Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Will H20 work with my 1st Gen HDTV-Ready set? (only two resolutions work for me).


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Quank

Quank

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 05:40 AM

My circa 2000 Sony set is a 4:3 HDTV-Ready TV. It only plays these resolutions:

480i 4x3 or 16x9
480p 4x3 or 16x9
1080i 16x9 only

16x9 obviously has black bars top and bottom.

What are the output resolutions the HR20 uses? Can I somehow tell it NOT to use 720p? I don't want to use 1080i unless the content is provided in 16x9 otherwise I'll get black bars on top, bottom AND the sides and my 53" set will be a 25" set!

My HDRV2 is dying right now and I guess I'll bite the bullet and get the HR20 even though I use MRV about 10 times (no exaggeration) a day... :( But that's only if it'll work with my set.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 06:06 AM

My circa 2000 Sony set is a 4:3 HDTV-Ready TV. It only plays these resolutions:

480i 4x3 or 16x9
480p 4x3 or 16x9
1080i 16x9 only

16x9 obviously has black bars top and bottom.

What are the output resolutions the HR20 uses? Can I somehow tell it NOT to use 720p? I don't want to use 1080i unless the content is provided in 16x9 otherwise I'll get black bars on top, bottom AND the sides and my 53" set will be a 25" set!

My HDRV2 is dying right now and I guess I'll bite the bullet and get the HR20 even though I use MRV about 10 times (no exaggeration) a day... :( But that's only if it'll work with my set.


Yes, you can select your resolutions on the HR20. You can also select the format, pillar bar, crop, etc. You should not have any issues with the HR20 and your TV.

#3 OFFLINE   Aria

Aria

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2005

Posted 20 July 2007 - 06:35 AM

My circa 2000 Sony set is a 4:3 HDTV-Ready TV. It only plays these resolutions:

480i 4x3 or 16x9
480p 4x3 or 16x9
1080i 16x9 only

16x9 obviously has black bars top and bottom.

I have a 2002 Mitsubitshi 4:3 60" HD Ready Set. It plays 480i, 480p, and 1080i resolutions. I choose to watch HD programs in letterbox (black bars top and bottom). But, you can also choose to watch them in crop or stretch.

What are the output resolutions the HR20 uses?

480i, 480p, 720p, and 1080i resolutions.

Can I somehow tell it NOT to use 720p?

Yes. Under Setup, then HDTV, then TV Resolutions, I clicked on which resolutions my TV can receive. I left 720p blank.

I don't want to use 1080i unless the content is provided in 16x9 otherwise I'll get black bars on top, bottom AND the sides and my 53" set will be a 25" set!

The only time this has happened to me is when I'm watching non-HD, standard content on HD channels, and so far I've noticed it only on locals. DirecTV gives you two channels per local station-- one standard, one HD. So, I used to just watch non-HD programs on the standard locals. But, a thread here recently mentioned that the HD locals upconvert non-HD standard programs to quasi HD. So, I now watch non-HD programs on the HD locals in the Crop option. Crop fills up the entire 4:3 screen. And the picture is better on the HD channels, even when watching standard content.

My HDRV2 is dying right now and I guess I'll bite the bullet and get the HR20 even though I use MRV about 10 times (no exaggeration) a day... :( But that's only if it'll work with my set.

There have been problems, some severe, with the HR20, but I don't recall reading about anyone having resolution problems with the HR20.

#4 OFFLINE   JonW

JonW

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 526 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 09:07 AM

I used to own a widescreen Sony projector the 57HW40 and it just would not zoom at all when displaying 1080i. On my HD TiVo I would just flip the resolution from 1080i to 480P as needed, but this is one area the HR20 is even nicer since you can enable native output. The flipping between resolutions part is a little harder since you can't just toggle or switch to a resolution directly, because the screen formats are combined with the resolutions on the same button; but with native output - it's automatic.

In addition the HR20 will drive 480i through the S-Video output at all times, so you could just hook that up and switch to that input on your TV when you want.

#5 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 20 July 2007 - 09:19 AM

My circa 2000 Sony set is a 4:3 HDTV-Ready TV. It only plays these resolutions:

480i 4x3 or 16x9
480p 4x3 or 16x9
1080i 16x9 only

16x9 obviously has black bars top and bottom.

What are the output resolutions the HR20 uses? Can I somehow tell it NOT to use 720p? I don't want to use 1080i unless the content is provided in 16x9 otherwise I'll get black bars on top, bottom AND the sides and my 53" set will be a 25" set!

My HDRV2 is dying right now and I guess I'll bite the bullet and get the HR20 even though I use MRV about 10 times (no exaggeration) a day... :( But that's only if it'll work with my set.


Sure it will work just fine. Most TV's, even today, don't do both 720p and 1080i. They do one or the other and up/down convert as needed depending on the signal you give it.

So for you on the HR20 you'd choose just 480i and 1080i as resolutions (or perhaps just 1080i if you prefer the HR20 to upconvert SD for you).

#6 OFFLINE   jgrade

jgrade

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 487 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 09:26 AM

I have a 2002 Mitsubitshi 4:3 60" HD Ready Set. It plays 480i, 480p, and 1080i resolutions. I choose to watch HD programs in letterbox (black bars top and bottom). But, you can also choose to watch them in crop or stretch.


How do you connect your HR-20 to this TV? I have an ancient 70" Mit the supports 1080i from about 2000. The only input is 5 x BNC. This is like the old high end Mac monitors. An old JVC HD Dish Network box connected via a VGA connector. I have seen active adapters but they are really expensive. It's not that important since I replaced it with a 71" Sammy but it would be nice to take it out of storage and use it again.
A flute without holes, is not a flute. A doughnut without a hole, is a danish.

Samsung HL-S7478W
DirecTV HR20-700
Sony STR-DA3300ES

#7 OFFLINE   Dusty

Dusty

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 714 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 10:43 AM

Yes. I am using one. Only 480i, 480p and 1080i. I set HR20 to 1080i only and connect it with the RGB component cable. The TV set also has a VGA connector but I never bothered to try it.

The SD actually looks better with 480p but it's crap anyway. I decided I didn't want to bother switching it.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...