Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Working eSata Setups:


  • Please log in to reply
2220 replies to this topic

#451 OFFLINE   Podkayne

Podkayne

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 173 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2007

Posted 21 August 2008 - 10:39 PM

After doing a menu reset, pulling plug on the HR-20 when the lights went dark, plugged in the vantec nexstar mx w/2x1TB drives described above, waited a few seconds for it to initialize, then plugged the HR-20 back in.


Took about seven minutes total to TV, and a few hours for the entire guide to repopulate.

A hang on boot is an indication of a communication problem between the HR-2x and the external drive (bad cable/connection or an incompatible external enclosure).

Good luck.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#452 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,282 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 22 August 2008 - 05:30 AM

After doing a menu reset, pulling plug on the HR-20 when the lights went dark, plugged in the vantec nexstar mx w/2x1TB drives described above, waited a few seconds for it to initialize, then plugged the HR-20 back in.


Took about seven minutes total to TV, and a few hours for the entire guide to repopulate.


Good luck.


Same for me.
65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#453 OFFLINE   mashoe

mashoe

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2008

Posted 22 August 2008 - 09:54 AM

Yup, it took longer to re-acquire the satellite signals than it did to deal with the new drive it seems. It definitely doesn't do the old-school formatting of writing to each possible sector, but it should do a "quick format" like is available on Windows or Mac so it should only take a couple seconds.

#454 OFFLINE   seanmcgpa

seanmcgpa

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 22 August 2008 - 12:18 PM

Hey guys... been following this thread and could use some advice please.

I purchased two enclosures : the MX-1 for my bedroom, and a Venus DS3R Pro for the living room. 3 1TB drives total (Samsung HD-103UJs that I already had).

The MX-1 has been flawless - I had it up and running in 10 minutes.

For the life of me I cannot get either of my HR-21s to recognize the DS3R Pro. I have tried a new Siig ESATA>ESATA cable, have tried JBOD, STRIP, SAFE. I have tried hooking this unit up to both of my HR-21's, no joy.

When I hook the Venus up to Vista via USB, Vista recognizes it fine - I can format, read and write to a 1.8 TB drive (in STRIP).

I unplug the HR-21, connect the DS3RPRO Esata>Esata cable. I then power up the DS3RPro. Wait at least 5 minutes until I have all green LEDs on the front panel. Power up the HR-21, it reboots fine but I always get back to my internal HD.

Can anyone suggest anything else? I'm at my wits end, and am ready to RMA this unit to Newegg for another raid unit (maybe the Vantec Nexstar?)

#455 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,282 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 22 August 2008 - 12:21 PM

Wonder why the HR21's are such a PITA?
65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#456 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,489 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 August 2008 - 12:25 PM

I posted this on another thread you were posting in. Here is how I got mine working.

"I just got the DS3R PRO working. I had connected it to my PC via the USB cable and it said it had 8 GB of unallocated memory. I called the AMS technician and he told me that after I had the Dip Switches set, I had to depress the "Model Apply SW Button" (the manual doesn't say anything about this button). This button applies the Dip Switch Settings or activates them or commits them to memory.

After I did that, he had me format the drives on my PC using a USB cable to connect to the PC. It then showed 985 GB of memory with the RAID 1 Mode (Drive 1 will just be a mirror image of Drive 0) so the PC or HR21-700 will not be able to recognize it because of the RAID controller.

I then hooked it up to the HR21-700 and powered it up and it recognized the SATA port's activity and booted up with the External Drive.

I now have 1TB of storage plus 1TB being mirrored on the second drive running RAID 1 Mode, FANTASTIC!!!
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#457 OFFLINE   seanmcgpa

seanmcgpa

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 22 August 2008 - 12:28 PM

Hey Rich,

I did try the Model Apply SW Button, pre format, post format - a million combinations, no joy :(

#458 OFFLINE   PAkidinVA

PAkidinVA

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2008

Posted 24 August 2008 - 08:21 PM

This is a good solution for HR 21-700 owners - maybe others too. I installed the AcomData PureDrive 1TB drive with a 6 foot SIIG cable and it came up quickly with no problems. I added the drive about five days after the Olympics started and we already have consumed over 60% of the drive with Olympics recordings. Thanks kaylward and DBStalk.

#459 OFFLINE   feeth

feeth

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 125 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2006

Posted 25 August 2008 - 03:24 PM

That is good news as I just ordered the 750gb version for $110 shipped Use promo code EMCAJBKEA to get the price down to $110.

Newegg also has the 1TB version for $160 shipped.

Neither comes with a Esata cable. I think this is the correct cable.


This is a good solution for HR 21-700 owners - maybe others too. I installed the AcomData PureDrive 1TB drive with a 6 foot SIIG cable and it came up quickly with no problems. I added the drive about five days after the Olympics started and we already have consumed over 60% of the drive with Olympics recordings. Thanks kaylward and DBStalk.


