Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Recording 2 channels, watching 3rd


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   edvo

edvo

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 60 posts
  • LocationAtlanta
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 10:23 PM

My HR20-700 is hooked up to both satelite inputs and an OTA input. Tonight I had one satelite tuner and the OTA tuner recording different shows. When I tried to watch another channel (non OTA) I got the message "all tuners are recording" and the screen gave me the choice of stopping one recording. The HR20 manual clearly states you can record 2 channels while watching a 3rd, provided you are hooked up correctly, and I checked that both my satelite tuners work as well as OTA. What is up??

Directv since 1996
HR34-700, AM21

Panasonic VIERA TC-P60GT30

Wireless to Linksys WET610N

Panasonic DMP-BDT230 3D Blu Ray

Apple TV

Yamaha Aventage RX-A700
Mirage OM 6, Velodyne SPL 1200 Subwoofer

C31-700, Samsung HLM507W DLP


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   kenva

kenva

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 10:25 PM

My HR20-700 is hooked up to both satelite inputs and an OTA input. Tonight I had one satelite tuner and the OTA tuner recording different shows. When I tried to watch another channel (non OTA) I got the message "all tuners are recording" and the screen gave me the choice of stopping one recording. The HR20 manual clearly states you can record 2 channels while watching a 3rd, provided you are hooked up correctly, and I checked that both my satelite tuners work as well as OTA. What is up??


Sorry you can only watch or record 2 live channels at a time SAT or OTA. You can watch a third previously recorded show though.

#3 OFFLINE   edvo

edvo

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 60 posts
  • LocationAtlanta
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 10:28 PM

Thanks for reply; I guess the manual is wrong then? (not too surprising!!)

Directv since 1996
HR34-700, AM21

Panasonic VIERA TC-P60GT30

Wireless to Linksys WET610N

Panasonic DMP-BDT230 3D Blu Ray

Apple TV

Yamaha Aventage RX-A700
Mirage OM 6, Velodyne SPL 1200 Subwoofer

C31-700, Samsung HLM507W DLP


#4 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 08 July 2007 - 10:54 PM

Thanks for reply; I guess the manual is wrong then? (not too surprising!!)


Yes, it is one (the biggest imo) of the many things wrong with the manual. With all the additional functionality the HR20 has received over the past 10 months from updates, the manual basically needs to be completely redone.

#5 OFFLINE   premio

premio

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 395 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 12:31 AM

Thanks for reply; I guess the manual is wrong then? (not too surprising!!)


It's my theory that D* planned to implement this feature when they turned on OTA in October/06. They infact turned on OTA functionality much later because of a lack of stability in their programming on basic DVR recording functions. I'll take a venture that when they fixed their stability issues they realized that either their code can't or the harddrive speeds can't keep up with 3 recorded streams of data. So they dumped it =(

I joke that I want my Quad Live Buffers, because it seems reasonable that if you have 4 tuners, you should be able to use/view them all independantly of the others.
<!---
It's Comcastic!
--->

#6 OFFLINE   Dave

Dave

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 864 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2003

Posted 09 July 2007 - 12:32 AM

Actually you can record (2) live shows on the Sat box and watch a third live show OTA. If you run a seperate coax to the TV in on the back of the TV if it has the connection available.

#7 OFFLINE   drx792

drx792

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 773 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2007

Posted 09 July 2007 - 12:49 AM

Actually you can record (2) live shows on the Sat box and watch a third live show OTA. If you run a seperate coax to the TV in on the back of the TV if it has the connection available.


Hmm i dont think you are right on this, IIRC the HR20 only has 2 active tuners at once.

#8 OFFLINE   cygnusloop

cygnusloop

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2007

Posted 09 July 2007 - 01:01 AM

Hmm i dont think you are right on this, IIRC the HR20 only has 2 active tuners at once.


He means that you can record two things on the HR20, and use the tuner in your TV if you have an antenna plugged into it.

#9 OFFLINE   starbuck99

starbuck99

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2007

Posted 09 July 2007 - 04:27 AM

Sorry you can only watch or record 2 live channels at a time SAT or OTA. You can watch a third previously recorded show though.


You can record two channels on the sat and watch the third channel OTA, but you must have the OTA input split to go directly into the TV and into the HR20.
Then while recording the two channels on Sat you switch the input to where ever you have the OTA going directly into the TV.:grin: :grin: :grin:

#10 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,823 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 05:25 AM

You can get a 3rd pseudo tuner (I made that up):)

You can do two simultaneous recordings AND at the same time watch something you have previously recorded on the HR20. You can also (if you split your antenna feed between your HR20 and your HDTV (assuming it has a tuner), do what a prior poster suggested).

With this setup, you can actually view 4 independent video sources at any one time:

Two active tuners in the HR20
A previously recorded show on the HR20
A current live OTA program on your HDTV

...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995


#11 OFFLINE   hockey8787

hockey8787

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2007

Posted 09 July 2007 - 02:00 PM

can anyone tell me why abc here in richmond will not lock in on the hr20 it does on my hr10-250 are they at full power

#12 OFFLINE   DonCorleone

DonCorleone

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 869 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2006

Posted 09 July 2007 - 02:14 PM

can anyone tell me why abc here in richmond will not lock in on the hr20 it does on my hr10-250 are they at full power


Not sure why that would be, but I think you're in the wrong thread for that. Might want to try avsforum for that even.
DirecTV since 2001, NFLST, EI, and as of 2/8/07, new AU-9 with 2 HR20-700S (1 HDMI, 1 component/RCA), 6X8 multiswitch, and Samsung LNS3252D 32" LCD...eSata Seagate 750GB...12/30/07 new HR20-700S component connected to Phillips 42PFL5332D 42" LCD and HDMI to a little 20" Dynex LCD




spam firewall