Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Working eSata Setups:


  • Please log in to reply
2163 replies to this topic

#161 OFFLINE   rdowdy95

rdowdy95

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Mar 13, 2006

Posted 18 November 2007 - 01:27 PM

Be advised that if you don't own the HR20 outright, opening the case of the HR20 will void your warranty and violate your lease terms.


Guys I got the Western Digital Caviar GP WD10EACS 1TB 5400 to 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM for $265 at Fryes last night. I tried to find the $21.99 Kingwin Enclosure at Fryes but they didn't have any so I got this one instead. KINGWIN EL-35EU-SB Aluminum 3.5" Silver w/ Black USB 2.0 & eSATA External Enclosure - Retail you can find it here: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817121035
I haven't plugged it in yet, but it is going to go kind of behind the LCD TV of mine. Do you think I need to get one with a fan or do you think it will be okay. They are starting to make them all with aluminum now anyway to disipate the heat plus the WD is supposed to run cooler. What do you guys think. Should I just hook this bad boy up and go for it, or would you strongly recommend one with a fan?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#162 ONLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,702 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 November 2007 - 01:32 PM

Those 1 TB disk pretty new, so not much experience in the Universe. I would go ahead and use it without fan. Personally I would crank down AAM before to be sure it running cooler/quiet as possible.

#163 OFFLINE   rdowdy95

rdowdy95

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Mar 13, 2006

Posted 18 November 2007 - 04:26 PM

Those 1 TB disk pretty new, so not much experience in the Universe. I would go ahead and use it without fan. Personally I would crank down AAM before to be sure it running cooler/quiet as possible.


What is AAM also I got another problem as well. It may be nothing, but the AC adapter on the thing is one of those big sqaures with the plug not to big, but I have not room on the surge protector. I do have an open outlet on the surge, but would it be okayto plug like a extension cord into the surge protector outlet then the ac adapter on the end of the extension cord. It is a 2 prong ac adapter.

#164 OFFLINE   tsantanni

tsantanni

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2007

Posted 19 November 2007 - 11:23 AM

Buy.com has a great deal on the Cavalry 750GB eSata setup for $180 shipped this week. I have been using it for over a month with no issues at all. I think I might pick up another one for my other HR20.
Samsung HL-S6188W 1080P 61" DLP
HR20-700 & Cavalry 750GB eSata HD

Samsung LN-S4692D 46" LCD
HR20-700 & Cavalry 750GB eSata HD

Philips 37PFL5322D 37" LCD
H20-100

#165 OFFLINE   DVDLen

DVDLen

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 19 November 2007 - 12:11 PM

Buy.com has a great deal on the Cavalry 750GB eSata setup for $180 shipped this week. I have been using it for over a month with no issues at all.


How quiet is the Cavalry 750GB eSATA drive? Can you hear it when it's recording?

#166 OFFLINE   tsantanni

tsantanni

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2007

Posted 19 November 2007 - 01:44 PM

How quiet is the Cavalry 750GB eSATA drive? Can you hear it when it's recording?

I cannot hear any HD noises when its playing back or recording. However, it does have a fan on the enclosure that may drown that sound out. The fan is pretty quiet though...overall I am satisfied with this unit for the price. Here is the link.

http://www.buy.com/r...070&dcaid=17070

EDIT: I found an additional $5 off with this link. And if you get up over $200, you can take $10 off. I am also grabbing a 2GB microSD card for my phone so its $195 for the drive and card....NICE DEAL!!!

http://www.dealigg.c...5-off-50-more-1
Samsung HL-S6188W 1080P 61" DLP
HR20-700 & Cavalry 750GB eSata HD

Samsung LN-S4692D 46" LCD
HR20-700 & Cavalry 750GB eSata HD

Philips 37PFL5322D 37" LCD
H20-100

#167 OFFLINE   captainjrl

captainjrl

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 163 posts
Joined: Jun 25, 2007

Posted 19 November 2007 - 02:07 PM

Can anyone with an HR21 tell me what eSATA solution they are using? I've tried a Seagate FAP 750, with no luck. I have siunce pulled the HD out of it in hopes of either finding a different enclosure (preferred) or putting it inside the HR21 (would rather not). TIA.

#168 OFFLINE   jdeaton

jdeaton

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 19 November 2007 - 04:40 PM

From July through the end of August my 750 GB Free Agent Pro worked flawlessly with my HR20-700. Since the 0x194 CE in early September, I have had problems. With the FAP connected to my HR20-700 I would often get a black screen with no audio when coming out of stand by or the picture would freeze with a loss of audio during live TV. I kept hoping each subsequent CE would cure the problem, but no luck. I eventually exchanged the FAP for another one, I replaced the eSATA cable for one that does not require trimming and finally swapped my 700 for my 100, and I continue to have eSATA related problems. In the case of eSATA and my 100 I encounter continual rebooting. In both cases, disconnecting the FAP from the 700 and the 100 resulted in normal/stable operation of my HR20’s. So… Two FAP’s, two HR20’s and two eSATA cables and problems since 0x194. Is it software or hardware?

#169 OFFLINE   bbroach

bbroach

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2006

Posted 19 November 2007 - 04:46 PM

Are all Seagate Free Agent Pro 750's the same ? Best Buy has 2 models.


The ST307504FPA1E3-RK has USB 2.0, Firewire 400, and eSATA interfaces - MSRP is $274.99


The ST307504FPA1E2-RK lacks the Firewire interface - MSRP is $279.99 (?)