Wished I would of got mine a few weeks ago for the Olympics. :(

Received my Acomdata Puredrive 750gb from newegg today.

Unplugged HR20-700 for about 30 mins.

Plugged in the Esata cable from monoprice between the 2 units.

Plugged the new HD into the elect pwr, waited a few mins.

Plugged HD20-700 into elect pwr.

Had a picture in under 10 mins and the guide is starting to repopulate.

#460 OFFLINE   DFWHD

DFWHD

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 26 August 2008 - 08:38 PM

I've got an HR21 and want to add more space. Based on what I'm reading here, sounds like the Antec MX-1 case is one of the proven ways to go. Is anyone using the Seagate Barracuda 1TB ST31000340AS internal drive with the MX-1? The drive is currently priced at 159.99 at NewEgg

Thanks for the input!
An HD Addict Since 2006 - Must Have More HD Nationals...

#461 OFFLINE   rmplatt

rmplatt

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2008

Posted 27 August 2008 - 08:10 PM

I've got an HR21 and want to add more space. Based on what I'm reading here, sounds like the Antec MX-1 case is one of the proven ways to go. Is anyone using the Seagate Barracuda 1TB ST31000340AS internal drive with the MX-1? The drive is currently priced at 159.99 at NewEgg

Thanks for the input!


read me

I have this drive and am having lots of problems (got it for 109 from dell on a pricing error) I have the HR21-100, if you have the HR-21-700 your results might differ. And my problems might be due to one faulty component, and may not be replicated at all, but when I called Seagate, they say that they have a different drive they reccomend for DVR usage. I think it's the DB35 series. I see a lot of people have success with the WD drives, and I wish I had gotten one of those. Good luck

#462 OFFLINE   smartwatermelon

smartwatermelon

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2007

Posted 27 August 2008 - 11:11 PM

Just following up to note that I've returned the Buffalo DriveStation I bought earlier this month after a two-week torture test (buffering hours of HD Olympics). The HR21 was markedly less stable with the external drive, and there were extended gray-screen freezes when deleting saved programs and navigating the list. I'll come back to it when D* decides to actually support the eSATA port, or explore an internal upgrade if necessary.
-- SmartWatermelon
"no user-serviceable parts inside" -- yeah right!

Network map

#463 OFFLINE   pjsauter

pjsauter

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2008

Posted 28 August 2008 - 04:20 AM

HR21-700
Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM HDD
Rosewill RX-358-S Enclosure
Cable that came with the enclosure

Worked right away without any hassles.

#464 OFFLINE   STEVEN-H

STEVEN-H

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 629 posts
  • LocationLouisville, KY
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 28 August 2008 - 04:34 AM

HR21-100
Cavalry 1TB Hard Drive from buy.com
Hook up and running after beboot.
NO problems to this point.
The blue light is quite bright! Electric tape put over it.
HR24-500 AM-21
HR24-200 AM-21
Direct TV Slimline-5S (SWM) DECA
Direct TV since 6/23/96.

#465 OFFLINE   EnderWiggin

EnderWiggin

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2008

Posted 28 August 2008 - 09:27 AM

Just set this up last night and I'm sure it's a repeat of several others in this thread.

HR21-700
Antec MX-1 enclosure
WD 1TB Greenpower drive (model WD10000CSRTL)


Purchased the same setup from Best Buy yesterday. Hooked it up and in under 10 minutes was all ready to go. :D

Was able to record a couple of HD movies and some HD TV shows and it's so nice to see that I still have 99% free.

#466 OFFLINE   bob330i

bob330i

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2008

Posted 28 August 2008 - 05:28 PM

Purchased the same setup from Best Buy yesterday. Hooked it up and in under 10 minutes was all ready to go. :D

Was able to record a couple of HD movies and some HD TV shows and it's so nice to see that I still have 99% free.



That's a $300 solution based on Bestbuy.com pricing. Must have really wanted it now.

#467 OFFLINE   cab2

cab2

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2008

Posted 29 August 2008 - 06:07 AM

Just set this up last night and I'm sure it's a repeat of several others in this thread.

HR21-700
Antec MX-1 enclosure
WD 1TB Greenpower drive (model WD10000CSRTL)


I've had the same setup for a few months now except it's a HR21-100. Is anyone else noticing repeated freezes with the dvr when using one of these green power drives?

