Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Networking


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SoCool

SoCool

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 304 posts
  • LocationSouth West Florida
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 01:34 PM

I am using a Linksys wireless access point to connect to my wireless network. How can I enter the security code to allow access to the internet. When I run the test to see if I am connected, everything is ok except internet, failed. My second HR-20 is hard wired so the security code (WEP KEY) did not have to be entered. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated.

4-HR24 100's, 2-H25 100's, connected Whole Home,

Sharp Aquos Quattron 3D LC60C8470U
Philips 42" Plasma w/Ambilight 42PF9630A/37, Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF531D/37,
Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF521D/37,
Sony STR-DE935, Bose AM-7, Bose AM-5,Yamaha YST-SW160 sub
2-Sony PS3
Sony BDP-N460 BD-DVD
Sirius Radio's: 3
DIRECTV subscriber since 1996, Premier Pkg


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 01:39 PM

I am using a Linksys wireless access point to connect to my wireless network. How can I enter the security code to allow access to the internet. When I run the test to see if I am connected, everything is ok except internet, failed. My second HR-20 is hard wired so the security code (WEP KEY) did not have to be entered. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated.


I don't think an access point will work. You need to use a gaming adapter. Linksys makes one that many people here have had success with. They are a little pricey, but I don't lnow of any other way (without hacking a wireless router with DD-WRT).

#3 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 20 July 2007 - 01:44 PM

You would have to connect a laptop or computer to your Wireless Access point, to configure the security settings.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#4 OFFLINE   SoCool

SoCool

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 304 posts
  • LocationSouth West Florida
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 02:32 PM

You would have to connect a laptop or computer to your Wireless Access point, to configure the security settings.


Thanks, I kinda forgot. When you dont do it every day. I configured the WEP key, I am connected to my network, but no internet.

I tried a USB adaptor, but no go. I had this access point/router laying around in the garage

4-HR24 100's, 2-H25 100's, connected Whole Home,

Sharp Aquos Quattron 3D LC60C8470U
Philips 42" Plasma w/Ambilight 42PF9630A/37, Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF531D/37,
Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF521D/37,
Sony STR-DE935, Bose AM-7, Bose AM-5,Yamaha YST-SW160 sub
2-Sony PS3
Sony BDP-N460 BD-DVD
Sirius Radio's: 3
DIRECTV subscriber since 1996, Premier Pkg


#5 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 20 July 2007 - 02:32 PM

Thanks, I kinda forgot. When you dont do it every day. I configured the WEP key, I am connected to my network, but no internet.


Can you get to the internet, when you have a laptop or something connected to the access point
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#6 OFFLINE   SoCool

SoCool

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 304 posts
  • LocationSouth West Florida
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 02:35 PM

Can you get to the internet, when you have a laptop or something connected to the access point


When I configured the router, I didn't try. I will try now.

4-HR24 100's, 2-H25 100's, connected Whole Home,

Sharp Aquos Quattron 3D LC60C8470U
Philips 42" Plasma w/Ambilight 42PF9630A/37, Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF531D/37,
Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF521D/37,
Sony STR-DE935, Bose AM-7, Bose AM-5,Yamaha YST-SW160 sub
2-Sony PS3
Sony BDP-N460 BD-DVD
Sirius Radio's: 3
DIRECTV subscriber since 1996, Premier Pkg


#7 OFFLINE   SoCool

SoCool

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 304 posts
  • LocationSouth West Florida
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 03:45 PM

What I am trying to do can not be done! Can anyone recommend a wireless adaptor that can be used in this situation? It has to use an ethernet cable, I think?

4-HR24 100's, 2-H25 100's, connected Whole Home,

Sharp Aquos Quattron 3D LC60C8470U
Philips 42" Plasma w/Ambilight 42PF9630A/37, Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF531D/37,
Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF521D/37,
Sony STR-DE935, Bose AM-7, Bose AM-5,Yamaha YST-SW160 sub
2-Sony PS3
Sony BDP-N460 BD-DVD
Sirius Radio's: 3
DIRECTV subscriber since 1996, Premier Pkg


#8 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 20 July 2007 - 03:51 PM

What I am trying to do can not be done! Can anyone recommend a wireless adaptor that can be used in this situation? It has to use an ethernet cable, I think?


What product where you using. before?
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#9 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,860 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 03:56 PM

Since you're asking, I'm super-satisfied with my slinglink turbo. It's actually ethernet over power lines, so I'm not worried about signal strength. It also gives me a 4-port network switch at the HR20.

I had tried a Linksys WGA54g and I had "version 1" of it which ended up not working at all. I know some people have had success with the WGA and I'd bet they had the "version 2" one. It's not possible to tell from the box, you have to look at the sticker on the bottom.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#10 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 04:03 PM

What I am trying to do can not be done! Can anyone recommend a wireless adaptor that can be used in this situation? It has to use an ethernet cable, I think?


Didn't I in post #2?

#11 OFFLINE   SoCool

SoCool

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 304 posts
  • LocationSouth West Florida
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 04:05 PM

I don't think an access point will work. You need to use a gaming adapter. Linksys makes one that many people here have had success with. They are a little pricey, but I don't lnow of any other way (without hacking a wireless router with DD-WRT).


I realize you have recommended the gaming adaptor. They are so expensive. I called D* and they recommended a Gemini sv6900. They said it was available at Walmart. I can't find one, online or in the store. Will D* be providing these adaptors when VOD finally kicks in?

