Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Problem with fuzzy lines using Component Cable.


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   allenwoodruff

allenwoodruff

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 03, 2004

Posted 23 July 2007 - 01:12 PM

Here is my situation, I would appreciate any suggestions. I have a Samsung 42” plasma mounted on my living room wall. It is hooked up to the 622 in my bedroom using a 50 ft component cable from monoprice. I also have a HDMI to DVI cable from Monoprice run to the TV but I an not using it since I have never been able to get a picture from the 622 using it.

My problem is that I am getting a bunch of fuzzy lines. It was so bad that the guy calibrating my TV could not get a reading on his computer using my cables. He said that I likely was getting interference from an electrical line. I do have an electrical line, for the TV power, run up the wall along side my audio and video cables. Should I try to separate the electrical cable from the video and audio cables? I have called Dish and they tell me that the reason that the HDMI is not working is because of a software issue and will be corrected soon.

I have read on this forum where some people have had success getting DISH to send a replacement 622. Should I push them for a replacement hoping that the HDMI will work and fix my fuzzy lines or will I still have the same problem with HDMI or is it possible that I just have a bad component cable? It was a really tough fish job to run the cable and I don’t want to rerun a new cable unless absolutely necessary.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,441 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 23 July 2007 - 01:28 PM

Your problem is probably the long component cable. Relocate the 622 to near the TV and if the problem goes away, we know it is the long cable.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#3 OFFLINE   epontius

epontius

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2007

Posted 23 July 2007 - 02:04 PM

Your problem is probably the long component cable. Relocate the 622 to near the TV and if the problem goes away, we know it is the long cable.


I would think that relocating the 622 and tv closer together wouldn't necessarily eliminate the long run since the length is staying the same (though it may eliminate interference along the run)....right?

Erik

#4 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,441 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 23 July 2007 - 02:06 PM

DUH, move it closer and use shorter cables, preferably <10'.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!




spam firewall