Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Working eSata Setups:


  • Please log in to reply
2203 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,258 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 July 2007 - 09:48 AM

It was used as internal drive for a couple weeks;
since Hitachi selling only one 1 TB SATA model, you'll not miss it :).

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Fire407

Fire407

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 26 July 2007 - 01:28 AM

I just connected a Seagate FreeAgent 750GB today. It is extremely easy to do. Evidently it is very important to have the right cable. After reading the forum I got the SIIG eSata to eSata 2 meter cable from newegg. It is eSata II compliant so you do not have to trim any plastic from the connectors. I would recommend that anyone having problems adding a drive to use this cable. I would imagine that a whole lot of people are going to want to add eSata drives once they know how simple it is.

#28 OFFLINE   anytimeuwnt

anytimeuwnt

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2007

Posted 26 July 2007 - 05:57 AM

This is some great info guys.....

Here is a quick question. I have a Seagate Free-Agent 350GB Drive. It looks like i will need to get this eSATA Cable to make it all work. My question is will it be worth it??? All of you have these HUGE drives.

How big is the hard drive on the HR20? Will this just add to my storage space or will it use just the external drive? Will my 350 GB drive give me alot more space?

Maybe I am just having trouble quantifying the benefits to me. Now if both drives work in harmony, I can kind of understand why it would be of use. If they don't, it might explain why some of you went with these monstrous drives.

#29 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 26 July 2007 - 07:01 AM

This is some great info guys.....

Here is a quick question. I have a Seagate Free-Agent 350GB Drive. It looks like i will need to get this eSATA Cable to make it all work. My question is will it be worth it??? All of you have these HUGE drives.

How big is the hard drive on the HR20? Will this just add to my storage space or will it use just the external drive? Will my 350 GB drive give me alot more space?

Maybe I am just having trouble quantifying the benefits to me. Now if both drives work in harmony, I can kind of understand why it would be of use. If they don't, it might explain why some of you went with these monstrous drives.


The HR20-700 has a 300gb and the -100 has a 320gb. I don't think using a 350gb is really worth it. I would not use anything less then a 750gb myself. Just my opinion.

#30 OFFLINE   RayJ

RayJ

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2006

Posted 26 July 2007 - 08:31 AM

I bought the Free Agent Pro 750 and a cable from Fry's. I asked the clerk if the cable was a new one because of what I read here. He assured me it was.

Yada, Yada, Yada..... had to go to Microcenter to buy a new cable ("QVS" brand eSATA II) and returned the other to Fry's. They are clueless sometimes.

New cable and drive working flawlessly. WAF is high since I can no longer use the excuse that we had to watch something she didn't want to watch because we were running out of room on the disk.

#31 OFFLINE   nellee

nellee

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2007

Posted 26 July 2007 - 11:44 AM

Purchased the Seagate FA Pro 750GB drive at bestbuy this past Saturday on sale for $239 (or was it $229). Used my reward certificates and brought it down to an even $200.

Had already ordered an eSata cable from Monoprice last week.

Got the HR20-100 and dish installed this past Sunday.

Tried to hook up the drive Sunday night but was not sure it was working since I didn't have any recorded programs on it, but realized that the few Series Links I set up prior to plugging in the FA was still there so I realized that it wasn't working.

Unplugged the drive and cable, and grabbed a steak knife :D and started sawing off a sliver of the plastic from the cable.

Recorded a quick show for a few minutes onto the internal drive before I plugged the FA back in and voila, it worked! :grin:

Very Happy camper

#32 OFFLINE   Fire407

Fire407

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 26 July 2007 - 12:59 PM

This is some great info guys.....

Here is a quick question. I have a Seagate Free-Agent 350GB Drive. It looks like i will need to get this eSATA Cable to make it all work. My question is will it be worth it??? All of you have these HUGE drives.

How big is the hard drive on the HR20? Will this just add to my storage space or will it use just the external drive? Will my 350 GB drive give me alot more space?

Maybe I am just having trouble quantifying the benefits to me. Now if both drives work in harmony, I can kind of understand why it would be of use. If they don't, it might explain why some of you went with these monstrous drives.

The eSata drive works instead of the internal drive. Whatever space you have on the eSata is your total space. You could occasionally remove the external drive and use the internal drive, but that would require rebooting every time and then it would take a long time to fully download the guide each time you do that. The bigger the external drive, the better. I'm using a 750GB now, but as prices go down and storage goes up, I would imagine that 2 or 3 TB could be very affordable in a couple of years. Also, I'm guessing that it's possible to use one eSata drive for movies, and a different drive for football games for example, as long as you are willing to go through the reboot hassle.

#33 OFFLINE   funhouse69

funhouse69

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 669 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 30 July 2007 - 03:46 AM

I posted this in the other External Drive Thread but with well over 1000 posts I can certainly understand why no one would want to go through them all to find out some info.

My set up that has been working like a champ since the end of March on my HR20-700. I haven't added anything to my Hr20-100 yet but will probably go with the same setup or maybe a 2 drive unit.