By the way hilmar2K, I used to live in Poughquag.

4-HR24 100's, 2-H25 100's, connected Whole Home,

Sharp Aquos Quattron 3D LC60C8470U
Philips 42" Plasma w/Ambilight 42PF9630A/37, Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF531D/37,
Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF521D/37,
Sony STR-DE935, Bose AM-7, Bose AM-5,Yamaha YST-SW160 sub
2-Sony PS3
Sony BDP-N460 BD-DVD
Sirius Radio's: 3
DIRECTV subscriber since 1996, Premier Pkg


#12 OFFLINE   SoCool

SoCool

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 304 posts
  • LocationSouth West Florida
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 04:08 PM

What product where you using. before?


This unit has never been connected.

4-HR24 100's, 2-H25 100's, connected Whole Home,

Sharp Aquos Quattron 3D LC60C8470U
Philips 42" Plasma w/Ambilight 42PF9630A/37, Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF531D/37,
Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF521D/37,
Sony STR-DE935, Bose AM-7, Bose AM-5,Yamaha YST-SW160 sub
2-Sony PS3
Sony BDP-N460 BD-DVD
Sirius Radio's: 3
DIRECTV subscriber since 1996, Premier Pkg


#13 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 04:09 PM

Since you're asking, I'm super-satisfied with my slinglink turbo. It's actually ethernet over power lines, so I'm not worried about signal strength. It also gives me a 4-port network switch at the HR20.


How far apart are your Slinglinks? I tried the Netgear version, and they were horrible. I just wonder if the Slinglinks will be better. Seems like the same technology, so I don't know if one would work better than the other. I am trying to go from the second floor of my house to the basement. I wouldn't think distance would make a huge difference, but something was amiss with the Netgears. In fact, if I turned on flourescent lights that were on the same circuit as the receiving end, I lost connection completely.

#14 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 04:14 PM

I realize you have recommended the gaming adaptor. They are so expensive. I called D* and they recommended a Gemini sv6900. They said it was available at Walmart. I can't find one, online or in the store. Will D* be providing these adaptors when VOD finally kicks in?

By the way hilmar2K, I used to live in Poughquag.


You can do the other suggestion I offered and hack a router. Check out this thread for details. Looks like a sub $40 option.

How long ago did you live in Poughquag?

#15 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,860 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 04:17 PM

How far apart are your Slinglinks? I tried the Netgear version, and they were horrible. I just wonder if the Slinglinks will be better. Seems like the same technology, so I don't know if one would work better than the other. I am trying to go from the second floor of my house to the basement. I wouldn't think distance would make a huge difference, but something was amiss with the Netgears. In fact, if I turned on flourescent lights that were on the same circuit as the receiving end, I lost connection completely.


My house is 40 years old and the two slinglinks are on diametrically opposite sides of the house, with fluorescent lights everywhere (including CFL's over the TV). They are on two separate circuits (in the same breaker box). No complaint, I get close to the rated 85Mbps whenever I test.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#16 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 04:17 PM

My house is 40 years old and the two slinglinks are on diametrically opposite sides of the house, with fluorescent lights everywhere (including CFL's over the TV). They are on two separate circuits (in the same breaker box). No complaint, I get close to the rated 85Mbps whenever I test.


I shall give them a go. Thanks.

#17 OFFLINE   SoCool

SoCool

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 304 posts
  • LocationSouth West Florida
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 04:22 PM

How long ago did you live in Poughquag?[/QUOTE]

About 10 yrs ago, old route 55.

4-HR24 100's, 2-H25 100's, connected Whole Home,

Sharp Aquos Quattron 3D LC60C8470U
Philips 42" Plasma w/Ambilight 42PF9630A/37, Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF531D/37,
Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF521D/37,
Sony STR-DE935, Bose AM-7, Bose AM-5,Yamaha YST-SW160 sub
2-Sony PS3
Sony BDP-N460 BD-DVD
Sirius Radio's: 3
DIRECTV subscriber since 1996, Premier Pkg


#18 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,964 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 04:31 PM

I realize you have recommended the gaming adaptor. They are so expensive. I called D* and they recommended a Gemini sv6900. They said it was available at Walmart. I can't find one, online or in the store. Will D* be providing these adaptors when VOD finally kicks in?


For some reason, gaming adapters and wireless ethernet bridges (both of which work in this application) are more expensive than access points and routers. I suspect that the demand (and competition) is less.

#19 OFFLINE   SoCool

SoCool

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 304 posts
  • LocationSouth West Florida
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 04:36 PM

You can do the other suggestion I offered and hack a router. Check out this thread for details. Looks like a sub $40 option.

How long ago did you live in Poughquag?


Is the DD/WRT a flash update file provided by Buffalo? This sounds like a good fix.

4-HR24 100's, 2-H25 100's, connected Whole Home,

Sharp Aquos Quattron 3D LC60C8470U
Philips 42" Plasma w/Ambilight 42PF9630A/37, Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF531D/37,
Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF521D/37,
Sony STR-DE935, Bose AM-7, Bose AM-5,Yamaha YST-SW160 sub
2-Sony PS3
Sony BDP-N460 BD-DVD
Sirius Radio's: 3
DIRECTV subscriber since 1996, Premier Pkg


#20 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 05:23 PM

Is the DD/WRT a flash update file provided by Buffalo? This sounds like a good fix.


Not provided by Buffalo. You can get it here.




spam firewall