Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Working eSata Setups:


  • Please log in to reply
2203 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   bbq-allstar

bbq-allstar

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 18 August 2007 - 07:05 PM

Your links are not working.


Try these...

Enclosure: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817121022

Drive: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822148134

Drive is on sale for $199

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 18 August 2007 - 07:08 PM

Try these...

Enclosure: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817121022

Drive: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822148134

Drive is on sale for $199


Now they are working. Thanks.

That is actually the same hard drive I am looking at myself.

#53 OFFLINE   usualsuspect

usualsuspect

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2007

Posted 19 August 2007 - 03:46 PM

Hi everyone:

New to this forum been reading a while to try and educate myself on the HR-20 since I plan on getting on before the new HD channels come on. I also plan on buying a seagate FA 750 for the extra storage.

Can someone tell me roughly how many hours of recording space they get with a 750 gb hd?

Thanks

#54 OFFLINE   jurlwin

jurlwin

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2007

Posted 22 August 2007 - 07:40 PM

I recently purchased a Buffalo Technology "Quad" drive. 4 x 500 GB drives in Raid 5 mode. Came up fine, switched to HD channel and within about 30 seconds the drive lights go solid and the picture freezes, but audio still moves. Strange. The pic eventually "unfreezes" but rewind, etc are disabled. Just thought preventing someone from buying something not working is as good as telling someone it works...

#55 OFFLINE   elixir26

elixir26

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2007

Posted 24 August 2007 - 08:46 PM

I recently purchased a Buffalo Technology "Quad" drive. 4 x 500 GB drives in Raid 5 mode. Came up fine, switched to HD channel and within about 30 seconds the drive lights go solid and the picture freezes, but audio still moves. Strange. The pic eventually "unfreezes" but rewind, etc are disabled. Just thought preventing someone from buying something not working is as good as telling someone it works...


Thanks for the tip. I'm looking at RAID enclosures for my next setup. Did you ever get your setup working? Please keep us posted. "A problem shared...."
1 HR20-700
3 HR24-500
1 HR24-100
1 AZiO External Enclosure
WD 2tb WD20EADS,
WD 2tb WD20EURS,

#56 OFFLINE   jurlwin

jurlwin

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2007

Posted 25 August 2007 - 11:17 AM

Thanks for the tip. I'm looking at RAID enclosures for my next setup. Did you ever get your setup working? Please keep us posted. "A problem shared...."


I gave up. I ended up getting a Seagate FreeAgent Pro. I plan on connecting the Buffalo to one of my servers. If you find one, please let me know ;)

#57 OFFLINE   tombet

tombet

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 140 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 13 September 2007 - 09:03 AM

Funhouse -
I am thinking of trying that Kingwin enclosure you reference with a 1TB drive. (newegg has them for $350). The enclosure comes with a eSata cable. Can you confirm you are using that cable as well ? If not, what did you use ?

Thanks

#58 OFFLINE   m_jraj

m_jraj

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 13 September 2007 - 09:12 AM

Seagate FreeAgent 750GB with cable from newegg.
HR20; HR10; 2 SD Directivos
Samsung 46" DLP
JVC RX-9010v Receiver
MX-500 (can't control sub volume on RX-9010v)
Windows Vista running iTunes, WMP11 & Tiversity

#59 OFFLINE   TriggerDeems

TriggerDeems

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 344 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2007

Posted 16 September 2007 - 10:17 AM

FreeAgent Pro from Costco. It did NOT work with the eSata cable from Monoprice, their product number 2882, as shipped. I messed with it for a few hours, rebooting everything, changing cables (I bought two, they're cheap), plugging/unplugging, hooking to the computer to run diagnostics--nothing helped. I had read on other posts here that people didn't have to alter that particular cable--that is not correct, as I just found out. Nearing wits end, I finally got out a steak knife and cut a sliver (maybe 1/64th of an inch) off of the black, squarish looking piece between the red-orange cable and the silver plug, obviously on the side nearest the silver plug, so that effectively it could plug further into the FreeAgent, and it now works great! With the steak knife, it only took a few slices on each of the four sides above/around the silver plug, and it was very easy to cut through.
Trigger

#60 OFFLINE   funhouse69

funhouse69

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 669 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 16 September 2007 - 02:27 PM

Funhouse -
I am thinking of trying that Kingwin enclosure you reference with a 1TB drive. (newegg has them for $350). The enclosure comes with a eSata cable. Can you confirm you are using that cable as well ? If not, what did you use ?

