Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Working eSata Setups:


  • Please log in to reply
2203 replies to this topic

#426 OFFLINE   CJTE

CJTE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,345 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2007

Posted 05 July 2008 - 05:26 PM

Hi sorry if this has been asked already. Will the Western Digital 1 TB My Book Home Edition external hard drive work? Its on sale for 199.00 at Costco this week.

Thanks


We're probably going to have to cover this alot.

WD MyBooks do not work with DirecTV HDDVR's (atleast, not usually straight out of the box). But dont feel bad, they dont work with alot of devices. This is due to a specific driver/software that appearantly is required by WD. This is also true for the "One-Touch" backup drives.

I used to get alot of PS3 customers who had the same problem (certain enclosures wouldnt work because of drivers)

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#427 OFFLINE   tuvok1701e

tuvok1701e

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2008

Posted 12 July 2008 - 05:30 PM

Calvary 1 TB Drive
from Newegg ...price was 199.99

SIIG 3 foot cable

This was a trouble free job. Within a few minutes I was viewing and recording off the new drive. It came with an E-sata cable but I opted for a better quality connection. Had tried many more expensive setups that did not work

enjoy

#428 OFFLINE   tuvok1701e

tuvok1701e

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2008

Posted 12 July 2008 - 05:50 PM

Calvary 1 TB Drive
from Newegg ...price was 199.99

SIIG 3 foot cable

This was a trouble free job. Within a few minutes I was viewing and recording off the new drive. It came with an E-sata cable but I opted for a better quality connection. Had tried many more expensive setups that did not work

enjoy



One other point i found out this calvary unit has a western digital drive inside it

#429 OFFLINE   kw2957

kw2957

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 318 posts
Joined: Apr 04, 2008

Posted 12 July 2008 - 06:12 PM

Hey guys---

Quick question...I don't know if this has already been brought up, but if you record content to an eSata drive and the DVR gets messed up, does the data get erased when you hook it up to a new DVR?? Will it work just the same as if it was on the last DVR (like plug-and-play), or would it be a hassle?

#430 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 12 July 2008 - 07:14 PM

Hey guys---

Quick question...I don't know if this has already been brought up, but if you record content to an eSata drive and the DVR gets messed up, does the data get erased when you hook it up to a new DVR?? Will it work just the same as if it was on the last DVR (like plug-and-play), or would it be a hassle?


You series links will still work but your recordings will not. They are married to the HD DVR they were recorded on. If you connect it to another unit you will still see the recordings when you go to "My Playlist" but they will not play.

#431 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,405 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 13 July 2008 - 07:36 AM

You series links will still work but your recordings will not. They are married to the HD DVR they were recorded on. If you connect it to another unit you will still see the recordings when you go to "My Playlist" but they will not play.

I can testify that this information is correct.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#432 OFFLINE   tuvok1701e

tuvok1701e

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2008

Posted 15 July 2008 - 09:41 AM

Is the Calvary drive quiet? And when you hook up an external drive, does that shut down the internal drive? I'm not really looking for extra storage but more to quiet down the buzzing sound of the internal drive. Plus 1TB of storage wouldn't hurt, although I would rarely use most of the storage space.


the Calvalry drive is very quiet and runs cool also. Yes is does shut down the internal drive

#433 OFFLINE   tuvok1701e

tuvok1701e

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2008

Posted 15 July 2008 - 09:45 AM

Hi sorry if this has been asked already. Will the Western Digital 1 TB My Book Home Edition external hard drive work? Its on sale for 199.00 at Costco this week.

Thanks



i can verify it wont work with the hr-21 been through that mess already but it from J&R and they would not give me a credit so I wound up stuck with it ...which is not so bad cause i hooked it to my computer and now i have a TB external for storage and backups. I love the Calvary drive, it works well for my hr-21

#434 OFFLINE   DarinC

DarinC

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,183 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2004

Posted 15 July 2008 - 09:54 AM

Yes is does shut down the internal drive


Is this a recent change? I've read in the past that while the internal drive is no longer accessed, it still spins up and runs as long as the DVR is powered up.

#435 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,428 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 15 July 2008 - 03:41 PM

Is this a recent change? I've read in the past that while the internal drive is no longer accessed, it still spins up and runs as long as the DVR is powered up.

