Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Working eSata Setups:


  • Please log in to reply
2163 replies to this topic

#301 OFFLINE   HSW

HSW

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 27 January 2008 - 09:50 AM

My 700 ESATA failed me after 5 months. Using a DB35 Seagate 750 with Antec and Siig cable, it froze up and after rebooting, erased everything on the drive. Have it working again, but planning on going internal with the 750 drive.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#302 OFFLINE   toms111la

toms111la

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 28 January 2008 - 07:44 AM

My 700 ESATA failed me after 5 months. Using a DB35 Seagate 750 with Antec and Siig cable, it froze up and after rebooting, erased everything on the drive. Have it working again, but planning on going internal with the 750 drive.

I have not lost anything with my reboots. The external drive seems to be working ok after restarts.

#303 OFFLINE   a k

a k

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Jan 01, 2008

Posted 30 January 2008 - 03:23 PM

Maybe this has been asked before, but can you remove the internal drive and leave it out and just use the external.? Trying to turn down the heat from reciever H20-700.
Thanks

#304 OFFLINE   i49mobile

i49mobile

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2007

Posted 02 February 2008 - 05:20 PM

Got my MX-1 from buy.com and my WD from NewEgg. Fast shipping from both companies. Running HR20-700. Antec instructions were poor (only pictures). Needed a magnetic screwdriver to get screws back into Antec. Working great on HR20-700. MX-1 is really quite. Glad I bought both units.




Just wanted to update and say thanks! MX-1 from Amazon with rebate and WD750 GB from NewEgg. Easy to install, Menu restarted HR-21 DVR and been running ever since. It couldn't have been easier.

Thanks again for the help now how do I get 3d?

Just kidding.:D



#305 OFFLINE   selleos

selleos

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2007

Posted 03 February 2008 - 11:57 PM

Two questions...

1) Is internal better than external? I'd like to read a few opinions pros/cons.

2) I just read someone has a 1TB Raid 1 configured HDD. So if the primary dies, can we just replace the secondary to the primary and everything will resume?
Selleos

Receivers: DIRECTV HR20-700 | DIRECTIVO R10 | HUGHES SD-DVR40 | DIRECTV HD RECEIVER | SONY RECEIVER
Dish: Slimline Dish | w/6x8 multiswitch | Roof mount antenna from DIRECTV
HR20 Config: Software: 0x1EA | Resolution: 480p, 780p, 1080i | Native: On | Dolby Digital: On | OTA: No | Networked: Yes | Standby: Never
HDTV: Sammy 50" 1080i DLP connected via component
Audio: Optical to Bose Lifestyle AV28

#306 OFFLINE   selleos

selleos

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2007

Posted 03 February 2008 - 11:59 PM

Here is a deal for those looking for a 1TB external drive. Don't wait long as this is only available until Feb 10th.

http://www.costco.co...wse=&lang=en-US
Selleos

Receivers: DIRECTV HR20-700 | DIRECTIVO R10 | HUGHES SD-DVR40 | DIRECTV HD RECEIVER | SONY RECEIVER
Dish: Slimline Dish | w/6x8 multiswitch | Roof mount antenna from DIRECTV
HR20 Config: Software: 0x1EA | Resolution: 480p, 780p, 1080i | Native: On | Dolby Digital: On | OTA: No | Networked: Yes | Standby: Never
HDTV: Sammy 50" 1080i DLP connected via component
Audio: Optical to Bose Lifestyle AV28

#307 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 04 February 2008 - 07:39 AM

Yes, I have a DS3RPRO with 2 1TB Hitachi Drives in it running RAID 1 so that drive 0 mirrors itself to drive 1. If drive 0 fails pull that drive out and put the drive from drive 1 in bay 0, put another new drive in bay 1, then boot it up so it can do it's rebuild operation without being connected to the HR20/HR21. Then reconnect it to the HR21 after it is booted up after the rebuild is finished and then reset the HR21 and you will be back in business without losing any recordings.

I have lost recordings on 3 occasions with my HR10-250 and it hurts to lose all of those recordings that you want to watch over & over again.

If you don't feel that connected to your recordings and you can stand to lose them, then I would run it as RAID 0 which would give you 2 TBs of allocated storage space.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#308 OFFLINE   selleos

selleos

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2007

Posted 05 February 2008 - 12:12 AM

How long does the HR20-700 take to format a new external 1TB HDD?

When it's formatting, should any of the lights be lit on the HR20??
Selleos

Receivers: DIRECTV HR20-700 | DIRECTIVO R10 | HUGHES SD-DVR40 | DIRECTV HD RECEIVER | SONY RECEIVER
Dish: Slimline Dish | w/6x8 multiswitch | Roof mount antenna from DIRECTV
HR20 Config: Software: 0x1EA | Resolution: 480p, 780p, 1080i | Native: On | Dolby Digital: On | OTA: No | Networked: Yes | Standby: Never
HDTV: Sammy 50" 1080i DLP connected via component
Audio: Optical to Bose Lifestyle AV28

#309 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 05 February 2008 - 06:46 AM

Less than a minute. Don't know about the lights but I suspect that they don't come on until the unit powers up.

Why are you concerned about the lights?
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#310 OFFLINE   selleos

selleos

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2007

Posted 05 February 2008 - 07:27 AM

Well upon powering on my receiver I noticed a lot more noise coming from it and the hard drive lights got very bright. It took about 2-3 mins and then the receiver powered on with lights and picture came on the screen.

Next I noticed I still had all of my recordings from the internal hard drive. So something tells me it didn't take.

I read about people having problems with esata cables so I'm not exactly sure if this might be my problem.