Thanks


I haven't had any issues whatsoever with the included cable. I tried a few other enclosures before settling on this one and even the cables that came with them worked fine. So right now I'm using two Kingwin enclosures one on each of my HR20's (One - 700 and One - 100) they've worked perfect since day one with the included cable.

I've actually been kind of surprised hearing so many issues with eSATA enclosures / cables since I haven't had any **Knock on Wood** :D
Was with D* for over 10 years then switched to the dark-side a few years ago and haven't looked back. I truly enjoy the 50% savings and uninterrupted service

#61 OFFLINE   MIMOTech

MIMOTech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2006

Posted 17 September 2007 - 06:43 AM

I received my HR20-700 on Saturday and I received the components for the external eSATA drive the day before. I got the items listed below:

HITACHI 0A34193 1TB SATA 7200 RPM 32MB Hard Drive
and I put into a,
SATAgear CG-35sata-II-ks enclosure and 18" eSATA
to the HR20-700.

After a couple of tries the 1TB hard drive formated and connect to HR20. Both seem to be operating normally to this point.

#62 OFFLINE   scottmoberly

scottmoberly

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2006

Posted 17 September 2007 - 10:24 AM

This may be a pretty simple question, but how do I know if the receiver is using the eSATA drive vs. the internal drive? I have it connected, but beyond that--how do I know it is working?

#63 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 17 September 2007 - 10:26 AM

This may be a pretty simple question, but how do I know if the receiver is using the eSATA drive vs. the internal drive? I have it connected, but beyond that--how do I know it is working?


If you had any recording's left on the internal drive you would not see them if the eSATA is working. You would not see any series links or any other setting's you may have had set on the internal drive.

You would need to reset up everything.

#64 OFFLINE   scottmoberly

scottmoberly

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2006

Posted 17 September 2007 - 10:28 AM

so I am seeing the shows that were on there, so clearly--it is not working!

#65 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 17 September 2007 - 10:30 AM

so I am seeing the shows that were on there, so clearly--it is not working!


That is correct. If sounds like you may be having the same problem that a lot of people have had with the eSATA cable not connecting all the way into the HR20. Some have had to trim the plastic on the cable a little to get it to connect right.

#66 OFFLINE   tombet

tombet

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 140 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2006

Posted 18 September 2007 - 01:05 PM

I am using the KingWin eSata enclosure recommended here ($22 at newegg) with a 1TB Hitachi Deskstar drive ($339 at newegg.) The Kingwin comes with an eSata cable and it works fine and fits fine, with no trimming. The enclosure is black with a blue LED that complements the HR20's LEDs. (According to the Kingwin website, its also available in silver, though I dont see that at newegg.) It has a fan to keep drive cool, yet is very quiet as is the drive itself. All in all, very pleased so far. I've had a few days, so not a long test yet. But it was truly painless. Clearly the 750GB solution would be better on a $/GB basis, but I am pleased with the total price of this for a 1TB solution., and without a higher end Raid enclosure for multiple drives.

Drive: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822145143

Enclosure (with eSata cable): http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817121022

================
Reporting back after 5 days of use:

All is working very well. In fact, and I say this very subjectively, I think that I have fewer issues of pixelation with this new drive. Not that I had a big problem before, but I might have had an instance every two hours or so. I haven't noticed it once since using the eSata - it seems improved. Perhaps the large (32MB) cache on the Hitachi drive really makes a difference.

One other note: I saw several people mentioning the Cavalry external drive. It looks to me like it uses the KingWin enclosure - it looks IDENTICAL to me.

#67 OFFLINE   shendley

shendley

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,739 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2005

Posted 18 September 2007 - 01:40 PM

Seagate 750 GB Free Agent Pro with Tripp Lite e-sata cable purchased from Amazon.

AU9, SWM8
Panasonic TH-58PX60U, HDMI to HR44-100, Native, DD, HDMI to Pioneer VSX-1123-k Receiver, Harmony One, Networked with Ethernet Cable, 35/4 Mbps DSL.
Panasonic TH-42PD50U, Component to HR 24-100, Antec MX-1 w. WD10EVDS ESata, Native, DD, DTV Remote.
Panasonic TC-L32X2, HDMI to C41-100, DTV Remote.
Whole Home.


