Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20 won't connect to internet


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
20 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 08 July 2007 - 06:01 PM

I am trying to network my HR20 and it passes all the tests except it won't connect to the internet. I have it hard wired to a linksys WRT54GL. I have tried rebooting the unit and disabling all my firewalls and still nothing. Any suggestions?
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   mopzo

mopzo

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 127 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 08 July 2007 - 06:10 PM

I am trying to network my HR20 and it passes all the tests except it won't connect to the internet. I have it hard wired to a linksys WRT54GL. I have tried rebooting the unit and disabling all my firewalls and still nothing. Any suggestions?


Besure not to use any form of encryption. HR20 does not support it.
Hitachi 51SWX20B w/HR20-100. LG 37LG50 w/HR22-100 and AM-21. Verizon FiOS w/Actiontec Router, Linksys PowerLine AV Network, Playstation 3, Wii, Dell XPS M1340, XM/Sirrus Satellite Radio, iPhone

#3 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 08 July 2007 - 06:28 PM

Besure not to use any form of encryption. HR20 does not support it.

I do not use any form of encryption.
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

#4 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 08 July 2007 - 07:09 PM

I am really stuck here anyone else think of anything?
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

#5 OFFLINE   LR308er

LR308er

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 310 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2007

Posted 08 July 2007 - 07:13 PM

Post your IP stats on the Router, PC, and HR20.
Favorite Quotes:
"Don't fry bacon naked" - Janet Campbell (circa 1995)
"My head do stink" - Tommy Early (2003)
"Ya'll ain't got no more money?!" - Exotic Dancer (2004)

#6 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 08 July 2007 - 07:18 PM

The Hr20 shows up on the router client screen but it will not connect to internet. I do not know what you mean by IP stats. If you mean the IP addresses I won't post them for security reasons.
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

#7 OFFLINE   St Louis Cardinals Fan

St Louis Cardinals Fan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 07:21 PM

I am trying to network my HR20 and it passes all the tests except it won't connect to the internet. I have it hard wired to a linksys WRT54GL. I have tried rebooting the unit and disabling all my firewalls and still nothing. Any suggestions?


Does it state that you can connect to the network?

Sorry I just saw your post above.
St Louis Cardinals - 2006 & 2011 World Series Champions
HR20-700 ( using HDMI ) 1 TB ESATA
HR21-700 HDMI to 42 LCD TV (Vizo)
5 LNB , Zinwell 6 x 8
H20

#8 OFFLINE   St Louis Cardinals Fan

St Louis Cardinals Fan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 07:23 PM

The Hr20 shows up on the router client screen but it will not connect to internet. I do not know what you mean by IP stats. If you mean the IP addresses I won't post them for security reasons.


Are you using any filter to keep devices from using the internet?
IE like mac or IP address filters?
St Louis Cardinals - 2006 & 2011 World Series Champions
HR20-700 ( using HDMI ) 1 TB ESATA
HR21-700 HDMI to 42 LCD TV (Vizo)
5 LNB , Zinwell 6 x 8
H20

#9 OFFLINE   LR308er

LR308er

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 310 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2007

Posted 08 July 2007 - 07:43 PM

The Hr20 shows up on the router client screen but it will not connect to internet. I do not know what you mean by IP stats. If you mean the IP addresses I won't post them for security reasons.


What's to hide?
Your LAN IP's are in either the 192 or 10 private ranges, as are most home networks.

Your gateway is your router, which is also private.
Your WAN IP is publicly available already and is assigned from a pool, unless you're running a static for some reason, and I don't need to see that anyway.

DNS servers are public as well.

Two factors get you on the net.
Default Gateway and DNS.


Anyway, good luck. :rolleyes:
Favorite Quotes:
"Don't fry bacon naked" - Janet Campbell (circa 1995)
"My head do stink" - Tommy Early (2003)
"Ya'll ain't got no more money?!" - Exotic Dancer (2004)

#10 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 08 July 2007 - 07:44 PM

Are you using any filter to keep devices from using the internet?
IE like mac or IP address filters?


no I am not using any of those?
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

#11 OFFLINE   St Louis Cardinals Fan

St Louis Cardinals Fan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 07:52 PM

Have you tried powering off/on the router?
St Louis Cardinals - 2006 & 2011 World Series Champions
HR20-700 ( using HDMI ) 1 TB ESATA
HR21-700 HDMI to 42 LCD TV (Vizo)
5 LNB , Zinwell 6 x 8
H20

#12 OFFLINE   ldmth44

ldmth44

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 08:01 PM

Besure not to use any form of encryption. HR20 does not support it.


Isn't encryption only needed for a wireless connection as hard-wired directly to router not necessary?

Is DCHP Server enabled in router setup:computer: :scratch:, are you connected to cable broadband or some other connection? Is UPnP enabled?
HR20-700 (Optical Audio, HDMI-DVI Adapter)
AT9 5LNB Dish / DB-2 OTA Antenna
Toshiba 32-HF73 CRT/HD 1080i TV
Linksys WRT54G Router / Linksys BEFCMU10 Cable Modem
Dell Inspiron E1705 Notebook w/ Windows Vista Ultimate & Windows Media Center
Sony STR-K740P Home Theater System
XBOX 360 Game Console
Samsung DVD-P231 Player
Motorola DCT 3416 DVR (Comcast)
Harmony 880 Remote


:goodjob:
"Here's to you!"

#13 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,634 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 08 July 2007 - 08:03 PM

Check to see if UPnP is enabled. From my router menu (I have a Linksys as well, see my sig) go to administration then management.
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#14 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 08 July 2007 - 08:23 PM

Yes to all the above I enabled the service sharing for WMP11 and UPNP is something I checked first. I know when I am beat will try again some other time. Thanks for the help guys.
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

#15 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,609 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 11:18 AM

Reset the HR20 networking to default. This will clear any settings and pick up new ones from the router. Anytime you make changes to the router you will need to do this.

#16 OFFLINE   LR308er

LR308er

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 310 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2007

Posted 09 July 2007 - 11:23 AM

Also see very good information posted today by BlueSnake.
http://www.dbstalk.c...19&postcount=25
Favorite Quotes:
"Don't fry bacon naked" - Janet Campbell (circa 1995)
"My head do stink" - Tommy Early (2003)
"Ya'll ain't got no more money?!" - Exotic Dancer (2004)

#17 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 09 July 2007 - 03:49 PM

I have an update I have the HR20 connected to the internet and still can not enable media sharing. However not a big problem since media sharing is not that important to me. I think I saw somewhere on this forum that VOD requires an internet connection and that will be a feature I want when it becomes available.
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

#18 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 03:52 PM

I have an update I have the HR20 connected to the internet and still can not enable media sharing. However not a big problem since media sharing is not that important to me. I think I saw somewhere on this forum that VOD requires an internet connection and that will be a feature I want when it becomes available.


Yes the majority of VOD you will need a internet (broadband) connection to download the programs. Some of the VOD programs will be pushed to the SAT's by DIRECTV. They will push the most viewed programs.

#19 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 09 July 2007 - 03:58 PM

Yes the majority of VOD you will need a internet (broadband) connection to download the programs. Some of the VOD programs will be pushed to the SAT's by DIRECTV. They will push the most viewed programs.


Yeah that waht figured thanks for the reply.
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

#20 OFFLINE   MetroNY

MetroNY

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 10:10 PM

What benefit does connecting the HR20 to the Internet have anyway?




spam firewall