Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Bad Modem on HR20-100


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Sander

Sander

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 436 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2007

Posted 07 July 2007 - 02:27 PM

This morning I discovered all my phones were dead. After some troubleshooting and calling the phone company, I discovered my HR20-100 had tried to phone home last evening but failed to disconnect properly and thus left my phone line open. I reset the line by simply unplugging the phone line and re-inserting it.

However, an hour or so later, I found my phones dead again. Same problem.

I called DirecTV and a great CSR (Kathy) arranged to send me a free replacement HR20. We had a great conversation ranging from needed improvements in the HR20 software to the Direct10 launch last night to the future of HD programming. :)

Aside from having to lose all my movies when the new unit arrives, I am very pleased with how helpful she was.

QUESTION: Anyone else experienced such a problem with the modem?

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,570 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 07 July 2007 - 04:08 PM

Modems seem to be pretty reliable in the HR20 DVRs. Problems like this sometime occur when the phone cord is accidentally connected to the HR20's Ethernet jack instead of its phone jack.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   Sander

Sander

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 436 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2007

Posted 07 July 2007 - 07:51 PM

Modems seem to be pretty reliable in the HR20 DVRs. Problems like this sometime occur when the phone cord is accidentally connected to the HR20's Ethernet jack instead of its phone jack.


Not in this case. The Ethernet port is connected to my wireless game adapter. Besides, the Ethernet jack is RJ45 and the telephone jack is RJ11. The HR20 had connected successfully on June 19, so it was working then. Hmmmm. I wonder if this is a bug in the new 0168 release. I believe on June 19, I was still using 0x015.

#4 OFFLINE   Ken S

Ken S

    RIP

  • Registered
  • 6,201 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2007

Posted 07 July 2007 - 08:05 PM

Do a modem test and see what happens...I'm pretty sure that picks up the line, listens for tone and hangs up. If it hangs on that ya got yourself a problem.

If you really want to make sure it's not something else...make sure nothing else is on that line at the time...like a DSL modem or security system.

#5 OFFLINE   dtv757

dtv757

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 757 posts
  • Location757
Joined: Jun 03, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 01:31 PM

I am having the same problem with my HR20-100, When i connect it to my HR 20-100 to my POTS and then pick up the phone i get static and no dial tone, but then when i unplug my HR20 my POTS works fine.

whats strange is that it was working fine a few days ago, but i guess my HR20-100 had the same issue trying to "phone home" http://www.dbstalk.c...splay.php?f=112

DIRECTV customer since SEPT 2000 (1) Genie (2) Genie Mini's (1) HR22-100 (1) HR23-700 all networked, total 10 live tunners!!-------------
SAYING NO TO CABLE .. PRICELESS
There’s good TV there’s better TV and than there’s DIRECTV (the undisputed sports & HD leader in TV)
NOTE: my comments are my own personal options and in no way shape or form represent my employer





spam firewall