This enclosure
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817121022

With this drive
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822148134

I tried a different enclosure which worked fine but got WAY to hot which is why I went with this one that has a fan built in to it. This is the only single drive enclosure that I've seen with a fan to date.
Was with D* for over 10 years then switched to the dark-side a few years ago and haven't looked back. I truly enjoy the 50% savings and uninterrupted service

#34 OFFLINE   jpoet

jpoet

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 01 August 2007 - 03:47 PM

I have not done this yet, but am planning on going with this:

http://www.silentpcr...e728-page1.html

Seagate, Samsung and Western Digitial are all supposed to come out with 1tb SATA drives "soon".

John

#35 OFFLINE   mndwalsh

mndwalsh

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 177 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 02 August 2007 - 12:45 PM

I have been using this for about 2 months:

Encloser
Antec MX-1

Drive
Seagate 750gb SATA ST3750640AS

seagate has a newer model with NS and not AS

Encloser came with cabel and all, I have had ZERO problems with it and it is very quiet.

#36 OFFLINE   ebsmith1

ebsmith1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2007

Posted 06 August 2007 - 07:47 PM

I have a Hitachi Deskstar 7A1000 1 TB from NewEgg for $380

My enclosure is a Ultra ULT3053 From Fry's Electronics for $60.
It has USB as well (I checked out my disk first by connecting to a laptop (USB)
Enclosure is plastic but has a small quiet fan.

Working great!

Only slight negative is that the enclosure has rather large/ bright power on and disc access lights. I will cover them up as soon as I finish watching when the disk is accessed.

#37 OFFLINE   turls

turls

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Jul 08, 2006

Posted 07 August 2007 - 08:45 AM

Seagate FA Pro 750GB from Dell ($215 + tax free ship)

SIIG CB-SA0111-S1 Cable from NewEgg

Had to start over anyway because my original HR20 died.

Works like a charm.

#38 OFFLINE   Guitar Hero

Guitar Hero

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 280 posts
Joined: Dec 13, 2005

Posted 08 August 2007 - 01:10 AM

Just curious, do you guys leave the external drive on at all times? Turning it off at all?

If you do turn it off, how does it record shows that are programmed when you're not around? Does the external come on, if it is off, when the programmed show starts?

#39 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 08 August 2007 - 04:07 AM

Just curious, do you guys leave the external drive on at all times? Turning it off at all?

If you do turn it off, how does it record shows that are programmed when you're not around? Does the external come on, if it is off, when the programmed show starts?


You have to leave it plugged it and power up.

#40 OFFLINE   funhouse69

funhouse69

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 669 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 13 August 2007 - 01:58 AM

I'm looking to add external storage to my HR20-100 and I was thinking about going with the Thecus N2050UD 2 Drive Enclosure. Does anyone know if I can start with one drive then add a second without loosing my content or will I have to start over again.

I know in typical RAID Systems you can expand from a single drive but wasn't sure about this enclosure. I checked the company website and didn't really find any info.
Was with D* for over 10 years then switched to the dark-side a few years ago and haven't looked back. I truly enjoy the 50% savings and uninterrupted service

#41 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 13 August 2007 - 05:15 AM

I'm looking to add external storage to my HR20-100 and I was thinking about going with the Thecus N2050UD 2 Drive Enclosure. Does anyone know if I can start with one drive then add a second without loosing my content or will I have to start over again.

I know in typical RAID Systems you can expand from a single drive but wasn't sure about this enclosure. I checked the company website and didn't really find any info.

Same rules apply.. when you add a second drive the whole array will have to be wiped out..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#42 OFFLINE   bbq-allstar

bbq-allstar

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 13 August 2007 - 08:22 PM

I posted this in the other External Drive Thread but with well over 1000 posts I can certainly understand why no one would want to go through them all to find out some info.

My set up that has been working like a champ since the end of March on my HR20-700. I haven't added anything to my Hr20-100 yet but will probably go with the same setup or maybe a 2 drive unit.

This enclosure
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817121022

With this drive
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822148134

I tried a different enclosure which worked fine but got WAY to hot which is why I went with this one that has a fan built in to it. This is the only single drive enclosure that I've seen with a fan to date.



So what cable did you use? I just ordered this combo from newegg but realized that I need a SATA-eSATA cable right?

***EDIT -- My bad, the enclosure is SATA to eSATA... however, I should've done some price checking... Frys has the same HD for $189 (newegg was $209)

#43 OFFLINE   Griff

Griff

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 123 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 13 August 2007 - 11:30 PM

Hitachi 1tb, Vantec enclosure. Enclosure comes with cables, used the included SATA to eSATA cable. Hooked drive up to the computer first to use Hitachi's features utility to set acoustic management to midpoint on the scale. Drive is very quiet running on the HR20-700.

#44 OFFLINE   LI-SVT

LI-SVT

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 649 posts
Joined: May 18, 2006

Posted 16 August 2007 - 06:41 AM

I'm in!

I initially tried the Seagate FA Pro 750g with the Monoprice type I eSATA to eSATA cable. No dice:nono: Even with modifying it the HR20 never saw it.

Next I tried the SIIG CB-SA0111-S1 cable with the FA Pro. MONEY:D The HR20 saw the external drive on the first try.

