Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

My first DVR; Question #1 of Many I'm Sure


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   5678YN

5678YN

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 06 July 2007 - 09:02 PM

I have both OTA and locals in HD on my new HD20-100S. All is fine with both but how do I delete D* channels I don't need??? On some channels I have D* SD, D* HD, and OTA HD. I figured out how to delete the OTA I don't want or that don't have enought signal strength but how can I delete the D* SD channels I obviously do not need. Can't find it in the manual.

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,906 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 06 July 2007 - 09:05 PM

Menu> Favorites> Edit Settings> Highlight the favorites list you want to edit (there are two)

Select the channels you want or don't want.

Welcome to the HR20!
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,297 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 07 July 2007 - 12:13 AM

Menu> Favorites> Edit Settings> Highlight the favorites list you want to edit (there are two)

Select the channels you want or don't want.

Welcome to the HR20!

They still show up in unfortunate places though. Like searches.

Ideally it would be possible to kill channels off completely, as though one didn't receive them.
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#4 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,711 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 07 July 2007 - 01:18 AM

Be sure to check out the excellent "Tricks & Tips" document here ....
http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=72648
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#5 OFFLINE   DonCorleone

DonCorleone

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 869 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 02:39 PM

but how can I delete the D* SD channels I obviously do not need.


Well, you might actually want them, believe it or not. Not every program is broadcast in HD. So, when an SD show is on, it can be better to watch it on the SD channel instead of the HD b/c the HD channel will show the black bars and the SD channell won't.
DirecTV since 2001, NFLST, EI, and as of 2/8/07, new AU-9 with 2 HR20-700S (1 HDMI, 1 component/RCA), 6X8 multiswitch, and Samsung LNS3252D 32" LCD...eSata Seagate 750GB...12/30/07 new HR20-700S component connected to Phillips 42PFL5332D 42" LCD and HDMI to a little 20" Dynex LCD

#6 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,700 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 03:01 PM

I have never seen a better picture on an SD channel over an HD channel unless the channel does stretch-o-vision like TNT. Ths picture will always be better on the HD channel even if it is still SD source.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#7 OFFLINE   OrlandoJoe

OrlandoJoe

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 82 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 03:10 PM

I have never seen a better picture on an SD channel over an HD channel unless the channel does stretch-o-vision like TNT. Ths picture will always be better on the HD channel even if it is still SD source.


But why use up twice the disk storage to get the same result? If you record the SD channel, you can record way more programing before filling up. Not that there is that much worth watching at this time of year....

#8 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,700 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 04:28 PM

But why use up twice the disk storage to get the same result? If you record the SD channel, you can record way more programing before filling up. Not that there is that much worth watching at this time of year....


Because it is NOT the same result. SD over an HD channel still is a better picture than SD.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#9 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 09 July 2007 - 04:35 PM

You wont get the same result even if the video looks the same. Dont forget the audio will be DD, might not be 5.1, but every case I have seen the DD audio blows away the crappy mp3 audio on the SD channels. If you dont care about audio, knock yourself out, but just remember that even a 4:3 pillarboxed HD broadcast will have better sound. Very important for those of us with decent HT setups.

#10 OFFLINE   rminsk

rminsk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 205 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 06:29 PM

To answer the OPs original question is that you can not at this time. DirecTV still has not implemented the Channels I Receive list which limits what channels it will record and search. It is not clear when they implement Channel I Receive if it will be user editable.

#11 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,700 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 07:35 PM

To answer the OPs original question is that you can not at this time. DirecTV still has not implemented the Channels I Receive list which limits what channels it will record and search. It is not clear when they implement Channel I Receive if it will be user editable.


The intent is for it to not be. That is why it is messed up. If so, they would do that already.

I still want a search option to limit my searches and autorecords to favorites.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#12 OFFLINE   rminsk

rminsk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 205 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2006

Posted 10 July 2007 - 01:44 AM

The intent is for it to not be. That is why it is messed up. If so, they would do that already.

If that is the case then when they implement Channel I Receive it will only be slightly less useless than what we have now... absolutely nothing.:nono2:




Protected By... spam firewall...And...