Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20 is connected to internet but can't be seen


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
30 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   cajunrc

cajunrc

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 10:29 AM

I have the internet connection set up and tested, all is ok. I cannot see it on my computer network nor any music or pics on my menu of the HR20. I tried all of the helpful hints in this forum with no luck. In WMP11 file sharing no devices are listed.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   lwilli201

lwilli201

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,098 posts
  • LocationMissouri
Joined: Dec 22, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 12:05 PM

I have the internet connection set up and tested, all is ok. I cannot see it on my computer network nor any music or pics on my menu of the HR20. I tried all of the helpful hints in this forum with no luck. In WMP11 file sharing no devices are listed.


Not sure why that happens. I have 2 computers that see the HR20 as an unidentified device. Another computer will not see it. I have tried maching all the security settings the same to no avail. The problem, I believe is not with the HR20 since yours test out ok on connection. All my computers using WMP11 and XP.

1-HR24-100
1-HR21-100
2-HR21-700
H21-100
SWM16

Wired network, unsupported MRV. AT9 Dish(110 & 119 disabled)


#3 OFFLINE   mx6bfast

mx6bfast

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationDelray Beach, FL
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 12:21 PM

Have you rebooted your HR20?

#4 OFFLINE   cajunrc

cajunrc

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 01:57 PM

I Have rebooted the HR20 several times, both from the menu and the rbr

#5 OFFLINE   cajunrc

cajunrc

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 02:00 PM

I also cannot see the HR20 from a wireless laptop on the same lan using wmp11.

I just downloade and installed tversity and it does not work either.

#6 OFFLINE   LR308er

LR308er

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 310 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2007

Posted 08 July 2007 - 02:49 PM

Can you see the HR20 as a DHCP client on your router?
Have you disabled any firewalls that may be blocking access?
Have you compared the IP settings on the HR20 to those on the rest of the network to be sure that subnet mask, DNS, and default gateway are the same, and the IP's are in the same range?
Favorite Quotes:
"Don't fry bacon naked" - Janet Campbell (circa 1995)
"My head do stink" - Tommy Early (2003)
"Ya'll ain't got no more money?!" - Exotic Dancer (2004)

#7 OFFLINE   cajunrc

cajunrc

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 03:48 PM

Can you see the HR20 as a DHCP client on your router?
Have you disabled any firewalls that may be blocking access?
Have you compared the IP settings on the HR20 to those on the rest of the network to be sure that subnet mask, DNS, and default gateway are the same, and the IP's are in the same range?


Yes to all of the above. I have checked all area's, the HR20 internet connection tests good and still can't see it on the network.

#8 OFFLINE   cajunrc

cajunrc

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 03:53 PM

I am using a Buffalo WLI=TX4-G54HP ethernet converter on the HR20 and can log into it from my browser. I just can't see it on the network. It is in the client list on my router.

#9 OFFLINE   shendley

shendley

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,751 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2005

Posted 08 July 2007 - 06:16 PM

I just finally set up Media Sharing today and had one computer that had trouble seeing the HR20. My daughter (who knows more about computers than I do!) and I had to change the firewall settings in a couple of ways to get it to be seen: 1) clicked "allow" on more than just WMP, and 2) lowered the security setting to medium. Perhaps that will work.

AU9, SWM8
Panasonic TH-58PX60U, HDMI to HR44-100, Native, DD, HDMI to Pioneer VSX-1123-k Receiver, Harmony One, Networked with Ethernet Cable, 35/4 Mbps DSL.
Panasonic TH-42PD50U, Component to HR 24-100, Antec MX-1 w. WD10EVDS ESata, Native, DD, DTV Remote.
Panasonic TC-L32X2, HDMI to C41-100, DTV Remote.
Whole Home.


#10 OFFLINE   LR308er

LR308er

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 310 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2007

Posted 08 July 2007 - 07:45 PM

You won't see the HR20 in Network Neighborhood, if that's what you're trying.

If you've got Internet and LAN on the HR20, then you've got a problem with the PC.
Make sure that Media Player 11 is running the "Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service".

Start > Run > type in services.msc and hit Enter.
Scroll down and make sure the service is listed and is started and is set to Automatic.
Favorite Quotes:
"Don't fry bacon naked" - Janet Campbell (circa 1995)
"My head do stink" - Tommy Early (2003)
"Ya'll ain't got no more money?!" - Exotic Dancer (2004)

#11 OFFLINE   ldmth44

ldmth44

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 08:09 PM

I have the internet connection set up and tested, all is ok. I cannot see it on my computer network nor any music or pics on my menu of the HR20. I tried all of the helpful hints in this forum with no luck. In WMP11 file sharing no devices are listed.