I've noticed freezes, that last for 30 to 90 seconds and then continues on as normal. I've also noticed cases where all video starts to jitter a little bit and will continue to get worse, unless I reboot. In both of these cases, a reboot will fix it for about 5 to 7 days but then it's back. I'm trying to figure out if I have a bad drive, or maybe the green power drives might not be up to the 24/7 load of the DVR? It's not a huge problem for me, but at least inconvienent.

thanks in advance
cab

#468 OFFLINE   BradK

BradK

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Aug 21, 2008

Posted 29 August 2008 - 06:59 PM

Just wanted add another enclosure to the list:

Ampaqs Xtrastor Dual 3.5in SATA to eSATA + USB 2.0 HDD External Enclosure XS-2B35U-R-BK, Raid 0 + Raid 1

Available in Black & Silver (got black to match TV & HR21-100). It has a very quiet fan and all aluminum enclosure for best heat dissipation. I recommend disconnecting the light cables from the board as the lights are pretty bright, but currently are giving me peace of mind knowing that it's working. It comes with it's on eSATA cable which is working great. This drive has both RAID 0 & RAID 1 for those not sure what they want (more space vs. backup)

I stuffed 2x 1TB Western Digital WD10EACS with default jumper settings (aka: none) and flipped the switch to RAID 0, then hit the reset switch and turned it on before turning on the DVR. Worked like champ. If the TV is quiet (aka Paused) you can only hear the faint sound of the Hard Drive writing, but it's super quiet. The case doesn't get hot either, just warm as is expected.

Enclosure XS-2B35U-R-BK: $59
Drives WD10EACS: $159 x 2 = $318
Total: $377 for 2TB of HD Recording goodness.

Search the web for these part #s as each day they get cheaper and available from different places. Got the enclosure @ directron.com & HDs @ NewEgg.

Thx for all your help!

Matt
Who has only 1 month left of free HBO/Showtime and after recording 25 HD movies still has 90% free space left. :P


mashoe,

I went and bought the same EXACT enclosure with the same EXACT WD drives. I performed the following steps:
1) Pulled out the power plug on the back of the DirecTV HR21-100.
2) Connected the eSATA cable to the back of the HR21.
3) Switched the switch to RAID 0, pressed the reset button and turned on the enclosure.
4) Put the power plug back in on the HR21.

When the HR21 was starting up, the READ/WRITE light on the enclosure blinked 3 or so times, but that's all. And it didn't recognize the enclosure at all (even if I didn't do the RESET correctly, I would think it would have gone to the default RAID 1 setting)

I'm using a brand-new DirecTV HR21-100. It has software version 0x255 (updated 7-16).

I connected the enclosure to my computer using the USB connection and it correctly recognized the RAID 0 setting (1.83 TB) -- I even formatted it and copied a file to it, to verify that it was working.

Got any suggestions?

BradK

#469 OFFLINE   rmplatt

rmplatt

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2008

Posted 30 August 2008 - 08:26 AM

I've had the same setup for a few months now except it's a HR21-100. Is anyone else noticing repeated freezes with the dvr when using one of these green power drives?

I've noticed freezes, that last for 30 to 90 seconds and then continues on as normal. I've also noticed cases where all video starts to jitter a little bit and will continue to get worse, unless I reboot. In both of these cases, a reboot will fix it for about 5 to 7 days but then it's back. I'm trying to figure out if I have a bad drive, or maybe the green power drives might not be up to the 24/7 load of the DVR? It's not a huge problem for me, but at least inconvienent.

thanks in advance
cab


Okay... here's trouble. I too have the same exact problems. But with a seagate drive. I'm now leaning towards suspicion of the HR21-100. This model seems to have the most problems out of all the HR2X's with the eSATA hookups. I'm doing more troubleshooting today, swapping out the seagate for a different model, switching the case from the MX-1 to a different one. Using a different eSATA calbe. I think I'll have the culprit by the end of the day. I'll post my results.

#470 OFFLINE   rmplatt

rmplatt

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2008

Posted 30 August 2008 - 09:24 PM

Okay... here's trouble. I too have the same exact problems. But with a seagate drive. I'm now leaning towards suspicion of the HR21-100. This model seems to have the most problems out of all the HR2X's with the eSATA hookups. I'm doing more troubleshooting today, swapping out the seagate for a different model, switching the case from the MX-1 to a different one. Using a different eSATA calbe. I think I'll have the culprit by the end of the day. I'll post my results.


Okay, this seems too stupid to be true, but I didn't get past my first step. All I did was swap out the eSATA cable with one of higher quality, and the problems seem to have disappeared.

I can disconnect it and re connect it without the DVR reformatting and forcing me to lose my recordings, and all the freezing seems to have gone away, no choppy playback. I did have one instance of the US Open freezing, but it hasn't happened since. A far cry from the freezing multiple times per hour. And it may have been at the source for all I know.

The only other thing I did was to orient the drive vertically. I read on seagates web site that this drive has some kind of feature that makes it stable in vertical orientation. I highly doubt this made any difference whatsoever, but it's the only other thing I did, so I'm not changing it.

Good luck to the others who have been having problems with the MX-1 with the seagate drive in it.

