Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Working eSata Setups:


  • Please log in to reply
2163 replies to this topic

#421 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,692 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 03 July 2008 - 03:24 PM

Wow...that's the biggest eSata cable I've ever seen Drew. :D :lol:
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#422 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,207 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 03 July 2008 - 03:27 PM

You'll need an eSATA cable, available at lots of places ...

Posted Image

And here's a regular SATA cable ...

Posted Image


Drew thanks a bunch

JACK,
 
 


#423 OFFLINE   viperlmw

viperlmw

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2007

Posted 03 July 2008 - 03:32 PM

I just got a free agent pro 1TB but there were no wires for connection in the box. What wire do I need? What should the ends look like?

The Free Agent Pro probably won't work on the HR21, should work on the HR20.

#424 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,207 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 03 July 2008 - 03:35 PM

The Free Agent Pro probably won't work on the HR21, should work on the HR20.


I have a HR20-700

JACK,
 
 


#425 OFFLINE   pjpete

pjpete

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2007

Posted 05 July 2008 - 11:24 AM

Long time lurker, first time poster.

Does anyone see a reason why the following drive would not work with an HR21-700.

Cavalry 1TB CAXM3701T0...I found it at buy.com..Sorry no link until 5 posts.

Thanks to any and all replies
Drew


I noticed this drive http://www.buy.com/p.../206805237.html is lowered priced than the drive I have noticed others discussing before
http://www.buy.com/p.../205986373.html

Reviewers on buy.com indicate it works with the DirecTv DVR. Could someone help me out and explain what the difference between these two drives is and whether there is any disadvantage with going with the less expensive drive.

Thanks in advance

#426 OFFLINE   CJTE

CJTE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,345 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2007

Posted 05 July 2008 - 05:26 PM

Hi sorry if this has been asked already. Will the Western Digital 1 TB My Book Home Edition external hard drive work? Its on sale for 199.00 at Costco this week.

Thanks


We're probably going to have to cover this alot.

WD MyBooks do not work with DirecTV HDDVR's (atleast, not usually straight out of the box). But dont feel bad, they dont work with alot of devices. This is due to a specific driver/software that appearantly is required by WD. This is also true for the "One-Touch" backup drives.

I used to get alot of PS3 customers who had the same problem (certain enclosures wouldnt work because of drivers)

#427 OFFLINE   tuvok1701e

tuvok1701e

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2008

Posted 12 July 2008 - 05:30 PM

Calvary 1 TB Drive
from Newegg ...price was 199.99

SIIG 3 foot cable

This was a trouble free job. Within a few minutes I was viewing and recording off the new drive. It came with an E-sata cable but I opted for a better quality connection. Had tried many more expensive setups that did not work

enjoy

#428 OFFLINE   tuvok1701e

tuvok1701e

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2008

Posted 12 July 2008 - 05:50 PM

Calvary 1 TB Drive
from Newegg ...price was 199.99

SIIG 3 foot cable

This was a trouble free job. Within a few minutes I was viewing and recording off the new drive. It came with an E-sata cable but I opted for a better quality connection. Had tried many more expensive setups that did not work

enjoy



One other point i found out this calvary unit has a western digital drive inside it

#429 OFFLINE   kw2957

kw2957

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 318 posts
Joined: Apr 04, 2008

Posted 12 July 2008 - 06:12 PM

Hey guys---

Quick question...I don't know if this has already been brought up, but if you record content to an eSata drive and the DVR gets messed up, does the data get erased when you hook it up to a new DVR?? Will it work just the same as if it was on the last DVR (like plug-and-play), or would it be a hassle?

#430 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 12 July 2008 - 07:14 PM

Hey guys---

Quick question...I don't know if this has already been brought up, but if you record content to an eSata drive and the DVR gets messed up, does the data get erased when you hook it up to a new DVR?? Will it work just the same as if it was on the last DVR (like plug-and-play), or would it be a hassle?


You series links will still work but your recordings will not. They are married to the HD DVR they were recorded on. If you connect it to another unit you will still see the recordings when you go to "My Playlist" but they will not play.

#431 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,692 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 13 July 2008 - 07:36 AM

You series links will still work but your recordings will not. They are married to the HD DVR they were recorded on. If you connect it to another unit you will still see the recordings when you go to "My Playlist" but they will not play.