Is media sharing enabled in WMP11?

HR20 will come up as an "Unknown Device" in WMP 11 if all is well.
HR20-700 (Optical Audio, HDMI-DVI Adapter)
AT9 5LNB Dish / DB-2 OTA Antenna
Toshiba 32-HF73 CRT/HD 1080i TV
Linksys WRT54G Router / Linksys BEFCMU10 Cable Modem
Dell Inspiron E1705 Notebook w/ Windows Vista Ultimate & Windows Media Center
Sony STR-K740P Home Theater System
XBOX 360 Game Console
Samsung DVD-P231 Player
Motorola DCT 3416 DVR (Comcast)
Harmony 880 Remote


:goodjob:
"Here's to you!"

#12 OFFLINE   cajunrc

cajunrc

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 05:59 AM

Yes, media sharing is enabled in WMP11 but I do not see any devices listed to connect to.

I can log into the Buffalo converter and the ip address is 192.168.1.2, when I look at network settings in the HR20 the ip is 192.168.1.3.

#13 OFFLINE   cajunrc

cajunrc

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 06:17 AM

Find out what IP address is assigned to the HR20 (look in NETWORK in the HR20 setup menu).


In Windows: Start > Run > Ping > fill in the box with the HR20 IP address.


Ping 192.168.1.123 (put the proper IP address in place of the one I supplied)

A DOS window will open and your computer will begin pinging the HR20 (trying to verify that there is a network connection to it).

You should see it responding with a "Reply From line showing the HR20's IP, as well as the latency of the connection. If you can't ping the HR20, you aren't going to get mediaserver to work.


I have tried this before and the request times out.

#14 OFFLINE   cajunrc

cajunrc

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 06:44 AM

Then you have a setup problem. Forget media player...take it out of the equation. Until you get "ping" to talk to your HR20, WMP will NEVER work.

Now you're down to just troubleshooting a network connection.

Have you tried turning your firewall completely OFF?

Recheck the HR20 network connection setup, be ABSOLUTELY certain you have the right values in the setup.

If I had your problem, I would turn my firewall off, verify the IP info, then start pinging. If I still didn't get a response, I would set up for a static ip and try it again.

Can your laptop see all the other machines on your network? Can you ping them?



I turned off the firewall and still cannot ping HR20. Yes I can see other computers on lan and ping them. I can also ping the Buffalo converter.

Going to work now will try again when I get back.

#15 OFFLINE   LR308er

LR308er

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 310 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2007

Posted 09 July 2007 - 06:47 AM

hasan & cajunrc,
The HR20 does not respond to ping requests, so you can ping it all day the results will be the same.

Simplify and solve.

You may want to try bypassing the Buffalo adapter using an ethernet cable. Either get one that's long enough to reach across the floor or temporarily move the HR20 nearer to the router, hardwire it with a cable, and power it up to check it that way.
Obviously, if it connects that way, then the Buffalo has a problem in its configuration.
Favorite Quotes:
"Don't fry bacon naked" - Janet Campbell (circa 1995)
"My head do stink" - Tommy Early (2003)
"Ya'll ain't got no more money?!" - Exotic Dancer (2004)

#16 OFFLINE   LR308er

LR308er

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 310 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2007

Posted 09 July 2007 - 07:00 AM

It's ping results from a network node with the IP of 192.168.1.23.
Now post you router's DHCP client table showing the HR20 having the assigned IP and I'll retract.

Posted Image
Favorite Quotes:
"Don't fry bacon naked" - Janet Campbell (circa 1995)
"My head do stink" - Tommy Early (2003)
"Ya'll ain't got no more money?!" - Exotic Dancer (2004)

#17 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 07:13 AM

You're absolutely right.

I've deleted my prior messages that steered him down the wrong approach.

Now, see if you can help this guy, because he's getting nowhere, slowly.
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#18 OFFLINE   LR308er

LR308er

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 310 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2007

Posted 09 July 2007 - 07:21 AM

I see from your signature that you are running wireless. The ping response may be coming from a wireless adapter.
Favorite Quotes:
"Don't fry bacon naked" - Janet Campbell (circa 1995)
"My head do stink" - Tommy Early (2003)
"Ya'll ain't got no more money?!" - Exotic Dancer (2004)

#19 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 07:35 AM

I see from your signature that you are running wireless. The ping response may be coming from a wireless adapter.


