Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

"Please Wait" blue pop up


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   n3ntj

n3ntj

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,678 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 18 July 2007 - 12:22 PM

Last night I noticed something new.. right after switching channels, I'd get the blue pop up at the bottom right (like we see for the 771 message) but it would just say
"Please wait". It would go off after approx. 2 seconds.

The picture and sound would be there fine, but this little pop up came up when switching b/w various channels.. such as 731, 623, etc. Some are HD, some are SD. Didn't see any signal strength issues.

Anyone else see this issue last night?
HD Snob - "Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Cable".
Electrical/RF Engineer & Inspector
DirecTV Equipment: HR24-200, HR24-100, 5LNB Slimline, AM21, SWiM 8 installed (MRV)
HR-2x Configuration: Native OFF. Units OFF when not in use.
TVs: 2 Panasonic Plasma TV's each using HDMI (one 1080p/one 720p)
DirecTV customer since 1998. Plus HD DVR package w/ NHL Center Ice & MLB Extra Innings.
OTA Antenna: Homebrew UHF & VHF antennas w/ 30dB amplifier fed w/ RG-6 Quad-shield coax.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 18 July 2007 - 12:23 PM

It isn't specific to anyone channel, or action between channels.

Your HR20 was doing something in the background, and thus prompted the "Please Wait".

You will on occasion see it...
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,788 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 18 July 2007 - 12:43 PM

It isn't specific to anyone channel, or action between channels.

Your HR20 was doing something in the background, and thus prompted the "Please Wait".

You will on occasion see it...

Earl, I've seen this occur on both my HR20's every now and then. Once it starts it usually continues to happen until the box is rebooted. I've waited up to 1 hour before rebooting to get rid of it, is whatever it's doing in the background take longer then that?

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#4 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 18 July 2007 - 12:51 PM

Earl, I've seen this occur on both my HR20's every now and then. Once it starts it usually continues to happen until the box is rebooted. I've waited up to 1 hour before rebooting to get rid of it, is whatever it's doing in the background take longer then that?


I see it on occasion... but nothing to degree you just described.
(Never had to reboot because of it).

It can be all sorts of things it is doing in the background that is causing the delay (which causes the OSD)
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#5 OFFLINE   n3ntj

n3ntj

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5,678 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 19 July 2007 - 01:44 PM

I am just changing channels and not recording. I'll change b/w TNT HD, YES (SD), NESN (SD), and local HD D* channels and get this pop up. No apparent pattern. Didn't start until maybe 3 or 4 days ago. Now it seems to happen maybe with 50% of all channel changes.
HD Snob - "Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Cable".
Electrical/RF Engineer & Inspector
DirecTV Equipment: HR24-200, HR24-100, 5LNB Slimline, AM21, SWiM 8 installed (MRV)
HR-2x Configuration: Native OFF. Units OFF when not in use.
TVs: 2 Panasonic Plasma TV's each using HDMI (one 1080p/one 720p)
DirecTV customer since 1998. Plus HD DVR package w/ NHL Center Ice & MLB Extra Innings.
OTA Antenna: Homebrew UHF & VHF antennas w/ 30dB amplifier fed w/ RG-6 Quad-shield coax.

#6 OFFLINE   stogie5150

stogie5150

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 343 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2006

Posted 19 July 2007 - 09:32 PM

Mine did that right after the CE two cycles ago. Did it for about 2 days then quit. The latest CE didn't do it. Maybe something with rebuilding the guide? :confused:
Equipment:
Azbox Elite HD FTA receiver, 12 foot Paraclipse C/Ku-band dish.
Vantage 1100s HD FTA Receiver, 8.5 foot Birdview C/Ku dish.
Scanning the skies for FREE TV is my game. :-)

#7 OFFLINE   ehamilton

ehamilton

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Jun 08, 2007

Posted 19 July 2007 - 11:33 PM

Mine also did it for a couple days then disappeared.




spam firewall