#68 OFFLINE   herkulease

herkulease

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2007

Posted 18 September 2007 - 02:35 PM

seagate 750 free agent pro and e sata cable from svc.com

#69 OFFLINE   skaeight

skaeight

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 516 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 18 September 2007 - 07:06 PM

Thermaltake Max 4 enclosure. (Used the eSata cable provided with the Max 4 package without a problem)
Seagate Barracuda ST3750640AS - 750gb


I'll second that. I just got mine setup. The fact that the enclosure comes with an eSata drive is really nice, I just wish I would have know that before hand, as I ordered a cable separately.

The main reason I went for the Thermaltake Max 4 was because it has active cooling (fan). That was key when comparing it to the FreeAgent Pro which people say runs very hot. I already have enough heat in my tv cabinet.

#70 OFFLINE   isyp

isyp

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 20 September 2007 - 06:33 AM

I recently purchased a Buffalo Technology "Quad" drive. 4 x 500 GB drives in Raid 5 mode. Came up fine, switched to HD channel and within about 30 seconds the drive lights go solid and the picture freezes, but audio still moves. Strange. The pic eventually "unfreezes" but rewind, etc are disabled. Just thought preventing someone from buying something not working is as good as telling someone it works...


Raid 5 doesn't do well in high write applications. If you can, a Raid 1 or Raid 0 configuration might solve your problem.

#71 OFFLINE   STEVEN-H

STEVEN-H

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 624 posts
  • Location40241
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 20 September 2007 - 06:39 AM

Segate FreeAgent Pro 750GB from Costco $199.00
ESATA to ESATA calbe from newegg $22.98


Plug and play works very well.
HR24-500 AM-21
HR24-200 AM-21
Direct TV Slimline-5S (SWM) DECA
Direct TV since 6/23/96.

#72 OFFLINE   jpoet

jpoet

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 20 September 2007 - 10:16 AM

I am now using this enclosure:

http://www.techpaloo...20-fan-cbl.aspx

and this drive:

http://www.zipzoomfl...ctCode=10005580

The esata cable which came with the MX-1 works just beautifully. The MX-1 is very cool, and very quiet:

http://www.silentpcr...e728-page1.html


John

#73 OFFLINE   kirkusinnc

kirkusinnc

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Apr 24, 2006

Posted 20 September 2007 - 10:51 AM

SansDigital enclosure MS2UT with 2 750GB Western Digital Drives(WD7500AAKS) configured as 1.5TB Raid 0
Kirk
Cary, NC

#74 OFFLINE   Hobsnow

Hobsnow

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2007

Posted 30 September 2007 - 08:36 PM

Western Digital 1TB (WD10000CSRT) internal drive 16MB cash W/ Antec MX-1 enclosure. Both on sale @ BB (Big Discount!). 1TB Hitachi Deskstar on SALE now @ BB W/ 90 bucks off reg price.

#75 OFFLINE   MiltonThales

MiltonThales

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2007

Posted 01 October 2007 - 11:29 AM

Hitachi Deskstar 1 TB SATA - from NewEgg
Vantec NextStar 3 eSATA Enclosure - from Fry's

(Got a Kingwin enclosure from NewEgg, but the power block was bricked. :nono2:
I decided I couldn't wait so went Fry's.)

Plugged the eSATA cable (from the Kingwin enclosure !) into the drive and into the HR20-700. Worked on boot. :)
AU9-S Dish --> Zinwell Multiswitch --->

{{DirecTV HR-20-700 <=> eSATA Hitachi 1TB}} --> Philips 47PFL7422(HDMI-1) --> Sony Audio HDX-501W,

+--> Linksys SD205 switch <=> Mac mini (as wireless bridge)(also HDMI-2) <=> Linksys WRT54GS AP <=> AT&T DSL
+--> Sony PS3 60GB --> (HDMI-3)

Sony SAT-B1 --> Philips TiVo HDR312 --> Panasonic 31" SD
Philips TiVo Series2 DSR708 --> Panasonic 27" SD
HNS TiVo Series2 SD-DVR40 --> Ch3 --> Amp --> Multiplex Dist. to SD TVs





Protected By... spam firewall...And...