Perhaps "shut down" was meant to say that the internal drive becomes inaccessible for recordings, which is actually what happens even though, as you point out, the internal drive continues to spin.

#436 OFFLINE   smartwatermelon

smartwatermelon

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 07:42 PM

Working setup:

HR21-700
Buffalo DriveStation Combo 4 1TB eSATA ( buffalotech.com/products/external-drives/drivestation/drivestation-combo-4/ )

Bought the Buffalo unit after trying and failing to get a Western Digital MyBook and Seagate FreeAgent Pro to work -- I know, if I'd read this thread, I'd have known already that those don't work.

I picked it up at Fry's (Palo Alto, CA) for $229.99 + tax ($248.96). It's available on PriceGrabber for $238.82 including shipping. ( computers.pricegrabber.com/hard-drives/m/65985467/st=product/sv=price/ )
-- SmartWatermelon
"no user-serviceable parts inside" -- yeah right!

Network map

#437 OFFLINE   Podkayne

Podkayne

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 173 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2007

Posted 11 August 2008 - 03:02 PM

Here is my working eSata setup:

Enclosure: Vantec Nexstar NST-400 MX black anodized aluminum RAID enclosure, jumpers set to JBOD, using included eSata cable connected to HR20-100. NewEgg has it for 119.99; I purchased mine at MicroCenter for 139.99 but they have a no questions asked return if it doesn't work. You can save the 20 bucks.

Drives: 2 x Western Digital WD10EACS 1 TB hard drives. MicroCenter had these on special for 159.99 a couple of weeks ago. Pricing on 1TB drives has been steadily drifting down.

I also tried it in RAID 0, but didn't notice any particular performance improvement in this configuration; RAID 1 works also and provides a measure of comfort to those who want it. I like keeping things simple and so I'm using JBOD.

You may want to hide this behind your TV or entertainment rack, since the bright flashing blue lights on the front panel can be a distraction, or you can simply cover them with something. Other than that, it's a great enclosure for the money. It seems to be running cooler than the HR20 and so far no probs for the first few days.

#438 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,282 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 11 August 2008 - 11:00 PM

Heres mine:

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM
VANTEC NST-360SU-BK 3.5" eSATA

Works great! OTA recordings went from 4% to 1.5%

Posted Image
65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#439 OFFLINE   kaylward

kaylward

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2006

Posted 13 August 2008 - 09:27 AM

I installed a ACOM Data pureDrive 1TB USb/eSATA Hard Drive on a HR 20-700 last night that I picked up at MicroCenter for $169. Everything is working great - immediately recognized per the standard hookup instructions.

Return your WD MyBooks and pick up this discount external drive...

#440 OFFLINE   Stephen M. Smith

Stephen M. Smith

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2004

Posted 15 August 2008 - 02:49 PM

I noticed this drive http://www.buy.com/p.../206805237.html is lowered priced than the drive I have noticed others discussing before
http://www.buy.com/p.../205986373.html

Reviewers on buy.com indicate it works with the DirecTv DVR. Could someone help me out and explain what the difference between these two drives is and whether there is any disadvantage with going with the less expensive drive.


I'd like to know the answer to this question too... and as far as the SIIG eSata cable, does their eSata2 cable work just as well as their eSata cable? Their both the same price.

#441 OFFLINE   pjpete

pjpete

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2007

Posted 15 August 2008 - 03:27 PM

Hi Stephen I ended up buying two of these drives and so far they have been working fine for me. I just used the cables that came with them.

Pete

#442 OFFLINE   Stephen M. Smith

Stephen M. Smith

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2004

Posted 15 August 2008 - 11:20 PM

Hi Stephen I ended up buying two of these drives and so far they have been working fine for me. I just used the cables that came with them.

Pete


Which one though? The black one or the less expensive silver one?

#443 OFFLINE   Getteau

Getteau

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 818 posts
  • LocationHouston
Joined: Dec 19, 2007

Posted 16 August 2008 - 12:13 PM

Just set this up last night and I'm sure it's a repeat of several others in this thread.

