Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Working eSata Setups:


  • Please log in to reply
2163 replies to this topic

#2121 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 442 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 10 June 2013 - 06:08 AM

Just a reminder about the TT docking stations:  They have an on/off switch on the back that will fail (probably) if you use it a lot.  Best to use it once and unplug the power port ever after.  

 

Rich

 

Has anyone tried bypassing the power switch?  Mine recently failed while the unit was on and not being touched.  Once I put it into use I had not touched it.  However, it failed and shut power off to the unit.  The dock is great but the reliability is crap.



DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2122 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 10 June 2013 - 08:11 AM

Are you sure its the button and not the power brick?  I believe a few initial reports that the button had failed ending up being failed power bricks.



#2123 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 442 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 10 June 2013 - 09:18 AM

Are you sure its the button and not the power brick?  I believe a few initial reports that the button had failed ending up being failed power bricks.

 

I assumed it was the button since it won't click in any more.



DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


#2124 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,388 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 10 June 2013 - 09:36 AM

Has anyone tried bypassing the power switch?  Mine recently failed while the unit was on and not being touched.  Once I put it into use I had not touched it.  However, it failed and shut power off to the unit.  The dock is great but the reliability is crap.

 

I tried it.  It's not a normal on/off switch.  I failed and took the sledgehammer to it.

 

You should call TT and return it.  It's easy.

 

Rich


  • steff3 likes this

#2125 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,388 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 10 June 2013 - 09:37 AM

I assumed it was the button since it won't click in any more.

 

Good assumption.

 

Rich



#2126 OFFLINE   Trila

Trila

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
  • LocationTwin Rocks, PA
Joined: May 24, 2013

Posted 10 June 2013 - 09:57 AM

They are $33 on Newegg.

 

I would just sledge it like he did and order another one.

 

They was on sale for only $22 the other day.


Edited by Trila, 10 June 2013 - 10:00 AM.


#2127 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 June 2013 - 09:58 AM

I tried it.  It's not a normal on/off switch.  I failed and took the sledgehammer to it.

 

You should call TT and return it.  It's easy.

 

Rich

Oh man! :)

 

It's just 1/2 hour work with a screwdriver and soldering iron ...



#2128 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 442 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 10 June 2013 - 06:26 PM

That's what I figured. Have you done this?

DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


#2129 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 442 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 10 June 2013 - 06:33 PM

They are $33 on Newegg.
 
I would just sledge it like he did and order another one.
 
They was on sale for only $22 the other day.


I already bought a new one but I figured I should try to salvage the broken one if it is only the switch.

DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


#2130 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 June 2013 - 07:21 PM

That's what I figured. Have you done this?

I've done many things .. he he .. see my posts here and there.



#2131 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,388 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 12 June 2013 - 10:04 AM

That's what I figured. Have you done this?

 

 If it was that easy, I'd have done it.

 

Rich



#2132 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 June 2013 - 10:07 AM

:D

 

 

Perhaps it was your bad luck... I bought second TT that time when it was on promo ($18 rebate), when it was ? Year ago ? The dock working (connected to PC and to OTA DVR)  fine with very harsh using: I'm pressing the button at list twice per day and often clicking it 10s times as testing a drive switching between PC and DVR.

Or our fingers are different ... you know, some guys has green thumb ;)


Edited by P Smith, 12 June 2013 - 10:13 AM.


#2133 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,388 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 12 June 2013 - 10:23 AM

:D

 

 

Perhaps it was your bad luck... I bought second TT that time when it was on promo ($18 rebate), when it was ? Year ago ? The dock working (connected to PC and to OTA DVR)  fine with very harsh using: I'm pressing the button at list twice per day and often clicking it 10s times as testing a drive switching between PC and DVR.

Or our fingers are different ... you know, some guys has green thumb ;)

 

Yup, it must have been my fault... :scratchin   

 

Rich



#2134 OFFLINE   steelgtr

steelgtr

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2007

Posted 17 June 2013 - 08:30 AM

Hi Guys

 

sorry to cross post.

 

Need a recommendation for an HR20-100 external drive setup?

 

thx

 

bob



#2135 OFFLINE   unixguru

unixguru

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 579 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 17 June 2013 - 08:54 AM

Hi Guys

 

sorry to cross post.

 

Need a recommendation for an HR20-100 external drive setup?

 

thx

 

bob

 

I would recommend not bothering with an HR20 external drive.  You're gonna lose any programming you have saved anyway.

 

Upgrade to an HR24 and then get a recommended drive for it.

 

Of course DirecTV won't let you upgrade even though the HR20 is so obsolete they won't even collect them anymore.  Might I suggest either a hardware failure  ;) or adding a new DVR followed shortly thereafter with deactivating the HR20  !devil12:



#2136 OFFLINE   steelgtr

steelgtr

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2007

Posted 17 June 2013 - 09:18 AM

I would recommend not bothering with an HR20 external drive.  You're gonna lose any programming you have saved anyway.

 

Upgrade to an HR24 and then get a recommended drive for it.

 

Of course DirecTV won't let you upgrade even though the HR20 is so obsolete they won't even collect them anymore.  Might I suggest either a hardware failure  ;) or adding a new DVR followed shortly thereafter with deactivating the HR20  !devil12:

 

Thanks for the heads up on the HR 20's.  Dad has turned his DVR into his movie library and I had thought adding an external HD would allow dual booting between the 2 drives?  Is that only on newer models?

 

thx

 

bob



#2137 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 17 June 2013 - 09:26 AM

manual dual booting ! you'll need to connect/disconnect eSATA cable to do that



#2138 OFFLINE   steelgtr

steelgtr

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2007

Posted 17 June 2013 - 09:48 AM

manual dual booting ! you'll need to connect/disconnect eSATA cable to do that

I'm confused.  Either you will lose the internal recordings or you won't? I'm getting conflicting answers.   He would kill me if we lost all his movies!  HR20-100

 

 

bob



#2139 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 17 June 2013 - 09:53 AM

just do reading posts here (we don't have conflicting answers here)

 

internal/external drive are exclusive; all SL and events still intact after _manual_ switching/rebooting


Edited by P Smith, 17 June 2013 - 09:54 AM.


#2140 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,970 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 17 June 2013 - 09:53 AM

Question for Rich or anyone else who can help.

I had an HR44-500 and an HR24-100 hooked up today.

On the 24, I successfully added a WD20EVDS (2TB) in a TT Blacx.

On the 44, I'm trying to connect a WD30EZRX in the same model TT, but I can't get the Genie to see the drive.

The LED on the TT connected to the 24 is red and blue.
The LED on the TT connected to the 44 is blue only. I can feel the drive spinning.

I've tried this with two different eSATA cables.

I have had eSATAs running on five other HRs, so I'm not a newbie at this.

Any suggestions? Am I overlooking something?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...