Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Working eSata Setups:


  • Please log in to reply
2163 replies to this topic

#81 OFFLINE   funhouse69

funhouse69

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 669 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 05 October 2007 - 11:49 PM

I've been running one Kingwin since early April with no issues and a second one on my Hr20-100 since about July again no issues. I tried another enclosure without a fan and to me it was running to darn hot which is what prompted me to find the Kingwin which I posted here a long, long time ago :D
Was with D* for over 10 years then switched to the dark-side a few years ago and haven't looked back. I truly enjoy the 50% savings and uninterrupted service

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#82 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 06 October 2007 - 03:15 PM

Rosewill enclosures are listed in my signature, [newegg.com]. It comes with all the cables you need and it has a fan. I have one on each HR20.

Sorry, but I don't see the Rosewill in your sig. What model are you using?
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#83 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 06 October 2007 - 03:17 PM

HD: HITACHI Deskstar 7K1000 HDS721075KLA330 (0A35154) 750GB
Why? $200 and 32mb cache...

Anyone know what the manufacturer's warranty is on this HD? I like the price.

Edit: looked some more on Hitachi's website and the warranty is 3 years.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#84 OFFLINE   HDMike

HDMike

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 06 October 2007 - 04:43 PM

Segate FreeAgent Pro 750GB from BestBuy for less than $200 including tax.
eSATA cable from firefold.com shipped less than $5.


I bought the Seagate this week and ordered the firefold cable thanks to this thread. Saves about $20 over the SIIG, so I hope it is just as reliable. Waiting for the cable to try it out. Tired of fighting available space under 20%!

Mike

#85 OFFLINE   Googer

Googer

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 06 October 2007 - 04:50 PM

I have a pair of HR20 + eSATA setups. :) Both use Antec MX-1 enclosures. My living room setup is using a Western Digital WD5000KS hard drive; my bedroom a Western Digital WD7500AAKS hard drive.

#86 OFFLINE   funhouse69

funhouse69

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 669 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 06 October 2007 - 10:58 PM

Anyone know what the manufacturer's warranty is on this HD? I like the price.

Edit: looked some more on Hitachi's website and the warranty is 3 years.


Please make sure - Some companies offer different warranties for their drives depending on how they are sold. In some cases you might get a 1 year warranty (usually a cheaper drive) and in others you might get upwards of a 5 year warranty.

It is also worth mentioning there are refurbished drives that may only hold only a 90 day warranty.

This is why I buy Seagate Drives from New Egg - 5 years all the way :D
Was with D* for over 10 years then switched to the dark-side a few years ago and haven't looked back. I truly enjoy the 50% savings and uninterrupted service

#87 OFFLINE   jjlink

jjlink

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Feb 26, 2006

Posted 08 October 2007 - 08:22 PM

Working Setup...
Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 HD-0A34193 1 359.99
1TB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s
Hard Drive, 7200RPM, 32MB
Cache, Model: 0A34193.
Vantec Nexstar-3 External HD Enclosure with eSata
Setup:
HR20-700 w/1TB Hitachi eSATA.
Vantec Nexstar-3 External HD Enclosure with eSata

HR20-700 w/stock drive.

both running 0x01A6.

#88 OFFLINE   Terravita

Terravita

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2007

Posted 09 October 2007 - 05:56 PM

  • Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST31000340NS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
  • ICY DOCK MB559US-1S-B 3.5" USB 2.0 & eSATA External Enclosure - Retail
  • SIIG 6.56 ft. eSATA to eSATA Cable Model CB-SA0211-S1 - Retail

HR20-700 {CE:09:11} - 0x1BE | Component to Pioneer Elite Pro 710HD (1080i) | Optical to Denon 5800
eSATA Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST31000340NS 1TB | ICY DOCK MB559US-1S-B Enclosure
DIRECTV Five LNB Ka/Ku Slim Line Dish | Zinwell WB68 Multiswitch
HR20-700 Neworked via Buffalo WLI-TX4-G54HP Wireless Ethernet Converter (FW v2.53_3.01)
Linksys WRT54GS V5 Wireless-G Router (FW v1.52.2)
AMD Dual Core 4800+; 3gb RAM; 2.5tb HD
Windows XP SP2 | WMP 11 | Tversity 0.9.10.7

#89 OFFLINE   MikeekiM

MikeekiM

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 311 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 09 October 2007 - 06:20 PM

HR20-700 + Seagate FreeAgent Pro 750GB external drive

Drive was 159.99 + tax... :)

#90 OFFLINE   HDMike

HDMike

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 10 October 2007 - 09:41 AM

I bought the Seagate this week and ordered the firefold cable thanks to this thread. Saves about $20 over the SIIG, so I hope it is just as reliable. Waiting for the cable to try it out. Tired of fighting available space under 20%!

