Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Could my dish be bad?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   MrGibbage

MrGibbage

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2007

Posted 18 July 2007 - 08:43 AM

First post here. This looks like a great forum!
Anyway, about a month ago, my HR10 started locking up. No remote control button press or receiver button press could cause the receiver to do anything. I could only see a clear, frozen picture (from whatever show was one when it froze), or a gray screen. The only thing I could do is unplug the receiver and plug it back in. So I started reading about the new HR20, and thought I'd give DTV a call to see what could be done. Turns out my HR10 was still under waranty, so they shipped me a new HR20 for free (I paid for the shipping). I hooked it up on Monday, and on Tuesday my wife calls me at work and says the new receiver is locked up. The EXACT same symptoms. How strange is that? I have the three-LNB dish. I have another basic receiver (I don't know the model number, but it's a non-dvr, non-HD, "press-the-guide-button-twice-to-get-the-guide" receiver. It has never locked up. So, was this a fluke? These things do happen sometimes, right? Or could I have received a bad HR20 (700, btw)? Or could my dish be causing the problem? I figure if this receiver locks up again in the next (insert some long period of time here), I'll call them again and see what can be done. I called yesterday to tell them this story, and the tech support had me press the reset button by the card slot, which brought it back up. Of course, whe had no idea what could be the cause, but she really didn't think it could be the dish. What do you think?

Skip

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   MrGibbage

MrGibbage

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2007

Posted 18 July 2007 - 08:52 AM

By the way, I have had this dish and installation for over a year. The problems just started occurring about a month or two ago with the HR10. My signal strengths are all in the high 90's.

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,864 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 09:10 AM

By the way, I have had this dish and installation for over a year. The problems just started occurring about a month or two ago with the HR10. My signal strengths are all in the high 90's.

:welcome_sto the forum.

Now you wouldn't think two units that were different models would do the same thing. Possible but not the first thought.
Are the boxes getting too hot?
I can't think of much outside of the box that causes a lock-up. Bad anything else shouldn't do it.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   MrGibbage

MrGibbage

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2007

Posted 18 July 2007 - 09:27 AM

I don't think they are getting too hot, but who knows? They are on top of a wide screen tv (really not hot at all up there) and there's nothing on top of the box. Should be fine. The HR10 did get rather warm, but I've seen other DTV boxes get even warmer.

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,864 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 09:34 AM

I don't think they are getting too hot, but who knows? They are on top of a wide screen tv (really not hot at all up there) and there's nothing on top of the box. Should be fine. The HR10 did get rather warm, but I've seen other DTV boxes get even warmer.

You should be able to go into the setup menu info screen and get the internal temp reading.
It may not be it, but when they get too warm, they do/can act this way.

How is it connected to the TV?
When it locks up and you try the remote, any light blink on the box?
Just fishing....????
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   MrGibbage

MrGibbage

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2007

Posted 18 July 2007 - 09:37 AM

Both were connected via component cables, and no, no lights would blink on the box when pressing keys from the remote. At least with the HR20 I didn't have to unplug the box because the reset button worked. What an improvement. Let's just hope it doesn't happen again.

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,864 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 09:40 AM

Both were connected via component cables, and no, no lights would blink on the box when pressing keys from the remote. At least with the HR20 I didn't have to unplug the box because the reset button worked. What an improvement. Let's just hope it doesn't happen again.

Well it might be good to check the temp [before it locks up], but can't think of anything else to look at. :)
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   davidord

davidord

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 372 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 09:44 AM

You should call Directv and get them to install a 5 LNB dish. This will enable you to receive your locals in HD as well as all of the new HD channels that will launch hopefully starting in September. If it fixes the problem, great. If not, at least you are ready for the new channels and you can eliminate one issue.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...