedesco

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2004

Posted 05 July 2007 - 07:07 PM

I got a message from Direct TV today mentioning that in the fall they will be releasing some 100 new HD channels. To make sure that my box is compatable, they told me to go to channel 499. This channel will than test your box to see if anything needs to be done to receive the new channels.

So, this was weird. I haven't seen anything on the forums about this, unless I just couldn't find it. Any idea what channels will be included???

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   K1A

K1A

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: May 16, 2007

Posted 05 July 2007 - 09:10 PM

The call was to make sure u had the Broadband Converter(s) (BBC) in the back of your receiver. if u do your fine, if not, find the one that was for ur receiver or call directv for one and they'll send u one free. the channels will come on mostly in september after the launch of D10, which will launch tomorrow btw

the link for the channels are here:
http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=87235

#3 OFFLINE   lowe41

lowe41

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2006

Posted 07 July 2007 - 10:11 AM

I put it on 499 and got the searching for signal message. I guess that is what you are supposed to get if you have the B-band converter?

I am sure it has been mentioned here already, but where is that sat going to be? 99 degrees? or somewhere else? Just curious.

#4 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 07 July 2007 - 10:40 AM

I put it on 499 and got the searching for signal message. I guess that is what you are supposed to get if you have the B-band converter?

I am sure it has been mentioned here already, but where is that sat going to be? 99 degrees? or somewhere else? Just curious.


Yes you are suppose to be getting a searching for signal if the BBC is connected and working.

D10 will be at the 103 spot with the SAT that is already there and D11 the SAT that is going up early next year will be at 99 with the SAT that is already there.

#5 OFFLINE   lowe41

lowe41

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 10:08 AM

Thanks for the info BMore Ravens. I was hoping that was the case.

The Ravens should be pretty good this year, I am a Fins fan. We have a little ways to go.

#6 OFFLINE   jackpot

jackpot

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2007

Posted 08 July 2007 - 04:33 PM

what happens i have the bbc is conected. i then went to ch. 499 and have a blank screen?

#7 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 04:35 PM

what happens i have the bbc is conected. i then went to ch. 499 and have a blank screen?


If the BBC's are connected and working you should get a searching for signal. If not you need to call DIRECTV and have them send you new ones.

#8 OFFLINE   EaglePC

EaglePC

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 745 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2007

Posted 09 July 2007 - 09:35 AM

Ch 499 IC SEarching for a new satellite not search for sat...,i am very serious

#9 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,390 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 09 July 2007 - 09:42 AM

You are good to go.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#10 OFFLINE   C*Tedesco

C*Tedesco

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2004

Posted 11 July 2007 - 06:40 PM

I get a blank screen. I have the BBC, I guess it's not working. :confused:

#11 OFFLINE   DMRI2006

DMRI2006

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 442 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2006

Posted 14 July 2007 - 07:50 PM

I get a blank screen. I have the BBC, I guess it's not working. :confused:


Same here. I have it hooked up properly and just get a blank screen also.

#12 OFFLINE   Smthkd

Smthkd

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 925 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2004

Posted 14 July 2007 - 07:54 PM

You will get a blank screen with some models, D* will update the software later to correct this.

#13 OFFLINE   DMRI2006

DMRI2006

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 442 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2006

Posted 14 July 2007 - 07:58 PM

You will get a blank screen with some models, D* will update the software later to correct this.


Thanks, that makes sense. I have the older software on my H20, so I assume it's nothing to worry about right now anyway :)

#14 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 14 July 2007 - 08:26 PM

I haven't seen anything on the forums about this, unless I just couldn't find it. Any idea what channels will be included???

I don't know how you could miss it, it's been one of the most talked about things around here for quite a while. Here's a list of the channels: http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=87235

#15 OFFLINE   carmangary

carmangary

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 82 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 14 July 2007 - 08:55 PM

I am sure a lot of people will pay for them, too.

#16 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 14 July 2007 - 08:59 PM

I am sure a lot of people will pay for them, too.

The HD channels?

#17 OFFLINE   zooky

zooky

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2007

Posted 15 July 2007 - 08:03 AM

The HD channels?


I *think* it's a question of which ones will be "premium" channels (ya gotta pay extra for those) and which ones (if any) will come with today's entry level HD package. There are some of us (like me) that can't afford ANY "premium" channels so I don't get toooooooo excited about the prospect of D* offering 100 more HD channels. They're moot to me if I have to pay extra for them.

#18 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 15 July 2007 - 09:57 AM

I *think* it's a question of which ones will be "premium" channels (ya gotta pay extra for those) and which ones (if any) will come with today's entry level HD package.

The premium channels will be the ones that are premium today. HBO, Showtime, Starz, and Cinemax. For the rest of the channels, if you get the SD version in your base package, you'll get the HD version too. No extra cost.

#19 OFFLINE   carmangary

carmangary

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 82 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 15 July 2007 - 08:36 PM

I don't/won't pay for HD channels. I'll just suffer with the SD ones until they get rid of them and all there is to see is HD channels. I have a feeling that will be a long time from now.

#20 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 15 July 2007 - 08:50 PM

I don't/won't pay for HD channels.

Do you have an HDTV?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...