Mike


I received the cable from Firefold yesterday and hooked up the 750GB Seagate FAP with no problem. Yeah! :D :D :D

Mike

#91 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 11 October 2007 - 12:27 PM

How are the sata drives in the enclosures usually jumpered, as masters?
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#92 OFFLINE   Terravita

Terravita

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2007

Posted 11 October 2007 - 01:32 PM

How are the sata drives in the enclosures usually jumpered, as masters?

This is from the Seagate documentation:

The Serial ATA interface connects each disc drive in a point-to-point configuration with the Serial ATA host adapter. There is no master/slave relationship with Serial ATA devices like there is with parallel ATA. If two drives are attached on one Serial ATA host adapter, the host operating system views the two devices as if they were both “masters” on two separate ports. This essentially means both drives behave as if they are Device 0 (master) devices.

Serial ATA drives are designed for easy installation with no jumpers, terminators, or other settings. It is not necessary to set any jumpers on this drive for proper operation. The jumper block adjacent to the signal connector is for factory use only.

For Seagate SATA, you remove the jumper. The same applies if you are using the drive for eSATA. I believe this applies to all SATA, but you should check your documentation.
HR20-700 {CE:09:11} - 0x1BE | Component to Pioneer Elite Pro 710HD (1080i) | Optical to Denon 5800
eSATA Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST31000340NS 1TB | ICY DOCK MB559US-1S-B Enclosure
DIRECTV Five LNB Ka/Ku Slim Line Dish | Zinwell WB68 Multiswitch
HR20-700 Neworked via Buffalo WLI-TX4-G54HP Wireless Ethernet Converter (FW v2.53_3.01)
Linksys WRT54GS V5 Wireless-G Router (FW v1.52.2)
AMD Dual Core 4800+; 3gb RAM; 2.5tb HD
Windows XP SP2 | WMP 11 | Tversity 0.9.10.7

#93 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 11 October 2007 - 03:12 PM

This is from the Seagate documentation: For Seagate SATA, you remove the jumper. The same applies if you are using the drive for eSATA. I believe this applies to all SATA, but you should check your documentation.

I presume you are using this statement to indicate the jumper should be removed and since I bought the idential drive, if you've removed the jumper, so should I.

It is not necessary to set any jumpers on this drive for proper operation.


Thanks for your help on this. I need to watch some programming on the existing drive and will replace it tomorrow with the new one.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#94 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 11 October 2007 - 03:36 PM

I was just thinking, this was the OEM seagate and it came with no doc or registration card. I hope I can register it for warranty purposes online.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#95 OFFLINE   Terravita

Terravita

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2007

Posted 11 October 2007 - 04:30 PM

I was just thinking, this was the OEM seagate and it came with no doc or registration card. I hope I can register it for warranty purposes online.


You can register your drive with model number and serial number here:
https://partnerreg.s...s.do?source=STX

According to Seagate "Failure to complete and submit this registration will not diminish your warranty rights." The warranty applies to retail and OEM purchases.

You can find the documentation here:
Barracuda 7200.11 SATA 3Gb/s NCQ 1TB 32MB Cache Hard Drive
HR20-700 {CE:09:11} - 0x1BE | Component to Pioneer Elite Pro 710HD (1080i) | Optical to Denon 5800
eSATA Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST31000340NS 1TB | ICY DOCK MB559US-1S-B Enclosure
DIRECTV Five LNB Ka/Ku Slim Line Dish | Zinwell WB68 Multiswitch
HR20-700 Neworked via Buffalo WLI-TX4-G54HP Wireless Ethernet Converter (FW v2.53_3.01)
Linksys WRT54GS V5 Wireless-G Router (FW v1.52.2)
AMD Dual Core 4800+; 3gb RAM; 2.5tb HD
Windows XP SP2 | WMP 11 | Tversity 0.9.10.7

#96 OFFLINE   Terravita

Terravita

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2007

Posted 11 October 2007 - 04:40 PM

I presume you are using this statement to indicate the jumper should be removed and since I bought the idential drive, if you've removed the jumper, so should I.

Yes, I removed the jumper and you should do the same!

Thanks for your help on this. I need to watch some programming on the existing drive and will replace it tomorrow with the new one.