I can testify that this information is correct.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#432 OFFLINE   tuvok1701e

tuvok1701e

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2008

Posted 15 July 2008 - 09:41 AM

Is the Calvary drive quiet? And when you hook up an external drive, does that shut down the internal drive? I'm not really looking for extra storage but more to quiet down the buzzing sound of the internal drive. Plus 1TB of storage wouldn't hurt, although I would rarely use most of the storage space.


the Calvalry drive is very quiet and runs cool also. Yes is does shut down the internal drive

#433 OFFLINE   tuvok1701e

tuvok1701e

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2008

Posted 15 July 2008 - 09:45 AM

Hi sorry if this has been asked already. Will the Western Digital 1 TB My Book Home Edition external hard drive work? Its on sale for 199.00 at Costco this week.

Thanks



i can verify it wont work with the hr-21 been through that mess already but it from J&R and they would not give me a credit so I wound up stuck with it ...which is not so bad cause i hooked it to my computer and now i have a TB external for storage and backups. I love the Calvary drive, it works well for my hr-21

#434 OFFLINE   DarinC

DarinC

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,183 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2004

Posted 15 July 2008 - 09:54 AM

Yes is does shut down the internal drive


Is this a recent change? I've read in the past that while the internal drive is no longer accessed, it still spins up and runs as long as the DVR is powered up.

#435 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,724 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 15 July 2008 - 03:41 PM

Is this a recent change? I've read in the past that while the internal drive is no longer accessed, it still spins up and runs as long as the DVR is powered up.

Perhaps "shut down" was meant to say that the internal drive becomes inaccessible for recordings, which is actually what happens even though, as you point out, the internal drive continues to spin.

#436 OFFLINE   smartwatermelon

smartwatermelon

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 07:42 PM

Working setup:

HR21-700
Buffalo DriveStation Combo 4 1TB eSATA ( buffalotech.com/products/external-drives/drivestation/drivestation-combo-4/ )

Bought the Buffalo unit after trying and failing to get a Western Digital MyBook and Seagate FreeAgent Pro to work -- I know, if I'd read this thread, I'd have known already that those don't work.

I picked it up at Fry's (Palo Alto, CA) for $229.99 + tax ($248.96). It's available on PriceGrabber for $238.82 including shipping. ( computers.pricegrabber.com/hard-drives/m/65985467/st=product/sv=price/ )
-- SmartWatermelon
"no user-serviceable parts inside" -- yeah right!

Network map

#437 OFFLINE   Podkayne

Podkayne

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 173 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2007

Posted 11 August 2008 - 03:02 PM

Here is my working eSata setup:

Enclosure: Vantec Nexstar NST-400 MX black anodized aluminum RAID enclosure, jumpers set to JBOD, using included eSata cable connected to HR20-100. NewEgg has it for 119.99; I purchased mine at MicroCenter for 139.99 but they have a no questions asked return if it doesn't work. You can save the 20 bucks.

Drives: 2 x Western Digital WD10EACS 1 TB hard drives. MicroCenter had these on special for 159.99 a couple of weeks ago. Pricing on 1TB drives has been steadily drifting down.

I also tried it in RAID 0, but didn't notice any particular performance improvement in this configuration; RAID 1 works also and provides a measure of comfort to those who want it. I like keeping things simple and so I'm using JBOD.

You may want to hide this behind your TV or entertainment rack, since the bright flashing blue lights on the front panel can be a distraction, or you can simply cover them with something. Other than that, it's a great enclosure for the money. It seems to be running cooler than the HR20 and so far no probs for the first few days.

#438 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,262 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 11 August 2008 - 11:00 PM

Heres mine:

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM
VANTEC NST-360SU-BK 3.5" eSATA

Works great! OTA recordings went from 4% to 1.5%

Posted Image
65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#439 OFFLINE   kaylward

kaylward

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2006

Posted 13 August 2008 - 09:27 AM

I installed a ACOM Data pureDrive 1TB USb/eSATA Hard Drive on a HR 20-700 last night that I picked up at MicroCenter for $169. Everything is working great - immediately recognized per the standard hookup instructions.

Return your WD MyBooks and pick up this discount external drive...

#440 OFFLINE   Stephen M. Smith

Stephen M. Smith

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 153 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2004

Posted 15 August 2008 - 02:49 PM

I noticed this drive http://www.buy.com/p.../206805237.html is lowered priced than the drive I have noticed others discussing before
http://www.buy.com/p.../205986373.html

Reviewers on buy.com indicate it works with the DirecTv DVR. Could someone help me out and explain what the difference between these two drives is and whether there is any disadvantage with going with the less expensive drive.


I'd like to know the answer to this question too... and as far as the SIIG eSata cable, does their eSata2 cable work just as well as their eSata cable? Their both the same price.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...