Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is your HR20 Networked


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
36 replies to this topic

Poll: Are any of your HR20's hooked up to your home network? (190 member(s) have cast votes)

Are any of your HR20's hooked up to your home network?

  1. Yes - I have at least one HR20 hooked up to my network (133 votes [70.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 70.00%

  2. No - I do not have any HR20s hooked up to my network (57 votes [30.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 30.00%

Vote

#21 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,190 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 10:48 AM

I don't have my HR20 on my network. I won't get anything beneficial out of it.

The only reason for networking an HR20 as far as I know is for Media Bridge and/or VOD capability. Both of these are of NO interest to me.

Is there some other reason for networking an HR20 I don't know about? Seriously. I'm open to learning something I didn't know.

If not, I don't see me ever putting mine on a network.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   Mixer

Mixer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 11:14 AM

I don't have my HR20 on my network. I won't get anything beneficial out of it.

The only reason for networking an HR20 as far as I know is for Media Bridge and/or VOD capability. Both of these are of NO interest to me.

Is there some other reason for networking an HR20 I don't know about? Seriously. I'm open to learning something I didn't know.

If not, I don't see me ever putting mine on a network.


1) If they ever make sharing between to HR20s a reality that would be one reason. Another I can think of would be

2) internet scheduling of the HR20.

3) If they ever allow game playing between networked HR20s through Game Lounge.

I am sure there are other reasons or future use that I am not thinking of.
HR20-700:Component, TV:Mitsubishi WS65807, Audio is connected using Digital Toslink cable. OTA:NO, Locals:New York, Native:Off, Network:Yes, eSata:No, AT9 dish, BBC: Yes, Harmony 880. HR20 is wired, Streaming Music and Photos through Twonky Media Server and internet connection is 5MB DSL.

#23 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,190 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 11:18 AM

If capabilities change, my position could change as well.

However, since these are all only features that "could" exist one day and of those you mention only MRV is of any interest to me (which would still be tough since I only have 1 HR20), I don't have a need to network it today.

Tomorrow could be another story... :)
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#24 OFFLINE   Crypter

Crypter

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 454 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 18 July 2007 - 11:30 AM

I have a TON of HD movies (MPEG2) on my netowrk and they all show up in the HR20 Menu when I click on Videos but they all have an X next to them. Ohh I wish I could play them back using the HR20 that would be SWEET. Right now I have about 120 HD (mostly 1080i) movies spread across 2 TB of Netowrk storage that I use my XBOX 360 Media Extender to playback. But it would be nice to avoid using my Xbox for this!

#25 OFFLINE   CliffV

CliffV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 254 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 12:20 PM

I voted yes, but I really don't use it.

I hooked up the HR20 when the media player capability was first introduced. But I really wasn't impressed. (I use Sonos players as my media players and those systems are drop dead beautiful.)

I waiting for sharing between HR20s. That's the feature I need.

#26 OFFLINE   n3ntj

n3ntj

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,693 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 12:23 PM

Didn't someone create this exact same poll about 2 weeks ago?
HD Snob - "Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Cable".
Electrical/RF Engineer & Inspector
DirecTV Equipment: HR24-200, HR24-100, 5LNB Slimline, AM21, SWiM 8 installed (MRV)
HR-2x Configuration: Native OFF. Units OFF when not in use.
TVs: 2 Panasonic Plasma TV's each using HDMI (one 1080p/one 720p)
DirecTV customer since 1998. Plus HD DVR package w/ NHL Center Ice & MLB Extra Innings.
OTA Antenna: Homebrew UHF & VHF antennas w/ 30dB amplifier fed w/ RG-6 Quad-shield coax.

#27 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 12:25 PM

See sig.

#28 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,661 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 05:44 PM

Deja vu! It's like I just voted yesterday in a thread just like this! ;)

Anyway, life has changed since the last poll, because now BOTH of my HR20s are networked. I just got a new switch via UPS today. (Good price, too! Only $22.95 from CyberGuys.com)

#29 OFFLINE   Mixer

Mixer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 19 July 2007 - 07:30 PM

Didn't someone create this exact same poll about 2 weeks ago?


Don't you want the most up to date results?
HR20-700:Component, TV:Mitsubishi WS65807, Audio is connected using Digital Toslink cable. OTA:NO, Locals:New York, Native:Off, Network:Yes, eSata:No, AT9 dish, BBC: Yes, Harmony 880. HR20 is wired, Streaming Music and Photos through Twonky Media Server and internet connection is 5MB DSL.

#30 OFFLINE   miksmi21

miksmi21

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2007

Posted 28 July 2007 - 03:27 PM

Networked via a Buffalo Technologies Ethernet Converter via Wi-fi to my Netgear Router.

Works Great!
I'm faster than most snakes! -Dwight Schrute - The Office

DTV HR20-100, HR20-700, HR22-100, iPhone-XM Skydock

#31 OFFLINE   DawgLink

DawgLink

    Woof Woof Woof

  • Registered
  • 1,542 posts
  • LocationWashington, DC
Joined: Nov 05, 2006

Posted 29 July 2007 - 07:24 PM

No. I wish I knew how to hook it up but I can't.

I got a wireless router upstairs that my computers are connected to but I have no idea if I could connect that connection to the HR20

#32 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 29 July 2007 - 07:26 PM

No. I wish I knew how to hook it up but I can't.

I got a wireless router upstairs that my computers are connected to but I have no idea if I could connect that connection to the HR20


You need to get a wireless game adapter that has a ethernet connection not USB. I have a Linksys WGA54G and it works great.

#33 OFFLINE   Xram

Xram

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 317 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 30 July 2007 - 04:12 AM

I have 2 of my 5 networked.
4 - HR20-700 's
1 - HR21-700
1 - HR20-100
1 - R15
WB616
Slimline

#34 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,634 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 30 July 2007 - 05:57 AM

All 4 are networked.
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#35 OFFLINE   Skooz

Skooz

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 246 posts
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 30 July 2007 - 08:08 AM

Not yet. I will when I get around to buying a router and figure out what I am doing.

#36 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 30 July 2007 - 08:12 AM

Not yet. I will when I get around to buying a router and figure out what I am doing.


This Wednesday and Thursday night between 8-11 p.m. eastern time we will be in the chatroom (chat.dbstalk.com) to help people with what they need and how to set it up. Check out the link below.

http://dbstalk.com/s...ead.php?t=93329

#37 OFFLINE   Skooz

Skooz

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 246 posts
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 30 July 2007 - 08:15 AM

This Wednesday and Thursday night between 8-11 p.m. eastern time we will be in the chatroom (chat.dbstalk.com) to help people with what they need and how to set it up. Check out the link below.

http://dbstalk.com/s...ead.php?t=93329


Wow. VERY cool. I will be there.

Thanks!




spam firewall