Nope, you were right all along...I had misread my IP chart by one line, or I would have arrived at the same conclusion you did immediately. My bad.:)

I knew I should have double-spaced that chart!
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#20 OFFLINE   mx6bfast

mx6bfast

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationDelray Beach, FL
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 08:08 AM

Yes, media sharing is enabled in WMP11 but I do not see any devices listed to connect to.

I can log into the Buffalo converter and the ip address is 192.168.1.2, when I look at network settings in the HR20 the ip is 192.168.1.3.

Is there anything else at .2? If not then change the HR20 settings to .2 and see if that changes things.

Or maybe just change everything back to the default settings and start all over again.

#21 OFFLINE   LR308er

LR308er

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 310 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2007

Posted 09 July 2007 - 09:31 AM

Is there anything else at .2? If not then change the HR20 settings to .2 and see if that changes things.

Or maybe just change everything back to the default settings and start all over again.



NO :nono2:
The Buffalo ari station is a bridge, joining the wireless network to the wired network. It must have it's own IP address and not be in conflict with any other device on the network.

Assigning the HR20 the .2 address puts it in direct conflict with the air station and guarantees that the system won't work.
Favorite Quotes:
"Don't fry bacon naked" - Janet Campbell (circa 1995)
"My head do stink" - Tommy Early (2003)
"Ya'll ain't got no more money?!" - Exotic Dancer (2004)

#22 OFFLINE   mx6bfast

mx6bfast

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationDelray Beach, FL
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 09:34 AM

NO :nono2:
The Buffalo ari station is a bridge, joining the wireless network to the wired network. It must have it's own IP address and not be in conflict with any other device on the network.

Assigning the HR20 the .2 address puts it in direct conflict with the air station and guarantees that the system won't work.

Didn't know that. So don't do what I said on my post.

#23 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,372 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 09:41 AM

The HR20 does not respond to ping or traceroute requests, so these will be of no help in troubleshooting.

#24 OFFLINE   LR308er

LR308er

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 310 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2007

Posted 09 July 2007 - 09:51 AM

Click Here to view the available downloads for your wireless device.

If you haven't tried thei configuration utility, you may want to give it a shot instead of the web-based interface.
Alos make sure your firmware is the latest.

Reviewing the manual for the Buffalo adapter, there appears to be an option to assign the adapter's MAC address so that it mimics the MAC of the device connected to the first ehternet port.
That could also be tried, but I'd do it after re-checking everything else, including running a temp cable to confirm that the HR20 can connect via hard-wire, and re-checking all firewall settings.

This whole mess smells of Norton or McAfee to me.
Favorite Quotes:
"Don't fry bacon naked" - Janet Campbell (circa 1995)
"My head do stink" - Tommy Early (2003)
"Ya'll ain't got no more money?!" - Exotic Dancer (2004)

#25 OFFLINE   BlueSnake

BlueSnake

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 319 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 10:13 AM

I have the internet connection set up and tested, all is ok. I cannot see it on my computer network nor any music or pics on my menu of the HR20. I tried all of the helpful hints in this forum with no luck. In WMP11 file sharing no devices are listed.


Here's something that worked for me when I had the same problem.

Go to "Start" click on "Control Panel" then click on "Administrative Tools" then click on "Services" go down to "SSDP Dicovery Services" and double click. Make sure you are looking under the "General" tab. Now go down to "Startup type" and select "Automatic" from the drop down box, then click "OK".

Now find "Universal Plug and Play Device Host", further down on the "Services" list, and double click on it. Make sure you are in the "General" tab again, and go down to "Startup type" and select "Automatic" from the drop down box, then click "OK".

Now you can close the "Services" window and the "Control Panel" window. Now open up "WMP11", go to the top and select the "Tools" tab then click on "Options" then click on the "Library" tab then click on "Configure Sharing....", then enable sharing. Hopefully you will get the "Unknown Device" which should be your HR20 and all should work.

This worked for me, but to clarify mine was showing Internet and Network connected before I did this. I figured this out from looking at the error messages in the "Event Viewer" which is also accessed from the "Control Panel" then "Administrative Tools" then "Event Viewer" then the "System" which brought up messages including error messages. Just double click on an error message to see what's going on when you are trying "Configure Sharing".

If you haven't tried to configure sharing in WMP11 do that before you try what I did above.

Hope this helps,
Tim

FYI, I am running a Gateway with Windows XP Media Center Edition with WMP11. Am hardwired from HR20 to a Netgear WGR614 v5 Wireless router. My computer is hardwired into the router as well.
__________________




Protected By... spam firewall...And...