Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20-700 will not turn on


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ksninew

ksninew

    KS9W

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 07:32 PM

My 3 week old HR20 will not turn on with the remote or the power botton
on the front panel. It is warm and I can hear it running so I know that it
has power.

Any idea's ?

Thanks, Bob

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 07:34 PM

My 3 week old HR20 will not turn on with the remote or the power botton
on the front panel. It is warm and I can hear it running so I know that it
has power.

Any idea's ?

Thanks, Bob


Do a RBR (red button reset). If that does not work pull the power cord for about 15 minutes.

#3 OFFLINE   HouseBowlrz

HouseBowlrz

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 294 posts
  • LocationCentreville, VA
Joined: Jul 15, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 07:36 PM

My 3 week old HR20 will not turn on with the remote or the power botton
on the front panel. It is warm and I can hear it running so I know that it
has power.

Any idea's ?

Thanks, Bob


Last night, I came home and turned on the widescreen and got "No Signal" from my HR20-700, with no response from the remote.

This has happened enough to me to where I know that power cycling using the red button ... (is that what is called RBR? :)) ... got things going again. And, no, I had not restored my network connection (which is when it was happening more frequently)

After the boot sequence completed, I saw there was no changed in the release so I'm not sure why this happened. Thankfully, there was nothing pending to record.


cheers
Centreville, VA, 20120

DirecTV Subscriber: since January 2000
NFL Sunday Ticket: since 2000 NFL Season
Hughes Series 2 DirecTiVo (modified): October 2003, connected to RCA 27" Standard
DirecTV HR-20 HD-DVR: October 2006, connected to LG 42" Widescreen HD LCD

#4 OFFLINE   ksninew

ksninew

    KS9W

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 07:47 PM

Ok, I'll try the RBR.

I wasn't sure about doing RBR after reading the " Avoid Red Reset Button " thread

#5 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 07:49 PM

Ok, I'll try the RBR.

I wasn't sure about doing RBR after reading the " Avoid Red Reset Button " thread


DIRECTV would like you to do a reset by menu if you are able to. If not then RBR and if that does not work pull the power cord.

#6 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 20 July 2007 - 07:58 PM

Last night, I came home and turned on the widescreen and got "No Signal" from my HR20-700, with no response from the remote.

This has happened enough to me to where I know that power cycling using the red button ... (is that what is called RBR? :)) ... got things going again. And, no, I had not restored my network connection (which is when it was happening more frequently)

After the boot sequence completed, I saw there was no changed in the release so I'm not sure why this happened. Thankfully, there was nothing pending to record.


cheers


The exact same thing happened to me, at the exact same time. I came home and my TV said "No Signal" with no repsonse from the remote....

I wonder if all of this is related.

#7 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,661 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 08:15 PM

My 3 week old HR20 will not turn on with the remote or the power botton
on the front panel. It is warm and I can hear it running so I know that it
has power.

Any idea's ?

Thanks, Bob

I didn't see anyone else ask, Bob, but did you try the basic troubleshooting like checking your video connection, whether it's HDMI or component? Did any of the other front-panel buttons work, ike changing resolution?

By this time you probably rebooted already, so I hope it worked ...

#8 OFFLINE   ksninew

ksninew

    KS9W

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 08:15 PM

RBR didn't work but pulling the power cord for 15 minutes did work, Thanks.

#9 OFFLINE   ksninew

ksninew

    KS9W

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 08:19 PM

I didn't see anyone else ask, Bob, but did you try the basic troubleshooting like checking your video connection, whether it's HDMI or component? Did any of the other front-panel buttons work, ike changing resolution?

By this time you probably rebooted already, so I hope it worked ...


Yep, I did check connections and no lights or buttons on front panel were
working.

#10 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,661 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 08:57 PM

Well, glad you're back up again, at least.

#11 OFFLINE   pprather

pprather

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 140 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2006

Posted 20 July 2007 - 09:51 PM

RBR didn't work but pulling the power cord for 15 minutes did work, Thanks.


I don't know if your using HDMI or not, but unplugging your HDMI cable then pressing the info, or any button really on your remote may bring it back as well. It's worked for me before. I stopped putting my box into stand by mode just to avoid this situation.

#12 OFFLINE   dsstalkcom

dsstalkcom

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Oct 14, 2006

Posted 21 July 2007 - 12:29 PM

i thought my HR20 was dead. was going to call DTV for a replacement.

turn off the power strip and back on, still nada. kept on pressing the power button on the HR20, then it came back on. wth

this **** cant be happening when i got **** to record.




spam firewall