Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20-100 vs. HR20-700


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
35 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   BuffaloDenny

BuffaloDenny

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 691 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 15 July 2007 - 01:43 PM

Which of these boxes is the latest and greatest? I'm being told the 100 is the newer box. Also, are there any discernible differences/advantages between the two?

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   kikkenit2

kikkenit2

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 674 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2006

Posted 15 July 2007 - 02:31 PM

Which of these boxes is the latest and greatest? I'm being told the 100 is the newer box. Also, are there any discernible differences/advantages between the two?

Thanks.

The 100 is newer and has better cooling/ventilation but they are basically the same. Usually you can't specify which model you get. The 700 has a cutting edge software temporarily available that works slightly better. Soon the 100 software will be identical. They are both kick ass boxes at this point.

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 July 2007 - 02:48 PM

If you only had the remote & the TV to watch, you couldn't tell which you had.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   SFNSXguy

SFNSXguy

    EOE

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 515 posts
  • LocationNear San Francisco
Joined: Apr 17, 2006

Posted 15 July 2007 - 03:05 PM

Which of these boxes is the latest and greatest? I'm being told the 100 is the newer box. Also, are there any discernible differences/advantages between the two?

Thanks.


The HR20-100:

1) runs 30-degrees cooler

2) has its cooling vents on the sides (-700's are on top)

3) has BOTH optical AND coaxial digital audio outputs (-700 has only optical)

4) seems to have a slightly weaker RF signal for its remote even with it's external RF antenna

5) has two ethernet ports (some say the second will never be activated)

Choose your poison. ;)
HS
D* user since 11/94

#5 OFFLINE   MikeR

MikeR

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,157 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2006

Posted 15 July 2007 - 03:10 PM

The HR20-100:

1) runs 30-degrees cooler

2) has its cooling vents on the sides (-700's are on top)

3) has BOTH optical AND coaxial digital audio outputs (-700 has only optical)

4) seems to have a slightly weaker RF signal for its remote

5) has two USB ports (some say the second will never be activated)

Choose your poison. ;)


6) gets 1 CE release per decade.;)
HR20-100S 2 lines | Sharp Aquos LC-32DA5U HDMI | Onkyo TX-SR 604 (digital coax) | Polk Audio RC85i
HR20-700S 1 line | Sony KP-51WS510 HDMI-DVI | Panasonic SC-HT95 | Polk Audio RC85i | Networked
R15-500 connected to an old Sanyo (1 line)
Vista Home Premium | BUFFALO WLI-TX4-G54HP | Comcast 6Mbps/Motorola SB5100 modem

#6 OFFLINE   drx792

drx792

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 773 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2007

Posted 15 July 2007 - 03:23 PM

The HR20-100:

1) runs 30-degrees cooler

2) has its cooling vents on the sides (-700's are on top)

3) has BOTH optical AND coaxial digital audio outputs (-700 has only optical)

4) seems to have a slightly weaker RF signal for its remote

5) has two USB ports (some say the second will never be activated)

Choose your poison. ;)


For number 5 dont you mean 2 Ethernet ports??

#7 OFFLINE   SFNSXguy

SFNSXguy

    EOE

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 515 posts
  • LocationNear San Francisco
Joined: Apr 17, 2006

Posted 15 July 2007 - 03:30 PM

For number 5 dont you mean 2 Ethernet ports??


Yes!

Thanks!
HS
D* user since 11/94

#8 OFFLINE   Meklos

Meklos

    Legend in his own mind...

  • Registered
  • 324 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2006

Posted 15 July 2007 - 05:55 PM

My wife swears the -100 we just got is faster FF/RW/Trick Playing... I haven't spent enough time between them to test...

#9 OFFLINE   diggumsmax

diggumsmax

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 16 July 2007 - 09:04 AM

Now I want the 100 simply for the coaxial digital audio output. Not enough CE companies put coaxial audio outputs on there stuff anymore and my fiber optic inputs on my receiver are full. This would be really nice but I guess my 700 would have to die to get one and even then i wouldn't be gauranteed I could get one.

#10 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 824 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 16 July 2007 - 09:09 AM

Now I want the 100 simply for the coaxial digital audio output. Not enough CE companies put coaxial audio outputs on there stuff anymore and my fiber optic inputs on my receiver are full. This would be really nice but I guess my 700 would have to die to get one and even then i wouldn't be gauranteed I could get one.


For this very reason, I'm hoping I get a 100, when I have mine installed oin Thursday. I'd much rather use a coaxial cable over a fragile optical cable.

#11 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 July 2007 - 09:37 AM

option: $20 or less gets an optical to coax converter.
A.K.A VOS

#12 OFFLINE   diggumsmax

diggumsmax

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 16 July 2007 - 10:10 AM

option: $20 or less gets an optical to coax converter.


I know but for a gadget junkie like me outlets are always in short supply. I really wish they could make one that was powered by USB. That would be great because I could plug it into the HR20 for power.

#13 OFFLINE   JDW

JDW

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 16 July 2007 - 01:14 PM

6) gets 1 CE release per decade.;)



:lol:

QFT.

#14 OFFLINE   alexcohen

alexcohen

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 16 July 2007 - 08:46 PM

My Coax output is much louder than the optical.

#15 OFFLINE   ATARI

ATARI

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,876 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 17 July 2007 - 06:26 AM

So when is somebody going to sticky a 100 vs. 700 thread?

It's seems to asked fairly often.

#16 OFFLINE   5678YN

5678YN

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 17 July 2007 - 10:34 AM

My Coax output is much louder than the optical.



I'll have to try the coax. Volume does seem low thru optical on my pio vsx-82tsx. Have to try coax tonight.

#17 OFFLINE   menkelis

menkelis

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2007

Posted 17 July 2007 - 11:16 AM

I just received a HR20-100, and it does NOT have a digital COAX output
(at least that i can find).

The -700 has a 'internal' RF pickup, the -100 has it external.

The service tech wondered why the phone line test failed, until I looked
and found he had used the ethernet port on the HR20 for the phone line.

#18 OFFLINE   mx6bfast

mx6bfast

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationDelray Beach, FL
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 17 July 2007 - 11:57 AM

I just received a HR20-100, and it does NOT have a digital COAX output
(at least that i can find).

The -700 has a 'internal' RF pickup, the -100 has it external.

The service tech wondered why the phone line test failed, until I looked
and found he had used the ethernet port on the HR20 for the phone line.

Yeah, you might want to check everything else he did also. :lol:

I have both an 100 and 700. The only difference I can tell is the 100 will stop responding to commands from the remote. Gotta call D* about that one.

#19 OFFLINE   SFNSXguy

SFNSXguy

    EOE

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 515 posts
  • LocationNear San Francisco
Joined: Apr 17, 2006

Posted 17 July 2007 - 12:33 PM

[quote name='menkelis']I just received a HR20-100, and it does NOT have a digital COAX output
(at least that i can find).

It's there.... look again! (we're talking coaxial digital audio output).
HS
D* user since 11/94

#20 OFFLINE   alexcohen

alexcohen

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 17 July 2007 - 12:47 PM

Maybe the installer put a wrong cable in it.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...