Any suggestions?
Selleos

Receivers: DIRECTV HR20-700 | DIRECTIVO R10 | HUGHES SD-DVR40 | DIRECTV HD RECEIVER | SONY RECEIVER
Dish: Slimline Dish | w/6x8 multiswitch | Roof mount antenna from DIRECTV
HR20 Config: Software: 0x1EA | Resolution: 480p, 780p, 1080i | Native: On | Dolby Digital: On | OTA: No | Networked: Yes | Standby: Never
HDTV: Sammy 50" 1080i DLP connected via component
Audio: Optical to Bose Lifestyle AV28

#311 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 05 February 2008 - 07:39 AM

Make sure your cables are plugged in right. The one with the smaller end goes into the HR20/HR21, there is a slight different in size but you have to look closely. Reverse them and then try it again.

Make sure that your drive is powered up all the way before connecting it to the DVR and Powering Up the DVR. If it is not powered up fully the DVR will not see any activity on the SATA Port and will think nothing is there and will then use the internal drive.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#312 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,692 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 05 February 2008 - 07:50 AM

Make sure that your drive is powered up all the way before connecting it to the DVR and Powering Up the DVR. If it is not powered up fully the DVR will not see any activity on the SATA Port and will think nothing is there and will then use the internal drive.

That is absolutely critical.

When the DVR starts up, the internal controller unit first looks to see what drive is "active".

The issue with the proper cable ends is a common mistake, but also very important. Most folks think both ends are alike, since the look very similar - but rest assured, they are not.

Rich - congrats on your new Raid unit!
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#313 OFFLINE   selleos

selleos

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2007

Posted 05 February 2008 - 07:53 AM

OK, so before I go out and buy a different cable, I should switch the end connectors and see if that does the trick?
Selleos

Receivers: DIRECTV HR20-700 | DIRECTIVO R10 | HUGHES SD-DVR40 | DIRECTV HD RECEIVER | SONY RECEIVER
Dish: Slimline Dish | w/6x8 multiswitch | Roof mount antenna from DIRECTV
HR20 Config: Software: 0x1EA | Resolution: 480p, 780p, 1080i | Native: On | Dolby Digital: On | OTA: No | Networked: Yes | Standby: Never
HDTV: Sammy 50" 1080i DLP connected via component
Audio: Optical to Bose Lifestyle AV28

#314 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 05 February 2008 - 07:55 AM

YES, that is CORRECT!!!
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#315 OFFLINE   rjf

rjf

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 190 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2007

Posted 05 February 2008 - 09:44 AM

i'm setting up a WD10EACS in an Antec MX-1 on an HR20 and just wondering if there's any consensus on laying the enclosure flat or verticle. i know it's ok to run hard drives verticle, but i read something about it here and can't remember if people were saying not to go verticle with this drive.

so is there any reason why verticle wouldn't be ok with the WD10EACS and Antec MX-1 ?

also, how do i tell which end of the cable should go into the receiver and the esata? i thought it didn't matter, but read a couple posts that suggests it does. never had an issue with my last esata cable, but thought i'd ask.

#316 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 05 February 2008 - 09:51 AM

i'm setting up a WD10EACS in an Antec MX-1 on an HR20 and just wondering if there's any consensus on laying the enclosure flat or verticle. i know it's ok to run hard drives verticle, but i read something about it here and can't remember if people were saying not to go verticle with this drive.

so is there any reason why verticle wouldn't be ok with the WD10EACS and Antec MX-1 ?

also, how do i tell which end of the cable should go into the receiver and the esata? i thought it didn't matter, but read a couple posts that suggests it does. never had an issue with my last esata cable, but thought i'd ask.


I thought you want them vertical with the new perpendicular recording disks. :lol:

Honestly I don't know - mine are both sitting in the holder that comes with the MX-1 and I've had no issues.
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#317 OFFLINE   rjf

rjf

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 190 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2007

Posted 05 February 2008 - 10:22 AM

I thought you want them vertical with the new perpendicular recording disks. :lol:


i thought verticle was better because you could squeeze more recordings side by side as opposed to hozizontal where they're piled on top of each other ;)

but seriously.... anyone??

#318 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,864 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 February 2008 - 10:30 AM

The question is irrelevant for HDD. Do as you wish.

#319 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,025 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 05 February 2008 - 11:43 AM

I lay mine flat so I can pile stuff on top. :lol:
At least the airflow design allows that.

My desktop PC drives are all mounted vertically. Couldn't imagine that it matters.

I couldn't tell any difference in the cable ends. If there is one then I got lucky twice as my two setups work well with no problems.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#320 OFFLINE   selleos

selleos

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2007

Posted 05 February 2008 - 07:35 PM

YES, that is CORRECT!!!


So I have the PNY eSATA 6' male male cable and after switching the connectors, it still didn't work. It took about 10 minutes for the receiver to finally boot and when it did the internal hard drive was still connecting.

Any other ideas?

BTW, the external drive is WD My Boook Home 1TB.
Selleos

Receivers: DIRECTV HR20-700 | DIRECTIVO R10 | HUGHES SD-DVR40 | DIRECTV HD RECEIVER | SONY RECEIVER
Dish: Slimline Dish | w/6x8 multiswitch | Roof mount antenna from DIRECTV
HR20 Config: Software: 0x1EA | Resolution: 480p, 780p, 1080i | Native: On | Dolby Digital: On | OTA: No | Networked: Yes | Standby: Never
HDTV: Sammy 50" 1080i DLP connected via component
Audio: Optical to Bose Lifestyle AV28




Protected By... spam firewall...And...