Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is your HR20 Networked


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
36 replies to this topic

Poll: Are any of your HR20's hooked up to your home network? (190 member(s) have cast votes)

Are any of your HR20's hooked up to your home network?

  1. Yes - I have at least one HR20 hooked up to my network (133 votes [70.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 70.00%

  2. No - I do not have any HR20s hooked up to my network (57 votes [30.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 30.00%

Vote

#1 OFFLINE   Mixer

Mixer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 17 July 2007 - 05:23 PM

As we wait in patiently (not all of us so patiently) for the coming of VOD (Video on Demand) I wanted to get a poll going from all HR20 owners to find out if you have your HR20 networked. This was done elsewhere on the forum but I wanted to open it to all HR20 owners this time.

The poll is simple. If you have one (or more) HR20 networked to your home network vote yes. If not vote no.
HR20-700:Component, TV:Mitsubishi WS65807, Audio is connected using Digital Toslink cable. OTA:NO, Locals:New York, Native:Off, Network:Yes, eSata:No, AT9 dish, BBC: Yes, Harmony 880. HR20 is wired, Streaming Music and Photos through Twonky Media Server and internet connection is 5MB DSL.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   HDTVsportsfan

HDTVsportsfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,746 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 17 July 2007 - 05:31 PM

One of my two are. Soon....2 of 3 will be.

btw, no offense, polls don't bother like they do some...but isn't there another Network poll floating around here somewhere?
DBSTalk Chat Room Mod (I reserve the right to be wrong.)

AT9 to SWM16
LR: HR24-100 to Panasonic 50" w/ Sony HTIB/FR: HR20-700 to Samsung LN55B640
Office: HR34-700 to Panasonic 50" w/ HD-A2
Office: H21-200 to 36" SD TV/BR: HR21-200 to Samsung 32" LCD
My full setup in Visio: http://www.dbstalk.c...8&postcount=105

#3 OFFLINE   lovswr

lovswr

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 377 posts
  • LocationRiverview, FL
Joined: Jan 12, 2004

Posted 17 July 2007 - 07:47 PM

One is & one is not. It probably will be by this weekend :D
Sony 60A2020 | Sony STR-DA5200ES | PS3 all via HDMI | XBOX360 via component | JBL Northridge Series 5.1
Sony KDF-E42A10 | Sony STR-DG820 | Samsung BD-P1500
BOTH HR20's & PS3 & XBOX 360 networked via tversity v 1.0 RC2
HD-DVD = 52 Blu Ray = 55

#4 OFFLINE   naijai

naijai

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,137 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 17 July 2007 - 08:16 PM

one thing is that im sure we shall all be happy once VOD has been released and shortly after find something new to nag about

and currently only 1 of mine is networked
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.
Winston Churchill

DIRECTV employee since May 2003.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views DO NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#5 OFFLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,200 posts
  • LocationFort Pierce, FL
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 July 2007 - 09:22 PM

I was inspired to comply due to a previous comment about "locals on the eight" over vod.

#6 OFFLINE   Greyshadow2007

Greyshadow2007

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 246 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 17 July 2007 - 09:52 PM

1 HR20-700. Has been connected since I received it
-) They are listening... don't stop complaining... just do it constructively...
-) Be true to yourself and be good to one another... this is a community, not a barroom...
-) Keep the CE alive by participating... giving feedback... giving ideas

-Earl Bonovich

#7 OFFLINE   funhouse69

funhouse69

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 669 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 18 July 2007 - 12:50 AM

1 HR20 Connected to a Switched Gigabit Network since the day I received it. A second HR20 showing up on Friday, well assuming that they actually show up for this appointment.
Was with D* for over 10 years then switched to the dark-side a few years ago and haven't looked back. I truly enjoy the 50% savings and uninterrupted service

#8 OFFLINE   alv

alv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 288 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2002

Posted 18 July 2007 - 03:58 AM

I suspect the results from the poll are very skewed compared to non-forum members. Hard to believe 75% of the average users are networked.

#9 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,415 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 18 July 2007 - 04:40 AM

HR20 hardwired to Netgear wireless router, Bellsouth DSL, lots of pictures and music, waiting for D10 and VOD.

#10 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 06:25 AM

I suspect the results from the poll are very skewed compared to non-forum members. Hard to believe 75% of the average users are networked.


I'd bet you are right on the button with that suspicion!

There are many, many things that the forum members have in common with respect to "usage patterns", with the "typical" consumer....networking ain't likely to be one of them.:)

I was surprised to see how popular networking is among the forum members. Good thing for D*...lots of potential feedback.
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#11 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 18 July 2007 - 06:27 AM

I've been meaning to put on one the network, but haven't gotten around to it. Just no need on my end.
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM

#12 OFFLINE   PlanetBill

PlanetBill

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 582 posts
Joined: May 08, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 06:40 AM

Seems like I responded to this same (or close to it) poll 2 or 3 times already.
HR20-700 (DECA), HR24, HR22 (DECA),
HR21(DECA),H23(DECA),R15

#13 OFFLINE   Steve Robertson

Steve Robertson

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,664 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2005

Posted 18 July 2007 - 06:46 AM

No need for me I just watch HD TV and I really don't care about VOD but that is just me and glad you have this option

#14 OFFLINE   markrubin

markrubin

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 18 July 2007 - 06:50 AM

I networked my two new HR20's and then both would hang up after a reboot: they would get to 25% download and freeze up: reading the manual it says the network connection is for "future applications"

just a reminder to disconnect the network cable while rebooting

#15 OFFLINE   HDTVsportsfan

HDTVsportsfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,746 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 18 July 2007 - 06:52 AM

Not everyone has this problem though. At one time or the other I've had both of them networked, and I've never had the either unit lock-up on reboot.