I bought a ST307504FPA1E3-RK for my second HR20 online at Fry's today for $198.00


regards, billb....
| HR10 | 2XHR20 | 42HDT55 | 1TB eSATA RAID 1 | Other Stuff |

#170 OFFLINE   cineplex1

cineplex1

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2007

Posted 20 November 2007 - 03:03 PM

How long does a reformat/reboot take?

Icydock enclosure/WD10eacus 1t drive/HR20-100.

And is it absolutely necessary to disable the 3gb buffer by jumping pins 5-6?

Thank you,
Cineplex1

#171 OFFLINE   cineplex1

cineplex1

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2007

Posted 20 November 2007 - 04:29 PM

How long does a reformat/reboot take?

Icydock enclosure/WD10eacus 1t drive/HR20-100.

And is it absolutely necessary to disable the 3gb buffer by jumping pins 5-6?

Thank you,
Cineplex1


ANYBODY WANT A $400 PAPER WEIGHT. Just that easy. 3 hours of boot and reboot and nada yet.

#172 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 20 November 2007 - 04:43 PM

How long does a reformat/reboot take?

Icydock enclosure/WD10eacus 1t drive/HR20-100.

And is it absolutely necessary to disable the 3gb buffer by jumping pins 5-6?

Thank you,
Cineplex1


I assume you want to know how long it takes to first boot with a new esata drive - from my experience no longer than normal.
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#173 OFFLINE   GAM

GAM

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 295 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2007

Posted 20 November 2007 - 04:51 PM

Can anyone with an HR21 tell me what eSATA solution they are using? I've tried a Seagate FAP 750, with no luck. I have siunce pulled the HD out of it in hopes of either finding a different enclosure (preferred) or putting it inside the HR21 (would rather not). TIA.


I am running the HR21-700 with the Antec MX-1 enclosure and a Western Digital 750GB drive. I've had no problems in the month I have been using it.

#174 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 20 November 2007 - 04:52 PM

ANYBODY WANT A $400 PAPER WEIGHT. Just that easy. 3 hours of boot and reboot and nada yet.


I think you mean the wd10eacs (no u).

I'm using that drive with the Antec MX-1 case on one of my 700's with no issues at all. I did disable 3gb via jumpter but I forget exactly which pins it was (5-6 sounds right though)

Connected the drive to the HR20, powered the drive up, menu restart on the HR20 and it booted just fine from the esata drive. It was so quick, and gave no indication of anything special, that I wondered if it actually worked - it did.
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#175 OFFLINE   cineplex1

cineplex1

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2007

Posted 20 November 2007 - 04:57 PM

I think you mean the wd10eacs (no u).

I'm using that drive with the Antec MX-1 case on one of my 700's with no issues at all. I did disable 3gb via jumpter but I forget exactly which pins it was (5-6 sounds right though)

Connected the drive to the HR20, powered the drive up, menu restart on the HR20 and it booted just fine from the esata drive. It was so quick, and gave no indication of anything special, that I wondered if it actually worked - it did.


Been at it since 2 o'clock. Excuse the U. Been through the 5 step process several times. NO go.

HR20-100/icy dock/ wd10EACS 1T / icy dock cable.

Drive is spinning and being accessed. But...................

#176 OFFLINE   minneZ

minneZ

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2007

Posted 20 November 2007 - 04:58 PM

HR20-700 running Segate 750Gb in an Antec MX-1 about a month and half no problems. The Antec is a very nice, quiet enclosure w/fan includes the cable and a pci slot connector for your pc as well.

Pretty good price $49 + ship here: http://www.excaliber...-id-575347.html

Also Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA/300 7200RPM 16MB HDD refurb 180 day warranty for $149.99 use savings code SEA750 to get that price here: http://www.geeks.com...EA-_-750SEAmain

My drive is a refurb from them although they had it $10 cheaper when I picked mine up.

-Scott

HR20-700x2 OTA Networked DoD Mediashare (via Nero7)
Esata 750Gb Seagate/Antec MX-1 SlingProx2

H20-100..USB TV Translator>>pc>>Channelvision modulator
D11-100/Replay DvArchive D11-500/Replay DvArchive
AT-9 & Zinwell WB616

*vp of all important decisions*


#177 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 20 November 2007 - 05:05 PM

The Antec is a very nice, quiet enclosure w/fan includes the cable and a pci slot connector for your pc as well.


Agree 100%

I was very skeptical about going this route, mostly because I didn't want to pay $40 for an external case when I could get a FAP. I'm very happy with it. The drives in my HR20 are louder than the esata's in this enclosure.
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#178 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 20 November 2007 - 05:06 PM

Been at it since 2 o'clock. Excuse the U. Been through the 5 step process several times. NO go.

HR20-100/icy dock/ wd10EACS 1T / icy dock cable.

Drive is spinning and being accessed. But...................


So what happens? Does it never boot? Get stuck on a certain screen? starts up but using the internal drive?
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#179 OFFLINE   cineplex1

cineplex1

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2007

Posted 20 November 2007 - 05:13 PM

So what happens? Does it never boot? Get stuck on a certain screen? starts up but using the internal drive?


Yes sir;

Will restart using interal HD....

External gets to "Checking Satellite settings. This will take a few (35....40...45) minutes"...

My SWAG is that it is formatted if it gets this far...but what else is there to do?

#180 OFFLINE   captainjrl

captainjrl

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 163 posts
Joined: Jun 25, 2007

Posted 20 November 2007 - 05:36 PM

I am running the HR21-700 with the Antec MX-1 enclosure and a Western Digital 750GB drive. I've had no problems in the month I have been using it.


Thanks. I'm gonna try that enclosure with the 750gb drive I ripped out of my Seagate FAP. Just ordered the enclosure from Circuit City for instore pickup and will try it tomorrow.




spam firewall