Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Working eSata Setups:


  • Please log in to reply
2163 replies to this topic

#2061 OFFLINE   hsedsie

hsedsie

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 07 January 2013 - 02:01 PM

So would you suggest a WD20EURS and TT BlacX?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2062 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,883 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 January 2013 - 03:40 PM

yes. as usual it suggested

#2063 OFFLINE   taoseno

taoseno

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2011

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:26 AM

I had a working eSata setup (Fantom Green Drive 2TB) w/ my HR24-500 until we upgraded recently to a HR34. We still have the original HR24-500 which recorded all shows on the HD. Now we cannot get either receiver to boot with the external drive on a RBR. All we did was add whole home service and made the HR34 the main receiver in the house and now neither receiver will recognize the external HD. I have searched and cannot find the answer; has anyone else had this issue? I can use the USB and look at the drive reformat etc w/ my computer but receivers do not recognize on a RBR. I have even reformatted the drive and still no luck..............

Todd
Taos, NM USA

Panasonic TC-P55ST50
Panasonic TC-P42ST30
Panasonic TH-PX4280U
DTV HR44-500
DTV HR24-500 w/ 2TB ext drive
DTV HR20-100
DTV H24-700 mobile unit


#2064 OFFLINE   BAHitman

BAHitman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 431 posts
  • LocationAustin Texas
Joined: Oct 23, 2007

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:37 AM

you should power the DVR off, plug in the drive, power the drive on and wait for it to be ready, then power on the DVR. RBR after connecting it is not a reliable way to do it...

HR34, HR20x3, HR22, HR23, H24, H21

-BAHitman


#2065 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,679 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 09 January 2013 - 10:44 AM

I had a working eSata setup (Fantom Green Drive 2TB) w/ my HR24-500 until we upgraded recently to a HR34. We still have the original HR24-500 which recorded all shows on the HD. Now we cannot get either receiver to boot with the external drive on a RBR. All we did was add whole home service and made the HR34 the main receiver in the house and now neither receiver will recognize the external HD. I have searched and cannot find the answer; has anyone else had this issue? I can use the USB and look at the drive reformat etc w/ my computer but receivers do not recognize on a RBR. I have even reformatted the drive and still no luck..............


Try this: Unplug the power cords of the HR and the external device. Make sure you have the eSATA to eSATA cable in place. Plug in the external device and let it spin up. Plug in the HR and it should recognize the external drive. Don't use the RBR with an external drive attached to an HR. If that doesn't work, you've probably ruined the chip-set in the external enclosure. At this point, I'd take the Fantom (which people have had problems with) apart and put the Fantom's HDD in a more appropriate enclosure or dock.

@HDTVFan, this is me being patient... :lol:

Rich

#2066 OFFLINE   taoseno

taoseno

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2011

Posted 09 January 2013 - 11:06 AM

Wow I did not know this. I have had the Fantom for about two years on the HR24-500 w/ no problems and it seemed really quite compared to the HR20-100. I will try this tonight when I get home and report back. Thanks for your patience................

Todd
Taos, NM USA

Panasonic TC-P55ST50
Panasonic TC-P42ST30
Panasonic TH-PX4280U
DTV HR44-500
DTV HR24-500 w/ 2TB ext drive
DTV HR20-100
DTV H24-700 mobile unit


#2067 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,679 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 09 January 2013 - 11:09 AM

Wow I did not know this. I have had the Fantom for about two years on the HR24-500 w/ no problems and it seemed really quite compared to the HR20-100. I will try this tonight when I get home and report back. Thanks for your patience................


That crack about patience is an inside joke. Didn't mean to stir you up.

Rich

#2068 OFFLINE   taoseno

taoseno

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2011

Posted 09 January 2013 - 12:33 PM

No offense taken I really appreciate the help! I have done about a dozen RBR's the last few days and I did not know what else to do.

Todd
Taos, NM USA

Panasonic TC-P55ST50
Panasonic TC-P42ST30
Panasonic TH-PX4280U
DTV HR44-500
DTV HR24-500 w/ 2TB ext drive
DTV HR20-100
DTV H24-700 mobile unit


#2069 OFFLINE   taoseno

taoseno

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2011

Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:53 AM

Well I guess I have probably ruined the chip-set in the external enclosure as I could not get the Fantom to boot off either DVR. Thanks

Todd
Taos, NM USA

Panasonic TC-P55ST50
Panasonic TC-P42ST30
Panasonic TH-PX4280U
DTV HR44-500
DTV HR24-500 w/ 2TB ext drive
DTV HR20-100
DTV H24-700 mobile unit


#2070 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,679 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:57 AM

Well I guess I have probably ruined the chip-set in the external enclosure as I could not get the Fantom to boot off either DVR. Thanks


Don't throw it out. Take it apart and find the HDD and get either a Thermaltake BlackX dock or an Antec MX-1 and put the HDD in whichever you choose (I prefer the TT dock, but the MX-1 works well too) and you should be able to keep your recordings. I've done this several times with external devices that didn't work and the HDDs were fine in each case. I also threw several all-in-one eSATAs, such as yours away before it dawned on me that the HDDs might work. Steep learning curve.