I have seen other posts describing you issue. I think houskamp is one of them that said it has happened to him.
DBSTalk Chat Room Mod (I reserve the right to be wrong.)

AT9 to SWM16
LR: HR24-100 to Panasonic 50" w/ Sony HTIB/FR: HR20-700 to Samsung LN55B640
Office: HR34-700 to Panasonic 50" w/ HD-A2
Office: H21-200 to 36" SD TV/BR: HR21-200 to Samsung 32" LCD
My full setup in Visio: http://www.dbstalk.c...8&postcount=105

#16 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,415 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 18 July 2007 - 06:54 AM

I networked my two new HR20's and then both would hang up after a reboot: they would get to 25% download and freeze up: reading the manual it says the network connection is for "future applications"

just a reminder to disconnect the network cable while rebooting


Never had the problem either, lucky I suppose.

#17 OFFLINE   marcusadolfsson

marcusadolfsson

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2007

Posted 18 July 2007 - 07:03 AM

My units crash too when connected to the network. As far as I know, it occurs when you have a uPnP device on your network (like an Xbox, ethernet storage units, some routers). I think this has been confirmed by other forum members.

DirecTV better fix this before they roll our VOD.

#18 OFFLINE   durl

durl

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,743 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2003

Posted 18 July 2007 - 08:26 AM

I don't have it networked yet. I had been waiting until the functionality is in place to control it via the internet but I may just get a Slingplayer with SPMobile instead.

Now if they ever set it up so that you can transfer programs from one box to another, I'd network my receivers in a heartbeat.

#19 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 827 posts
  • LocationConnecticut
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 18 July 2007 - 08:29 AM

I voted yes, but won;t have my HR-20 till tomorrow. However, I have the network ready and waiting for it, to be connected. So it will be :)

#20 OFFLINE   Ken S

Ken S

    RIP

  • Registered
  • 6,201 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2007

Posted 18 July 2007 - 10:18 AM

The lockups seem to be caused by UPnP host (Universal Plug and Play) being active on the network. For whatever reason the HR-20 locks up when it's rebooting and there's an active UPnP out there.

I've been able to replicate this by removing/adding UPnP devices from my network and rebooting an HR-20.

Considering DirecTV is a member of the UPnP consortium they would probably do well to investigate and fix this issue quickly...because if it's still around when they release a real reason to have the device on a network they will get more than a CS call or two on the matter.

There are many devices that have UPnP...some default to it off others on. It's becoming more and more commonplace. What does it do? For instance...if you connect your computer to a network that has UPnP it may very well find a printer for you and make it ready for use without you having to go through an install process.

In some cases you can turn the UPnP host off. In XP you can stop and disable the service. Other devices don't give you an option.

#21 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,326 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 10:48 AM

I don't have my HR20 on my network. I won't get anything beneficial out of it.

The only reason for networking an HR20 as far as I know is for Media Bridge and/or VOD capability. Both of these are of NO interest to me.

Is there some other reason for networking an HR20 I don't know about? Seriously. I'm open to learning something I didn't know.

If not, I don't see me ever putting mine on a network.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#22 OFFLINE   Mixer

Mixer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 11:14 AM

I don't have my HR20 on my network. I won't get anything beneficial out of it.

The only reason for networking an HR20 as far as I know is for Media Bridge and/or VOD capability. Both of these are of NO interest to me.

Is there some other reason for networking an HR20 I don't know about? Seriously. I'm open to learning something I didn't know.

If not, I don't see me ever putting mine on a network.


1) If they ever make sharing between to HR20s a reality that would be one reason. Another I can think of would be

2) internet scheduling of the HR20.

3) If they ever allow game playing between networked HR20s through Game Lounge.

I am sure there are other reasons or future use that I am not thinking of.
HR20-700:Component, TV:Mitsubishi WS65807, Audio is connected using Digital Toslink cable. OTA:NO, Locals:New York, Native:Off, Network:Yes, eSata:No, AT9 dish, BBC: Yes, Harmony 880. HR20 is wired, Streaming Music and Photos through Twonky Media Server and internet connection is 5MB DSL.

#23 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,326 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 11:18 AM

If capabilities change, my position could change as well.

However, since these are all only features that "could" exist one day and of those you mention only MRV is of any interest to me (which would still be tough since I only have 1 HR20), I don't have a need to network it today.

Tomorrow could be another story... :)
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#24 OFFLINE   Crypter

Crypter

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 454 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 18 July 2007 - 11:30 AM

I have a TON of HD movies (MPEG2) on my netowrk and they all show up in the HR20 Menu when I click on Videos but they all have an X next to them. Ohh I wish I could play them back using the HR20 that would be SWEET. Right now I have about 120 HD (mostly 1080i) movies spread across 2 TB of Netowrk storage that I use my XBOX 360 Media Extender to playback. But it would be nice to avoid using my Xbox for this!

#25 OFFLINE   CliffV

CliffV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 259 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 12:20 PM

I voted yes, but I really don't use it.

I hooked up the HR20 when the media player capability was first introduced. But I really wasn't impressed. (I use Sonos players as my media players and those systems are drop dead beautiful.)

I waiting for sharing between HR20s. That's the feature I need.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...