HR21-700
Antec MX-1 enclosure
WD 1TB Greenpower drive (model WD10000CSRTL)

Thanks,
Rich

HR44-500 - HDMI to Panasonic TC-50S1 50" Plasma
HR24-100 - HDMI to Panasonic TC-50S1 50" Plasma
HR23-700 - HDMI to Insignia 42" Plasma
HR22-100 - HDMI to LG 32" LCD
HR21-700 - WD 1T Green Power drive - HDMI to Toshiba 65HM167 65" rear projection

R22-200 - Component to Insignia 42" Plasma
R15 - svideo to Toshiba 32" tube tv


#444 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,783 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 16 August 2008 - 02:16 PM

I used black electrical tape.


Good choice. I prefer the Scotch 88 myself.

Rich

#445 OFFLINE   coldasice

coldasice

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2008

Posted 17 August 2008 - 04:45 AM

Thanks to all of you guys here I now have 1TB on my hr20-700. i went with the Antec MX-1 case, the included cable, and a Samsung HD103UJ 1TB w/32MB buffer.

The hard drive was on sale at Frys for $169 and has a 3yr warranty. The case was $49 I believe. Booted up on the first time super smoothly.

Now if I can only get rid of the 7 month issue having a 771 error on all of my 103b HD channels it would be perfect. The guy will be out again next Tuesday so we shall see.
Thanks again i know nothing about computers as I am a Car guy, but with the knowledge here my DVR is no longer full (yet)

Ice

#446 OFFLINE   feeth

feeth

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 125 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2006

Posted 19 August 2008 - 10:08 PM

I installed a ACOM Data pureDrive 1TB USb/eSATA Hard Drive on a HR 20-700 last night that I picked up at MicroCenter for $169. Everything is working great - immediately recognized per the standard hookup instructions.

Return your WD MyBooks and pick up this discount external drive...


That is good news as I just ordered the 750gb version for $110 shipped Use promo code EMCAJBKEA to get the price down to $110.

Newegg also has the 1TB version for $160 shipped.

Neither comes with a Esata cable. I think this is the correct cable.

#447 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,282 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 20 August 2008 - 05:07 AM

Looks like it.
65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#448 OFFLINE   feeth

feeth

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 125 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2006

Posted 21 August 2008 - 10:51 AM

Buy.com has a 1TB SATA, 16MB, internal Hard Drive for $130 shipped. Over on slickdeals they claim its a Western Digital Green Power 1TB.

#449 OFFLINE   mashoe

mashoe

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2008

Posted 21 August 2008 - 10:56 AM

Just wanted add another enclosure to the list:

Ampaqs Xtrastor Dual 3.5in SATA to eSATA + USB 2.0 HDD External Enclosure XS-2B35U-R-BK, Raid 0 + Raid 1

Available in Black & Silver (got black to match TV & HR21-100). It has a very quiet fan and all aluminum enclosure for best heat dissipation. I recommend disconnecting the light cables from the board as the lights are pretty bright, but currently are giving me peace of mind knowing that it's working. It comes with it's on eSATA cable which is working great. This drive has both RAID 0 & RAID 1 for those not sure what they want (more space vs. backup)

I stuffed 2x 1TB Western Digital WD10EACS with default jumper settings (aka: none) and flipped the switch to RAID 0, then hit the reset switch and turned it on before turning on the DVR. Worked like champ. If the TV is quiet (aka Paused) you can only hear the faint sound of the Hard Drive writing, but it's super quiet. The case doesn't get hot either, just warm as is expected.

Enclosure XS-2B35U-R-BK: $59
Drives WD10EACS: $159 x 2 = $318
Total: $377 for 2TB of HD Recording goodness.

Search the web for these part #s as each day they get cheaper and available from different places. Got the enclosure @ directron.com & HDs @ NewEgg.

Thx for all your help!

Matt
Who has only 1 month left of free HBO/Showtime and after recording 25 HD movies still has 90% free space left. :P

#450 OFFLINE   BradK

BradK

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Aug 21, 2008

Posted 21 August 2008 - 08:09 PM

How long did the reformatting process take? I tried a similar setup, but DirectTV got stuck at the "Step 1 of 2" for over 4 hours. I eventually unplugged the drive to revert back to the internal drive. How long did it take DirectTV to reformat the 2 TB?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...