#471 OFFLINE   Guitar Hero

Guitar Hero

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 280 posts
Joined: Dec 13, 2005

Posted 31 August 2008 - 08:51 AM

With everybody having so many problems, could it be the software in the HR2Xs causing them?

I've noticed that my, and others, problems started after the software update in late June, or early July. I NEVER had a freeze-up problem, I NEVER had a delay problem starting up a recording, I NEVER had the external basically shut down on me, until that software update.

I ask this simple question, is eSATA still unsupported?

I obviously have good reason to think it could be the software giving us all these problems, but cannot explain why others have success. All I know, it's not my HDD external case, it's not my HDD, and it's not the cable. I've replaced ALL of them, and I still cannot get my HR20 to boot to external anymore.

I think ALL OF US should call D* and complain and let them know about our problems. Maybe they'll get somebody on it and solve or figure out what could be going wrong. It just strikes me as odd, that NOW all of us using an external HDD are having so many problems with it.

Now, I hate to start unfounded conspiracies why the external HDDs don't work properly, but could it be D* wants to come out with their own external HDD? Maybe, they want to start charging a fee for external HDD use and are testing the software to block its use now, which explains all the problems. They've become so greedy in the last few years, I don't put it past them, to be honest. I'm all for making a buck, but if this is true, I'll kiss this service good-bye. D* has already 'hanging on by a string' as it is, and this would put me over the top. It's already bad enough they take advantage of my disability and charge me a monthly service fee to fix the alignment problems on my dish, since I cannot clime a ladder and get up there myself to fix the problem myself. Now, they want to block my external HDD, too? Again, just a 'conspiracy' thought I had.

#472 OFFLINE   illinileo

illinileo

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 02 September 2008 - 12:52 AM

My Enclosure bit the dust today- first it made some clicking noises, then a few loud pops. I think I'm just out of warranty too. I've got a call into their technical support just in case.

I have two WD7500AAKS drives in the enclosure, so I could either get another 4 drive enclosure (and add a third drive), or go with a 2 drive enclosure.

Looking for 4 and 2 drive enclosure suggestions- would like to make sure that the drives don't get too hot (like in my original Thecus enclosure) and that the noise level is at a minimum.

#473 OFFLINE   rmplatt

rmplatt

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2008

Posted 02 September 2008 - 06:15 PM

Nevermind what I wrote. The darn thing is still having issues. I'm getting stuttered playback on all my recordings, and when I did a RBR it re-formatted the drive again. I so want to try it on the inside of the DVR to see if it has any different effect. I think it all boils down to data transfer. I have a cable from monoprice, and it did get better, but I'm going to try a SIIG cable next. We'll see if the data transfer is any better with that cable.

Okay, this seems too stupid to be true, but I didn't get past my first step. All I did was swap out the eSATA cable with one of higher quality, and the problems seem to have disappeared.

I can disconnect it and re connect it without the DVR reformatting and forcing me to lose my recordings, and all the freezing seems to have gone away, no choppy playback. I did have one instance of the US Open freezing, but it hasn't happened since. A far cry from the freezing multiple times per hour. And it may have been at the source for all I know.

The only other thing I did was to orient the drive vertically. I read on seagates web site that this drive has some kind of feature that makes it stable in vertical orientation. I highly doubt this made any difference whatsoever, but it's the only other thing I did, so I'm not changing it.

Good luck to the others who have been having problems with the MX-1 with the seagate drive in it.



#474 OFFLINE   gregries

gregries

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2008

Posted 06 September 2008 - 05:36 PM

Just to add another data point:

I, too, have had trouble getting my hr21-100 to recognize any of the eSATA combinations I've tried. Lately I've been focussing on the DS3R-PRO since some folks have that working. I've got it set to RAID1 (mirroring). The PC works with it fine. I've tried it unpartitioned, unformatted, formatted, with 3 different cables, and after chanting "please work" 100 times, but nothing matters. Every reboot it plays with the DSDR-PRO a little--flickers the lights about 4 times, spaced apart--and then decides to finish booting off the internal.

My mom taught me not to play with my food, but I guess nobody told my hr21 that. :)

Personally, I think the eSATA port on the hr21-100's are a step down...

The DS3RPRO was even tested by the manufacturer, and it passed all the tests, including one of the eSATA function.

There's no way I can have 3 bad (brand-new) cables. The PC likes the enclosure just fine. It's gotta be my hr21-100. And given the other reports, it looks like hr21-100's in general. Dang! because my whole idea was to run RAID1 on this #$@% thing.

Since this is an usupported feature, does that mean one can't get the receiver swapped because of it?

Greg

#475 OFFLINE   ryno2292

ryno2292

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2008

Posted 06 September 2008 - 09:40 PM

I've been running an MX-1 enclosure with a Western Digital WD10EVCS drive for a little over a week. No problems with that setup to this point (HR21-700).




Protected By... spam firewall...And...