Rich

#2071 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,679 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 10 January 2013 - 12:00 PM

No offense taken I really appreciate the help! I have done about a dozen RBR's the last few days and I did not know what else to do.


Sometimes you get away with doing things you really shouldn't. The RBR is not an option I use. Better to go with the Menu Restart. Much easier on your equipment. My TT docking stations are usually recognized using that method as were the MX-1s I had before I found the docking stations.

Rich

#2072 OFFLINE   taoseno

taoseno

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2011

Posted 11 January 2013 - 10:11 AM

Yea I cant decide if it worth getting a dock for a HD that does not have a good reputation. Although the Fantom has not failed me I now know lots of people have had probs. Thanks again for the suggestions.............

Todd
Taos, NM USA

Panasonic TC-P55ST50
Panasonic TC-P42ST30
Panasonic TH-PX4280U
DTV HR44-500
DTV HR24-500 w/ 2TB ext drive
DTV HR20-100
DTV H24-700 mobile unit


#2073 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 11 January 2013 - 11:55 AM

No harm in getting another drive, and trying to copy the old Fantom drive over to it if it was just the enclosure or the electronics of the enclosure that went bad.

#2074 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,679 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 11 January 2013 - 12:52 PM

Yea I cant decide if it worth getting a dock for a HD that does not have a good reputation. Although the Fantom has not failed me I now know lots of people have had probs. Thanks again for the suggestions.............


Don't know what kind of HDDs they use, but I'd try to save it. Again, the enclosures or docks are the weakest part of the chain. The HDD might give you a few years of service.

Rich

#2075 OFFLINE   NateDawg

NateDawg

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2011

Posted 12 April 2013 - 01:03 PM

I purchased a WD20EURS for use with my HR21-100. Do I need to run wdidle with this drive before installing or am I good to go?

#2076 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,147 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 12 April 2013 - 01:40 PM

I purchased a WD20EURS for use with my HR21-100. Do I need to run wdidle with this drive before installing or am I good to go?


You are good to go out if the box. The hr will format it properly.

#2077 OFFLINE   blucas95

blucas95

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 141 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 07 May 2013 - 07:59 AM

Just wanted to add another know working data point for the HR34 - especially if you're looking for an enclosure with fans and not a dock.

 

I had my HR34 Genie installed on Saturday and after the install was finished, I hooked up a 2TB Western Digital WD20EURS (http://www.amazon.co...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1) in a ThermalTake Max 5 (http://www.amazon.co...1?ie=UTF8&psc=1) enclosure.  Been running for 3 days now without an issue.  Two fans in the enclosure and it's REALLY quiet.  The blue LEDs are annoying, but there is a switch on the back of the enclosure to turn off the ones on the side and a piece of black electrical tape took care of the hard drive activity light on the front nicely!


Edited by blucas95, 07 May 2013 - 11:12 AM.


#2078 OFFLINE   Bazza

Bazza

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2011

Posted 07 May 2013 - 08:55 AM

Checking in over two years later.  The 2TB WD20EARS drive in a Thermaltake dock has worked flawlessly.  Not a single issue!   I havent been around, because I havent had any problems.

 

Thought you might all want to know...

 



#2079 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,883 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 May 2013 - 10:23 AM

Checking in over two years later.  The 2TB WD20EARS drive in a Thermaltake dock has worked flawlessly.  Not a single issue!   I havent been around, because I havent had any problems.

 

Thought you might all want to know...

I'll accept this, if you will provide 1) SMART data; 2) scan surface (less then 2 hours task).

MHDD self bootable CD is preferable, but free SW  Victoria could done the job under Windows.

 

If you will not open a hood, you'll never know how your engine doing and when it will crashed. ;)


Edited by P Smith, 07 May 2013 - 10:24 AM.


#2080 OFFLINE   toms111la

toms111la

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 07 May 2013 - 07:52 PM

Just wanted to add another know working data point for the HR34 - especially if you're looking for an enclosure with fans and not a dock.
 
I had my HR34 Genie installed on Saturday and after the install was finished, I hooked up a 2TB Western Digital WD20EURS (http://www.amazon.co...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1) in a ThermalTake Max 5 (http://www.amazon.co...1?ie=UTF8&psc=1) enclosure.  Been running for 3 days now without an issue.  Two fans in the enclosure and it's REALLY quiet.  The blue LEDs are annoying, but there is a switch on the back of the enclosure to turn off the ones on the side and a piece of black electrical tape took care of the hard drive activity light on the front nicely!

What is the stock drive in the HR34? I have not looked at new equipment in a while and I must confess that I have installed 2TB drives inside all three of my receivers. It may cost me someday but all have been trouble free.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...