My pleasure.
HR20-700 {CE:09:11} - 0x1BE | Component to Pioneer Elite Pro 710HD (1080i) | Optical to Denon 5800
eSATA Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST31000340NS 1TB | ICY DOCK MB559US-1S-B Enclosure
DIRECTV Five LNB Ka/Ku Slim Line Dish | Zinwell WB68 Multiswitch
HR20-700 Neworked via Buffalo WLI-TX4-G54HP Wireless Ethernet Converter (FW v2.53_3.01)
Linksys WRT54GS V5 Wireless-G Router (FW v1.52.2)
AMD Dual Core 4800+; 3gb RAM; 2.5tb HD
Windows XP SP2 | WMP 11 | Tversity 0.9.10.7

#97 OFFLINE   Terravita

Terravita

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2007

Posted 11 October 2007 - 05:04 PM

jangell2

I just remembered this and thought I would pass it on. I wrote this in a Newegg.com review:

Cons: When I originally attached this drive to the HR20, it was not recognized. I connected it to my workstation using USB and determine that it only had a capacity of 31 MB. Seagate's technical support had no idea why this happened, and stated that they didn’t support using the drive in an external enclosure. But they did tell me that I could use their SeaTools utility to change the drive to its maximum capacity, 1TB. It was a pain since I had to rig for none RAID access, but it was faster than sending the drive back for a replacement. The drive now works perfectly.


Since my review, another customer wrote this:

Cons: You have to initialize this darn drive!! You have to download the utility from Seagate and "prepare" this drive before you start an Installation. Else your BIOS will report 31~33MB! How can Seagate ship their flagship HDD like this? It's just an extra step and you have to 'figure it out'.

If you have the same problem, you will have to use SeaTools, which you can get here: SeaTools

The drive should not have this problem, but I purchased my drive the first day it was available. Hopefully this problem has been resolved.
HR20-700 {CE:09:11} - 0x1BE | Component to Pioneer Elite Pro 710HD (1080i) | Optical to Denon 5800
eSATA Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST31000340NS 1TB | ICY DOCK MB559US-1S-B Enclosure
DIRECTV Five LNB Ka/Ku Slim Line Dish | Zinwell WB68 Multiswitch
HR20-700 Neworked via Buffalo WLI-TX4-G54HP Wireless Ethernet Converter (FW v2.53_3.01)
Linksys WRT54GS V5 Wireless-G Router (FW v1.52.2)
AMD Dual Core 4800+; 3gb RAM; 2.5tb HD
Windows XP SP2 | WMP 11 | Tversity 0.9.10.7

#98 OFFLINE   sroh

sroh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2007

Posted 11 October 2007 - 05:34 PM

I just hooked up a Western Digital 750GB drive in a Kingwin enclosure, connected with the esata cable that came with the enclosure. I chose this one over the Seagate FAP because I needed a horizontal enclosure. Works great.

It still runs a bit warm, even with the fan. I'd be concerned about getting an enclosure without a fan, especially if you house the drive in a closed environment (like an entertainment cabinet).

#99 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 275 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 11 October 2007 - 09:39 PM

If you have the same problem, you will have to use SeaTools, which you can get here: SeaTools

The drive should not have this problem, but I purchased my drive the first day it was available. Hopefully this problem has been resolved.

If this happens, can I just attach it via usb and run SeaTools? I've already removed the jumper, will I have to put it back on?
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#100 OFFLINE   Terravita

Terravita

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2007

Posted 11 October 2007 - 10:28 PM

If this happens, can I just attach it via usb and run SeaTools?

No, you should attach the drive to your computer's SATA or eSATA connector. When you run SeaTools, it creates a bootable DOS 3 1/2 floppy. You boot DOS from the floppy to initialize the drive. There is also a ISO version of SeaTools to allow you to boot DOS from a CD.

I've already removed the jumper, will I have to put it back on?

No, do not reinstall the jumper.

If you just got the drive, it is highly possible that you will not have this problem. I just didn't want you to spin your wheels like I did.
HR20-700 {CE:09:11} - 0x1BE | Component to Pioneer Elite Pro 710HD (1080i) | Optical to Denon 5800
eSATA Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST31000340NS 1TB | ICY DOCK MB559US-1S-B Enclosure
DIRECTV Five LNB Ka/Ku Slim Line Dish | Zinwell WB68 Multiswitch
HR20-700 Neworked via Buffalo WLI-TX4-G54HP Wireless Ethernet Converter (FW v2.53_3.01)
Linksys WRT54GS V5 Wireless-G Router (FW v1.52.2)
AMD Dual Core 4800+; 3gb RAM; 2.5tb HD
Windows XP SP2 | WMP 11 | Tversity 0.9.10.7




spam firewall