Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Ummm Something Happen


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   EVAC41

EVAC41

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2006

Posted 13 July 2007 - 08:47 PM

Is it just me or on some of Dishes HD channels are they using 110 to broadcast HD. I thought they were just using 129... Does anyone know if this change is new?

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   DishTSR3Mentor

DishTSR3Mentor

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 13 July 2007 - 08:55 PM

The HD orbits have been 110, 129, and 61.5.... after Aug 15, there will be some changing around... not sure EXACTLY where all the HD will end up, but the MPEG2 you're picking up on 110 will be adios....

#3 OFFLINE   EVAC41

EVAC41

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2006

Posted 13 July 2007 - 09:21 PM

AHHHH I see

Thanks!!!

#4 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,161 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 14 July 2007 - 01:45 AM

Dicovery HD Theater, HDNet, HDNet Movies, HBOHD & Sho HD are on 110 MPEG2 & will still be there after Aug 15.

The VOOM mpeg2 2 channels on 61.5/129 will be changing to mpeg 4 on Aug 15 & some new HD channels will be added.
Kevin

3 Hoppers
3 Joeys, all wireless
1 Hopper 2.0
YES, all Hoppers can see the recordings on any Hopper.


#5 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,617 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 14 July 2007 - 07:19 AM

Dicovery HD Theater, HDNet, HDNet Movies, HBOHD & Sho HD are on 110 MPEG2 & will still be there after Aug 15.

The VOOM mpeg2 2 channels on 61.5/129 will be changing to mpeg 4 on Aug 15 & some new HD channels will be added.



Adding to your post... ESPNHD and TNTHD are also MPEG2 at the 110 location and will still be there after Aug 15th. I think the Dish PPV channel might also be on 110 but I could be wrong about that.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#6 OFFLINE   CABill

CABill

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,113 posts
Joined: Mar 20, 2005

Posted 14 July 2007 - 08:18 AM

9420 TNT HD and 9424 ESPN HD are also 110º MPEG2 in the original HD Pak that will still be there after 15-Aug. I'd also assume 9467 HD PPV would remain on 110º MPEG2, as well as 9465 & 9466.

See http://ekb.dbstalk.com/hdchan.htm

#7 OFFLINE   bruin95

bruin95

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 292 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2006

Posted 14 July 2007 - 03:08 PM

Is it just me or on some of Dishes HD channels are they using 110 to broadcast HD. I thought they were just using 129... Does anyone know if this change is new?

Thanks


Those HD channels on 110 have been there since day 1. This is not something new.

#8 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,617 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 14 July 2007 - 05:36 PM

Those HD channels on 110 have been there since day 1. This is not something new.


This is not a true statement either. When I originally signed up for Dish HD channels (at that time just Discovery, HDNet, and HDNet Movies I believe) all were on 61.5 for east coast, and 148 for west coast. So I had the wing dish at 61.5 from way back.

At some point a year or so later, they moved most of the HD (except Demo and maybe something else I can't think of right now) from 61.5 to 110 and I could have taken down the wing dish at that point... but I kept it and once Voom came up I already had a dish pointed at the right spot.

So... while it is true that there is MPEG2 HD on 110 now and after August 15th with current plans in motion... it is not true that they have been there since day 1.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#9 OFFLINE   EVAC41

EVAC41

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2006

Posted 16 July 2007 - 09:00 PM

Those HD channels on 110 have been there since day 1. This is not something new.


Oh ok!!! I am just new to HD.. Never even had it until this summer. Last reciever I had was a DVR 522.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...