Recovering all of my series links is a bummer. In the future D* should transfer your searches and series links to the external drive. I don't make this comment out of laziness, some shows that I have links for are on rarely. Now I have to babysit the guide waiting for the shows to come on so I can set the series links. Searches are the same. If you do a title search and the show is not in the guide the search can't be saved.

Ultimate plus movie channels

One Genie

Two HR21P


#45 OFFLINE   bobinyuma

bobinyuma

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2006

Posted 17 August 2007 - 10:53 AM

I have two HR20's. One in the living room with a seagate Pro 500 gig drive. The bedroom HR20 has no external hard drive attached. I am purchasing a seagate pro 750. I would like to put the 500 gig in the bedroom and the new 750 gig in the living room. Since I have little recorded on both HR20's and the new HD from Directv is starting soon, now seems the time to make the move. My question is, and I am assuming that, will I loose the ability to view my recordings on the older 500gig when I transfer it to my bedroom? Really just a question of curiosity because I am making the change regardless. I am assuming I will lose season passes also?

By the way, the current Seagate works flawlessly and is much quieter than the HR20 hard drive. Yellow light is neat, not annoying for me. I bought both drives from buy.com along with their under six buck esata II cable.

#46 OFFLINE   lucky13

lucky13

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,973 posts
  • LocationMaryland, DC suburbs
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 17 August 2007 - 12:14 PM

I have two HR20's. One in the living room with a seagate Pro 500 gig drive. The bedroom HR20 has no external hard drive attached. I am purchasing a seagate pro 750. I would like to put the 500 gig in the bedroom and the new 750 gig in the living room. Since I have little recorded on both HR20's and the new HD from Directv is starting soon, now seems the time to make the move. My question is, and I am assuming that, will I loose the ability to view my recordings on the older 500gig when I transfer it to my bedroom? Really just a question of curiosity because I am making the change regardless. I am assuming I will lose season passes also?


You won't actually lose the content on the ESATA drive when you swap it; you just won't be able to play the recordings on any DVR other than the one that recorded them. You'll see the old recordings on the ToDo list, but you'll get an error message if you try to play them.

If the DVR connections are accessible, you might want to move the HR20 and ESATA in tandem to another room.

#47 OFFLINE   kfcrosby

kfcrosby

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 376 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 17 August 2007 - 12:58 PM

I took the plunge and got he Seagate Free Agent Pro 750 external eSATA drive with a SIIG CB-SA0111-S1 cable. I was back up and running quickly.

http://www.amazon.co...2&s=electronics

Yes the light on the from can be a little distracting in low light conditions but I have it mounted in the cabinet with dark Plexiglas in the door.

Much better recording HD programming and not having to constantly delete stuff to make room.

VERY easy mod, and well worth it.

Kevin Crosby
Memphis, TN
DirecTV subscriber since 1996


#48 OFFLINE   bobinyuma

bobinyuma

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2006

Posted 17 August 2007 - 04:05 PM

If the DVR connections are accessible, you might want to move the HR20 and ESATA in tandem to another room.



I have no idea why I did not think of this very simple solution. Thanks...it must be Friday!!

#49 OFFLINE   funhouse69

funhouse69

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 669 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 18 August 2007 - 01:31 PM

I posted earlier that I had a working set up on my HR20-700. I recently got a second HR20 but this time its a 100 (unfortunately not black).

With this new one I knew I was going to add on some kind of external storage but couldn't decide if I wanted to go with a multi-drive unit or not. After some debate I decided to stick with old faithful that has been working for several months without a hitch. I bought the exact same set up as I have on my 700 and sure enough it worked immediately without any hassles or modifications whatsoever to the included cable.

Even though I have posted it here before I will post it again just so it is handy.

This enclosure
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817121022

With this drive
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822148134

The only thing is that this enclosure has a somewhat BRIGHT blue LED on the front of it. I only mention it because I've read other comments about things like this so I thought I would throw it out there. In my set up it really doesn't matter but if if did I would just put a piece of electrical tape on it or something.
Was with D* for over 10 years then switched to the dark-side a few years ago and haven't looked back. I truly enjoy the 50% savings and uninterrupted service

#50 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 18 August 2007 - 01:33 PM

I posted earlier that I had a working set up on my HR20-700. I recently got a second HR20 but this time its a 100 (unfortunately not black).

With this new one I knew I was going to add on some kind of external storage but couldn't decide if I wanted to go with a multi-drive unit or not. After some debate I decided to stick with old faithful that has been working for several months without a hitch. I bought the exact same set up as I have on my 700 and sure enough it worked immediately without any hassles or modifications whatsoever to the included cable.

Even though I have posted it here before I will post it again just so it is handy.

This enclosure
http://www.newegg.co....82E16817121022

With this drive
http://www.newegg.co....82E16822148134

The only thing is that this enclosure has a somewhat BRIGHT blue LED on the front of it. I only mention it because I've read other comments about things like this so I thought I would throw it out there. In my set up it really doesn't matter but if if did I would just put a piece of electrical tape on it or something.


Your links are not working.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...