Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Working eSata Setups:


  • Please log in to reply
2163 replies to this topic

#2081 OFFLINE   blucas95

blucas95

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 141 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 08 May 2013 - 06:46 AM

What is the stock drive in the HR34? I have not looked at new equipment in a while and I must confess that I have installed 2TB drives inside all three of my receivers. It may cost me someday but all have been trouble free.

 

Not sure of the model number (I didn't open it of course) but it is a 1TB drive.


Edited by blucas95, 08 May 2013 - 06:46 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2082 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,447 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 08 May 2013 - 12:17 PM

Not sure of the model number (I didn't open it of course) but it is a 1TB drive.

 

Probably a Seagate, hopefully a Seagate Pipeline drive.

 

Rich



#2083 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 May 2013 - 12:50 PM

Probably a Seagate, hopefully a Seagate Pipeline drive.

 

Rich

it would be too kosher for mass production in case of DTV or dish :D



#2084 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,447 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 09 May 2013 - 07:43 AM

it would be too kosher for mass production in case of DTV or dish :D

 

No, all the 24s have Pipelines in them.  That's Seagate's DVR HDD.

 

Rich



#2085 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 09 May 2013 - 09:03 AM

I can't believe in that :) - is it known what model name ?


Edited by P Smith, 09 May 2013 - 09:04 AM.


#2086 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,066 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 09 May 2013 - 09:20 AM

What is the stock drive in the HR34? I have not looked at new equipment in a while and I must confess that I have installed 2TB drives inside all three of my receivers. It may cost me someday but all have been trouble free.

I pulled a failed WD10EURS out of mine, but the whole time I had it ran a WD20EURS as an eSATA which also crapped out.

Replaced the internal with the 3TB version.


-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#2087 OFFLINE   David Ortiz

David Ortiz

    There for Jeter's flip play

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,194 posts
  • LocationFresno, CA
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 23 May 2013 - 11:34 AM

Thermaltake BlacX ST0005U dock is on sale at Newegg.com for $32.99. There is a 30% off promo code that expires on Saturday the 25th.

#2088 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,447 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 24 May 2013 - 07:06 AM

Thermaltake BlacX ST0005U dock is on sale at Newegg.com for $32.99. There is a 30% off promo code that expires on Saturday the 25th.

 

Yup, those sales always happen when I don't need one.   :rolling:

 

Rich



#2089 OFFLINE   Trila

Trila

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
  • LocationTwin Rocks, PA
Joined: May 24, 2013

Posted 24 May 2013 - 10:57 AM

I am having a problem with installing a 2TB expander on my HR21-100 DTV DVR.

 

I bought a Western Digital WD AV-GP WD20EURS 2TB 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - OEM

 

And a Rosewill RX-358 V2 SLV (Silver) 3.5" SATA to USB & eSATA External Enclosure w/Int.80mm Fan

 

I think the drive should work okay, but I do not think DTV HR21 likes this enclosure. I have gone through the proper boot up methode and all I get is a DTV blue screen saying a problem has been detected in the sotrage device and gives me a code 14-552 and to call DTV.  Which I know if I call them I will just get the run around so not bothering.

 

 

Can someone point me to an enclosure that does work?


Edited by Trila, 24 May 2013 - 11:26 AM.


#2090 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 May 2013 - 11:01 AM

I would try connect it to your PC (if you have eSATA port use all the cables/enclosure set, or directly to a desktop to internal SATA port) and check its health - use a program Victoria for that.



#2091 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,447 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 24 May 2013 - 11:30 AM

I am having a problem with installing a 2TB expander on my HR21-100 DTV DVR.

 

I bought a Western Digital WD AV-GP WD20EURS 2TB 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - OEM

 

And a Rosewill RX-358 V2 SLV (Silver) 3.5" SATA to USB & eSATA External Enclosure w/Int.80mm Fan

 

I think the drive should work okay, but I do not think DTV HR21 likes this enclosure. I have gone through the proper boot up methode and all I get is a DTV blue screen saying a problem has been detected in the sotrage device and gives me a code 14-552 and to call DTV.  Which I know if I call them I will just get the run around so not bothering.

 

 

Can someone point me to an enclosure that does work?

 

You don't need an enclosure.  Try a docking station.  Here's a link.

 

Rich



#2092 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,447 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 24 May 2013 - 11:34 AM

I am having a problem with installing a 2TB expander on my HR21-100 DTV DVR.

 

I bought a Western Digital WD AV-GP WD20EURS 2TB 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - OEM

 

And a Rosewill RX-358 V2 SLV (Silver) 3.5" SATA to USB & eSATA External Enclosure w/Int.80mm Fan

 

I think the drive should work okay, but I do not think DTV HR21 likes this enclosure. I have gone through the proper boot up methode and all I get is a DTV blue screen saying a problem has been detected in the sotrage device and gives me a code 14-552 and to call DTV.  Which I know if I call them I will just get the run around so not bothering.

 

 

Can someone point me to an enclosure that does work?

 

By the way, you're not the first member that has had a problem with the EURS HDDs.  I'd buy the docking station I linked to and put the EURS in that and if it doesn't work, return the EURS and try a WD EARX.  I've got several of them and they all work both in and externally.

 

Rich



#2093 OFFLINE   David Ortiz

David Ortiz

    There for Jeter's flip play

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,194 posts
  • LocationFresno, CA
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 24 May 2013 - 12:23 PM

You don't need an enclosure.  Try a docking station.  Here's a link.
 
Rich


Or for 30% less ... http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817153071

#2094 OFFLINE   Trila

Trila

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
  • LocationTwin Rocks, PA
Joined: May 24, 2013

Posted 24 May 2013 - 12:25 PM

Thanks for the help, I called for a RMA for the Rosswill enclosure and ordered the TT docking station.

 

Will see what happens when it get's here.



#2095 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 May 2013 - 01:50 PM

Thanks for the help, I called for a RMA for the Rosswill enclosure and ordered the TT docking station.

 

Will see what happens when it get's here.

you will be endlessly happy ... as Rich :D


Edited by P Smith, 24 May 2013 - 01:50 PM.


#2096 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,447 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 26 May 2013 - 10:36 AM

Thanks for the help, I called for a RMA for the Rosswill enclosure and ordered the TT docking station.

 

Will see what happens when it get's here.

 

Those Rosewills seemed to work well when first introduced.  Not so well now.  Still might be the EURS drive, but I kinda doubt it.

 

Rich



#2097 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,447 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 26 May 2013 - 10:40 AM

Just a reminder about the TT docking stations:  They have an on/off switch on the back that will fail (probably) if you use it a lot.  Best to use it once and unplug the power port ever after.  

 

Rich



#2098 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,447 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 26 May 2013 - 10:42 AM

 

Yup, but those sales only go on when I don't need one.  Makes me wonder how they know... :rolling:

 

Rich



#2099 OFFLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,983 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 26 May 2013 - 10:50 AM

Yup, but those sales only go on when I don't need one.  Makes me wonder how they know... :rolling:
 
Rich


I remember as a kid going the Bronx zoo. They had a map of the park and it would drive me crazy how they knew where I was.:)

#2100 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,447 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 26 May 2013 - 10:59 AM

I remember as a kid going the Bronx zoo. They had a map of the park and it would drive me crazy how they knew where I was. :)

 

Used to go quite frequently, then found the Philly Zoo had better exhibits.  The Bronx Zoo has a lot of habitats, good for the animals, but it's difficult to see them.  

 

Rich






Protected By... spam firewall...And...